We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay ; but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I stayed in this hotel in a junior suite with my family (my wife and 3 kids) for 4 nights. The hotel is very clean and very close to the main shopping street and west interlaken station. The staff were very friendly and helpful and tried to answer any question regrading the attractions in interlaken. There were some points regarding the hotel and i talked to the manager about them and these include the very small TV in my suite, lacking of coffee/tea maker in the room and no free internet compared to other hotels i stayed in before. Other point is the overprice given to me for the suite compared to the facilities provided by the hotel !!!!. In general we were happy during our stay in this hotel and i hope that the comments that i gave to the manger will be taken in consideration in the future. Finally, i recommend this hotel for stay if the price is resonable.
Best regrads.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Endospreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella3800, Manager at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2011

Dear Endospread

Thank you very much for your stay at the Stella.

We thank you also for your remarks you gave us in the talks we had together. This helped us a lot and I can assure you that because of your intervention we do have coffee and tea making facilities in all Junior Suites and the TV will be replace within the next months. So this improvements happened because of you - Thank you for that!

With the exchange rates we have at the moment, I also can understand that you feel Switzerland pricy. Euro, Dollar and Pound has never ever been so poor to the Swiss Franc and this makes Switzerland even more expensive.
We hope that the clean Swiss streets, trains on time, lovely view from your big balcony, good service quality, a central and calm hotel position and a spaceous room with good beds compensated a bit for the price.

You are heartly welcome at the Stella and I hope, to see you again one day.

Kind regards
Bastian Hofmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
There are newer reviews for Stella Hotel Interlaken
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights on a trip through Switzerland. The hotel is nice and clean and the staff could not have been more friendly. The breakfast was pretty good and you can enjoy it in the sizable dining room or on the lovely patio out front. There is an indoor pool which we did not use. Our room was on the 2nd floor and our large balcony had a view of the Jungfrau. The room was a nice size and the bathroom was fairly large for Europe. The hotel is a 6 minute walk from the West train station and much further from the Ost main station. Interlaken is a lovely little town and a perfect base for trips up into the Alps. There is a wonderful restaurant just around the corner called the Wine Club (I think). Excellent dinner there.

Room Tip: Get a room in the front with a balcony facing the Jungfrau.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella3800, Manager at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2011

Dear MC Tozzo

Thank you for your stay at the Stella.

It was a pleasure to have you here and we are happy that you had a good time in Interlaken.

Interlaken is indeed a good base for all kind of trips: paragliding, easy and difficult hikes all sorts of transportation to mountain tops, relaxing boat trips, caves and waterfalls, horse carrage rides and a lot more!

Thank you also for your nice review here on tripadvisor.

Hope to see you again in this "lovely little town" ;-)

Kind regards
Bastian Hofmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I travelled with my family including 2 x 11 year olds. The beds for all were excellent and the room was spacious although expensive (nearly 500US per night). The view was great although the clouds got in the way of jungfrau.
The staff is very helpful and accomodating. The balcony was big and very nice. The bathrooms were excellent. During the trip we stayed in 5 hotels across Mariott in London, Novotel in Paris and geneva and london and stay with stella in interlaken was the best in terms of room and comfort and staff niceness.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dipeshbiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella3800, Manager at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2011

Dear dipeshbiswas

Thank you very much for this nice review and the good comments! As a small family run hotel it makes us proud to be compared with Mariott and Novotel.

Thank you also for staying with us in the lovely Jungfrau Region - it was a pleasure to have you here at the Stella.

We hope to see you again by another occasion and in the meantime we wish you all the best.

Kind regards
Bastian Hofmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

A big thank you to the staff at the Stella for making our 2 week stay a truly memorable experience. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave all the staff look after you like you are one of the family. No request is too much hassle for them and from the desk to the dinning room to the maids everyone greets you with a smile and top notch service.

The hotel is well located for both train stations and the also the centre of Interlaken with its shops and restaurants. However for the best food in Interlaken you need look no further than the Stella dining room. It is easy to see how the Chef’s have won so many awards when you eat there (see attached photo’s from just one of many amazing meals we were served each night). Do not miss out on a real dining experience. Breakfast is also excellent with a large a varied selection, including bacon and egg.

Special mention must go to Bastion and his parents for running such a wonderful hotel. Daniel at the desk for all her helpful trip information and also our two waiters, Isabel & Fabio, who’s sense of humour and conversation each night made the meals a real delight.

We hope to come back next year too experience it all again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella3800, Manager at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2011

Dear Snow-Family

It was a pleasure to have you here at the Stella and we enjoyed to chats and talks together!

We do totaly agree that we have an excellent staff and it is easy und fun to work with these young and willing people.

Thank you for your stay, the conversation and thank you very much for your review here on tripadvisor!

Also we hope to welcome you again next year at the Stella! In the meantime we wish you all the best!

Kind regards
Bastian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Only 5 minutes from the railway station, the Stella offered clean and quiet rooms easily accessible to all the wonders of Interlocken and the Jungfrau area. Breakfast was pleasant and very similar to all hotels in Switzerland. The staff are very friendly and things are kept clean and neat. Rooms are sufficiently large by European standards and the balcony from outr room gave a nice mountain view above the quaint homes. In short, a very good place to stay in Interlocken; nothing unique or special compared to most other offerings in the area but a safe and pleasant place to stay.

On the negative side, the rooms can get warm at night and fans are only available at 5 Swiss Francs per day. Seems like fans should be offered for free to make guests comfortable if needed. Also, the computer useage is 3 francs per two hours and once you log on, the time runs non-stop even if you only use it for 5 minutes. Thus your two, four or six hour sign on time purchase runs out once you log on. No saving the rest for later. This is a bad system compared with other hotels which offer free internet service or a "use what you need at each log in session and save the rest of your time for another log on" policy.

In summary, Stella is a very nice place to stay in Interlocken but avoid like the plague using EXPEDIA to book it. You will likely overpay for the room with Expedia and also get lousy service from Expedia if you have problems. I would never use them again after the hours of frustration they caused me. Contact the Stella direct by email to make reservations...you will be much happier if you do! For that matter, I would skip Expedia for any reservations for anything.

Room Tip: Be sure to walk the trails at the Niederhorn area. It is beautiful there and worth the cost of the l...
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella3800, Manager at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2011

Dear traveler564

It is true that in Interlaken as "basecamp" you have so may possibilities to explore the mountains in all direction, to go on boat trips on the lake Thun and on lake Brienz, visiting the capitol Bern, enjoy a lovely train ride to Lucerne, or .......

Thank you also for your nice comments about our service, the cleanness and your satisfaction.

We agree totaly that the best way to book a hotel is over the hotel's website or by email / telephone. In this way there is no company in between and in case of a change, there are only two parties that have to agree to a solution.
By saving the commission to a online travel agent, the hotel can also provide better offers to guests as we do at the moment here on tripadvisor - for the voucher and a direct reservation you will get a bottle of wine free. So this is a win - win situation for the guest and the hotel.

So thank you for the nice chats we had togehter, thank you for the review you posted here on tripadvisor and especially: Thank you very much for booking Stella Hotel no mather how.

We hope to see you again!

Kind regards
Bastian Hofmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed 4 nights near end of June 2011. We booked standard twin room.

Room - clean & comfortable. Not luxurious by asian standard. But not a problem for us. A bit warm. Open the window, then it would be fine.

Staff - very helpful & friendly.

Restaurant - good food at good value.

Location - about 8 min walk from Interlaken West station. Convenient. Only one stop away from Interlaken Ost.

In short, we enjoyed our stay very much. Highly satisfactory. Will recommend others to stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yfgerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella3800, Manager at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2011

Dear Yfgerald

We thank you very much for your stay at the Stella. It was a pleasure to have you here at the Stella!

Also thank you for your review here on tripadvisor.

As we are the smallest 4-Star-Hotel in the region and family run, it is our priority to look good to our guests. This is the main advantage of our size. Therefore it is nice for us to see that this effort is appreciated.

Have a good time. We hope to see you another time.
Kind regards
Bastian Hofmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

This was our first visit to Switzerland and used Trip Advisor to find this hotel. The hotel provides everything and then some more. The staff are all very professional and yet still make time to ensure your needs are fully provided for. Under the guideance of Bastion Hofmann the hotel deliver's on all fronts, be it what the weather may do on the day or where is the best place to visit.

The hotel is small enough to be personnal yet it retains a very high standard of service.

We will definately return in future years.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinandJill_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella3800, Manager at Stella Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2011

Dear ColinandJill_11

It was a pleasure to have you here at the Stella - Thank you very much for staying with us! Thank you also for the nice review you posted here on Tripadvisor.

The Stella is the smallest 4-star-hotel in the Jungfrau Region and therefore we have to work personnaly, to be different from the biger hotels. And we are happy to see, that our guests notice that!

So once again: Thank you for everything and we look forward to welcome you at the Stella again!

Kind regards
Bastian Hofmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
682 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
605 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
#6 of 40 in Interlaken
515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 40 in Interlaken
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#7 of 40 in Interlaken
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Hotel Interlaken

Address: General Guisanstrasse 2, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range: £106 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stella Hotel Interlaken 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Stella Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing