We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Ho-Hum Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2013

There was nothing either over or under - whelming for this hotel. The first thing we noticed when we first walked in, the hotel felt very much like an old persons home!

The hotel decoration, including the room, reminded me of an old persons home. There was nothing spectacular. A good breakfast was included, and I have to say the view was quite nice, albeit slightly obscured by some building works going on. We had a balcony which was nice to sit out on the cold winters night. The bathroom was sufficient, although I personally loathe shower-over-baths. I'm by no means tall, but the height of the shower was pretty insufficient.

There were some lovely restaurants around and was a good base for going through the mountains.

Overall, a very ho-hum experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ezekielette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

First things first...great snow peak view from the hotel room. That is the greatest USP of the hotel. The staff is very nice n friendly. However the hotel is a bit far from the main street but the view makes up for it. The other problem is that the hotel doesnt have air conditioner n it kind of gets stuffy in the room. All in all, the hotel is ok with a great view!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esha912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

we stayed in hotel stella for 2 nights
location is great, close to city centre and interlaken west station. taxi from interlaken ost costs about 18 cf.
migros store at a walking distance for topping up water and fruits.
check in and out was smooth with very friendly staff who could guide us with all the information. they took time to go through the various headings nicely outlined on the letter head. this included a pass for use in interlaken for travel and concession at other places.

we were given a room with bunk beds for 2 kids but very little extra space to open their bag.
it was very warm and we missed the aircon. we were told that none of the hotels in interlaken have it?? we had one pedestal fan and i dont think an additional one would have helped anyway.
there was no provision for coffee in the room. not even a kettle for you to help yourself. we were advised to get it from the restaurant which wouldnt open when you need your coffee first thing in the morning. i couldnt find coffee premix in 4-5 shops that i looked in the city centre.
breakfast spread was good for possibly european clients. if you have guests from asia-pacific, the management needs to look into it.
there was a deposit of 50 cf for the safe which is not a problem. this charge was for lost keys but the safe was good enough to take only a small folder of documents.
our son was excited with the colour changing shower head. there was a greeting on the loo roll and a chocolate with change of linen which was a welcome surprise.

our expectations were possibly higher having travelled to dubai, paris and lucerne before we reached interlaken. if i have to compare with hotels that we stayed in, this certainly wasnt a 4 star property as listed.

would certainly look for other option next time we travel to interlaken.

Room Tip: do look for options and compare before confirming your booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ketan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The location of the hotel is good, close to interlaken west station in a quieter area.
The breakfast spread was decent.
The room was very stuffy due to lack of airconditioning. The staff was kind enough to provide us an extra fan though.
The room was spacious as per swiss standards, the bathroom was very tiny though.

However,
-You need to pay a deposit of 50 francs if you want keys for the tiny safe deposit box in your room. Really?
-Our booking ( done via booking.com) stated that we will get a room with balcony. However, we were offered a room on top floor ( attic room) without any balcony. The staff member who checked us in could not provide any satisfactory explanation. The staff member in the evening explained to us that since we needed a baby cot, they could not accomodate it in the room which we had booked. The attic rooms were very hot, and should be avoided if there is no such compulsion.
-Internet was really slow.
-You need to cook your own hot breakfast! A small stove has been provided in the breakfast area.
-Overall the property doesn't seem to be a 4 star property as advertised. Deserves no more than 3 stars.

Room Tip: Avoid attic rooms ( on topmost floor), if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jyotisahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Excellent hotel 10 minutes walk from the station out of the tourist hussel of Interlaken but close to all amenities. Very helpful reception who will set you up for any sightseeing excursion you want to do. Room very well appointed and comfortable, restaurant a bit pricey but there's a Migros on the way from the West station if your budget is tight. Only one English TV channel but who wants TV unless its raining. The hotel will provide you with a free travel pass for all local transport. It has a good indoor swimming pool.

Room Tip: We had a front room as this is a quiet part of the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arowba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

Where oh where to start? My wife and I arrived from a great stay in Lucerne to be very warmly welcomed by the staff. They showed us where to park, how the entry system worked all the way through to passes which give you free rides on the local busses and discounts at some places. The room was beautiful with a stunning view of the mountains. There were even chocolates on the pillows which were replenished each day! Can't go wrong with chocolate ;) there were even little welcome notes and "enjoy your day" notes on the loo paper each day from the cleaning staff! The indoor pool was heated and there were little baskets with pool towel and robe and there was a channel guide for the TV in English. The breakfast buffet was excellent and if you want to save a few $$$ I suggest eating big and getting fruit for lunch from the supermarket down the road. One cool thing was the shower head lit up and changed colours when used. We didn't have the right connector for the power outlet but were able to borrow one. The beds were very comfortable. As with everything in Switzerland it is a bit high on the price side, but the location is great with a 5minute walk to the Main Street. What a great place.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Great room with balcony and mountain views. Perfect for relaxing in the evening. The hotel is next to a T-junction so you will see some traffic [residents going to work, mothers taking children to school etc] We liked it.
Wonderful staff and a surprisingly good restaurant where the young chef is trying to introduce new and more exciting menus than the quite frankly abysmal offerings in the centre of town.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
714 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 39 in Interlaken
622 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#7 of 39 in Interlaken
387 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
#10 of 39 in Interlaken
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Hotel Interlaken

Address: General Guisanstrasse 2, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range: £94 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stella Hotel Interlaken 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stella Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing