We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be mindful of bugs and noisy floorings”
Review of Happy Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Happy Inn Lodge
Ranked #17 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed for 4 nights a week ago on Sept 2011 with my wife. Got 2 bugs bites on my fingers, itch like hell...3 out of 8 ppl in a dorm are baten by bed bugs.

The room floor is like very fragile, producing noise everytime we walked on it, disturbing roommates (in & outside the room). That's why u have to pray to God to have good & considerate room-mates... but sorry we dont have!!

One good thing though, whenver we pass by the kitchen, the smell is always heavenly. Did not try out the food. Location is good becasue Interlaken is small.. free to use the kitchen which is equipped with microwave, kettle and regf - that's good.

Room Tip: Noisy flooring is an important factor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelSingapore2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

I stayed here one night on a saturday in September and a brass band was playing right outside my window for about an hour (they left by 10:30 pm though, so not a big deal). There are two main problems with this place. First, Interlaken can be a bit humid and warm and the top floors of this hotel (while not stifling hot) can thus be a bit uncomfortable in the evening, and no fan is provided. Opening the windows helps, but if you're facing the street it can be noisey. If they just provided a simple fan, it would address this issue. Second, and a bit more troubling, is that whenever anyone walks around or closes a door the ENTIRE floor shakes. It feels as though the building could collapse at any moment.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacksonlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

This is an amazing hostel. We stayed in two spacious clean rooms. The showers and toilets are new and function perfectly. The best thing about this place is the bar. We had the best spareribs ever and tried more than four different beers. The crew is making fun out of everything. Pete is the funniest barkeeper in Switzerland. We really liked this place and will come back! Pete & Patricia

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbrandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

After staying within many hostels in this trip, we enjoyed happy inn lodge the most!!
The staff were all extremely friendly and welcoming, the rooms were clean and comfy, ours had a lovely view of the mountains, we had live music on the Thursday and overall had a great atmosphere. The food was amazing too, seemed to be the place to go in Interlaken.

Location, not too far at all from the station, shops, bars etc

Definitely recommend to all you young travelers. Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetravel1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. It's located above a bar/restaurant but it's not loud. The food (particularly cheese fondue) is delicious there and decently priced.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Personal_Legend1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

First off, Interlaken is an extremely expensive place to stay even for Swiss standards. This is due to the number of foreign tourists and 80% of the people you will see in the streets are Chinese, Korean, Indian tourists. The fact that this backpacker's lodge even has the sign written in Chinese just says it all really.

Secondly, Interlaken is full of backpacker's lodges above bar/restaurants and this seems to be a trend. The Happy Inn is just one of them. But this was not obvious in the website nor the booking portal. I can't imagine what the old people would think when they arrived.

Location: The hotel is off the main street so it is in a reasonably quiet location, and only 5-10 mins walking distance from the train station. But beware it is near to Interlaken West station. If you are getting out at Interlaken Ost station (which is where the main line drops you off) then you need to catch a bus.

Rooms: Generally very clean but our room was badly in need of painting as ceiling had peeling paint. We had a bunk bed and a single bed - both were basic comfort. The rooms do have creaky floorboards due to the old structure. I would advise using earplugs. I managed to peek into other rooms the next day and they looked much larger and better than our's... But at least we had a large washbasin which is more than what you would get in Paris or Prague...

Noise: I have to be honest - I did not expect the rooms to be directly above the bar/restaurant. But we were lucky and our room was in a corner with the window facing the back alley.

Cleanliness: The shared toilets and shower rooms were very clean. Having said that, it depends how the guests treat the shared facilities. I went into the room with the wash basin after using the (very clean) toilet and the entire surface was covered in water. Not
surprising when the last person to use it was Chinese...

Shower rooms/toilets: Very clean as mentioned. Only complaint was that lights are time-operated. The shower room lights switch off far too soon and I was left taking my shower in complete darkness. Worse, light switches are OUTSIDE the shower rooms!!!

Food: Did not try so can not comment.

Service: The staff were very friendly and extremely informal. Not surprising since they are bar staff. In fact, I walked right past them looking for the reception when, in fact, they **are** the reception!! Since the accommodation facilities are very small and rooms are already booked, I very much doubt they would be able to accommodate requests for room changes.

Parking: This was only a factor because my partner came with a car. If you do intend to bring one, make sure you arrive before evening time to get one of the 5 spaces. Else you will lose out to the customers and will have to park in the opposite car park when you have to pay.

Check-in/out: Check-in is at 3pm which is ok. However, check-out is at 10am which is not ok for me.


Generally, it was ok and for the price you can't complain (60sfr for 2 people in a private room). But as I always say in the case of London, I still find it expensive and the "it's much cheaper than other places" is not an excuse. I don't see myself paying an overnight visit to Interlaken any time soon. Particularly when I think of the beer-swilling immigrant teenagers in the streets at night.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fargone2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

This is not a hotel. Its a lodge for young backpackers and young couples without children. We stayed on the top floor of this hotel. The rooms very very clean and basic with a sink in it. The only drawback was no attached shower or WC with the rooms. You have to go downstairs to take a shower which was cumbersome. The showers are common for both the genders and you may have to wait for you turn during prime hours in the morning.

I have stayed at this lodge twice and have not regretted my decision. This is the only place with a bar open till late in Interlaken. Interlaken goes to sleep after 8pm and this is the place you might want to go for a drink or late dinner. There's a pool table too and the place is filled with people at night.

You will not go wrong if you pick this lodge if you are backpacking or a young couple who doesnt mind sharing the shower and WC with other residents. The showers had hot high pressure water to relax you and the WCs were very clean.

The breakfast was served in the garden below and had many food choices. Ask for chocolate milk at the bar in the morning.

Room Tip: If you are a couple stay on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChintanSheth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#16 of 39 in Interlaken
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Balmer's Hostel
Balmer's Hostel
#1 of 3 in Matten bei Interlaken
355 reviews
0.7 mi away
Interlaken Youth Hostel
Interlaken Youth Hostel
#2 of 28 in Interlaken
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
#1 of 28 in Interlaken
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Inn Lodge

Address: Rosenstrasse 17, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range: £37 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the most beautiful region in Switzerland the Happy Inn Lodge offers a cozy hostel accommodation with a relaxed and casual atmosphere in the center of Interlaken. Located just 5 minutes walking distance from Interlaken West-Station, the lodge is the best starting-point for excursions, adventure and sports in summer and winter. Our bar and restaurant, the 'Brasserie 17' is Interlaken’s no 1 spot for food and fun! From September - June we organize every Thursday night a live music concert from 9 to 12 pm. - Party time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Happy Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Hotel Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing