We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Property amidst Interlaken” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Delhi
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Property amidst Interlaken”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

The hotel is just 300 mtr walk from Interlaken Ost station. Surprisingly, it's an excellent hotel with a twin building. The interior is historic & attractive. The check-in took just 15 mins & Reception staff was very courteous. The hotel has a free wifi which works fine. Our room was in building 2 on 4th floor. The room interior is chic & spacious enough. There is a separate wardrobe area, bathroom is excellent. I didn't find such a room during my 15 days trip to Swiss & France. You have a private coffee dispenser & every other amenity you can expect in a 5* hotel. The breakfast was lavish & served variety of options. The hotels is right at the end of the main street which makes it accessible as well as peaceful. The only thing why i rate this 4/5 is that it was hard for us to sleep due to summer. It was really very hot & we had a standing fan in the room which was not enough. Though summers might be short but there was extreme requirement of an Air Conditioner as there were lots of mosquitoes if we opened the balcony doors.

Room Tip: Opt a room facing the river side. Even the standard rooms are very good & spacious enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pankaj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h8983-GM, General Manager at Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased to read that your've enjoyed your stay in our Hotel. Our hotel is an classified Swiss Historic Hotel which does'nt allow us to install A/C in our establishment. In our Interlaken destination, we are lucky to get rarely very hight temperature (above 30°) in Sommer which make guest stay in normal time very comfortable. We hope to see you soon again!
P.Bonnaure
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    225
    74
    41
    21
See reviews for
169
316
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel reception was great on check in, the place had character and the contemporary room definitely provided the wow factor. First impressions were of a fabulous hotel, well worth the price. However, if you are a light sleeper, be warned. The church over the road chimes throughout the night and in a stuffy room on a hot night without air conditioning, your only choice is to try and sleep with the window open. To add to the lack of sleep our room had not been serviced by 4:15pm when we returned from our day out, which didn't help!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Da_Squig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h8983-GM, General Manager at Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased to read that your've enjoyed your stay in our Hotel. Our hotel is an classified Swiss Historic Hotel which does'nt allow us to install A/C in our establishment. In our Interlaken destination, we are lucky to get rarely very high temperature (above 30°) in Sommer which make guest stay in normal time very comfortable. We are sorry about the disagrement about your room cleaning, we did took some mesure to avoid such problem in the future. We hope to see you again in Interlaken.
P.Bonnaure
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel is old, very nicely renovated, comfortable, but has a few shortcomings. We loved our room. It was spacious, full of old world character and had a balcony with stunning views of the surrounding mountains. The bathroom was large, very tastefully renovated and had a very good shower. The bed was comfortably firm. Everything was very clean.
We were travelling as members of a large tour group. Breakfast was served in a separate room, exclusively for the group. It was a disorganised scramble. The staff were slow to replenish supplies and food ran out quickly. The food was mediocre and the coffee was weak.
Wi Fi was reliable and worked well in the room.
We travelled in hot weather. There was no air conditioning in our room and consequently, the room was stifling. Some rooms (not ours) were equipped with fans, which would have been of help.
Because our room was so lovely, I have given this hotel a Very Good rating. However, breakfast needs to be better.

Room Tip: If you feel the heat in summer, ask for a room with a fan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julietheoracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h8983-GM, General Manager at Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased to read that your've enjoyed your stay in our Hotel. Please accept our excuces for the quality of group breakfast. I am sorry about the disagrement caused. I did took some mesure to avoid such problem in the future . Further, our hotel is an classified Swiss Historic Hotel which does'nt allow us to install A/C in our establishment. In our Interlaken destination, we are lucky to get rarely very high temperature (above 30°) in Sommer which make guest stay in normal time very comfortable. . We hope to see you again in Interlaken.
P.Bonnaure
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Haven
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This beautiful hotel in Interlaken was one of the best I have stayed in, for it's beauty, history and the professionalism of every member of the staff. I visited for two nights in May 2013 and loved every minute. Even though on a coach tour, we were treated like special guests. On the first night, the dinner service was a little slow and we heard that they do not often have coachloads of guests. However, this did not dampen our enthusiasm for the staff and the delicious food. It is also walking distance to some very fine eateries along the same street. I definitely recommend this hotel, with it's beautiful views of the Alps from every room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samatswindn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h8983-GM, Manager at Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear SamatSwindon

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Royal -St. Georges Interlaken. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,


Hotel Royal-St.Georges Interlaken AG
MGallery Collection
Patrick Bonnaure
Direktion
h8983@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

This is an older-style hotel with a very nice foyer and diningroom. Our rather large bedroom was on a corner at the back with views to the mountains from both sides. There was only one very soft pillow each, so more would have been nice. As in most hotels, the lighting could have been improved.
The bathroom had two basins and a good shower in the bath, but there was nowhere to hang towels once they were used and that included the handtowels.
We were part of a bus tour and there was at least one other group staying at the same time, so the buffet breakfast was rather a bunfight. It would have helped if the serving tables were spread out over a larger area as this would allow more people access at the same time. As it was, we were all very rushed and had to grab what we could and it wasn't a pleasant experience - not entirely the fault of the hotel.
Would we stay here again? Probably yes, if we were not part of a group and could get a good deal on the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h8983-GM, General Manager at Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased to read that your've enjoyed your stay in our Hotel. Please accept our excuces for the quality of group breakfast. I am sorry about the disagrement caused. I did took some mesure to avoid such problem in the future . Further, our hotel is an classified Swiss Historic Hotel which does'nt allow us to install A/C in our establishment. In our Interlaken destination, we are lucky to get rarely very high temperature (above 30°) in Sommer which make guest stay in normal time very comfortable. . We hope to see you again in Interlaken.
P.Bonnaure
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Just as you enter the main corridor, you feel it. A historic property staying true to its core in small details. Beautifully located with stunning views of the Jungfrau and Harder Kulm on either side and in the middle of Interlaken with everything within walking distance. Clean big rooms with again, stunning views. Services upto the mark be it in the room or at the desk or restaurant. Food is acceptable and fresh.
Communication and considerations even before we stayed there (via phone and email) was something I must mention here, really wonderful, as we were travelling with two babies. They made accommodations in that regards, again attention to details.
Overall, a pleasant stay in Interlaken and really thankful to the team at Hotel Royal-St.Georges.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaveg d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h8983-GM, General Manager at Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback about your positive experience in our Hotel. We hope to welcome you soon again in Interlaken!
P. Bonnaure
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Georgia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Four of us stayed at this hotel in June. This hotel had been contracted through a tour service. Upon arrival we were quickly provided our rooms and the luggage was directly delivered. The service was fast and efficient. Wifi was available free throughout the hotel and a breakfast was also provided. The variety of breakfast choices was not at a 5-star level, but the choices were adequate for a good meal to start the day off on. The rooms were large and the bathrooms were excellent. This is a very historic hotel and was maintained to a high level. The only thing missing was wash cloths, however this is not odd for many european hotels.

Room Tip: Bring your own was cloths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h8983-GM, General Manager at Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback about your positive experience in our Hotel. We hope to welcome you soon again in Interlaken!
P. Bonnaure
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#10 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#9 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Address: Hoeheweg 139, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Interlaken
#1 Spa Hotel in Interlaken
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Interlaken
#3 Luxury Hotel in Interlaken
#4 Business Hotel in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Superior Hotel Royal-St.Georges Interlaken belongs to the MGallery Collection. Set against the panoramic Alpine backdrop of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau mountains (Top of Europe), nestled between Lake Thun and Lake Brienz, Interlaken is a popular destination for nature lovers and those looking for some rest and relaxation. Marvel at the historic facade dating from 1908, step into the elegant hotel lobby with its impressive staircase and savor the historical charm of the hotel. The large ballroom in Art Nouveau style, with its hazy light and scent of Alpine flowers, is the epitome of romance. A charming terrace awaits guests in the garden, offering a breathtaking panoramic view of the Harder Kulm mountain, as well as a relaxation area where guests can unwind.Free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free wellness & Sauna, restaurant The Verandah with 50 places, Bar-Lounge Royal, 4 banquet rooms for the organization of your events up to 150 persons, pets are welcome, hotel parking spaces available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal St Georges
Royal St Georges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing