We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We decided to do a weekend tour of the area with the kids and spent our second night at the Royal-St Georges. The hotel is impressive when you walk in, but we arrived at the same time as a group and there was only one person on check in! After waiting for a while, another member of staff finally came and checked us in.

We had reserved a triple and had indicated that there would be 2 adults and 2 children. Usually one of our children would sleep in the double bed with us, but unfortunately this time it was 2 single beds pushed together which made it a very uncomfortable night for all of us. The room was a decent size and had plenty of room to have added a roll-away bed. The room was at the top of the building so very hot, but the hotel had thoughtfully provided a stand up fan. However, I find the price expensive for what we had.

The hotel is well located to walk along the main street of Interlaken. Unfortunately, there is a sex shop just across the road from it which led to some interesting questions from the children . . .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gvamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PB8983, Manager at Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you very much for your Feedbacks about your stay.

I really am very sorry, that the Quality of our Service dind't cover your expectations.

I can assure you that we took all necessary measures to improve our service.

We hope to welcome you soon again in Interlaken & at the Hotel Royal-St.Georges Interlaken-MGallery Collection!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    236
    80
    42
    23
See reviews for
183
341
25
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Although our room was pleasant with a balcony and good views of the mountains there were several factors that were disappointing.To start with there were 6 coathangers in the cupboard which were totally inadequate for a weeks stay. When we asked for more we were told there weren't anymore, that was the allocation per room. However more did eventually materialise from a room that wasn't occupied.The television failed to work on 2 occasions and we were informed it was the batteries in the remote but they were never replaced.There was no milk for making tea which we had to ask for every day and the cups were too small for a good cup of tea so had to request larger ones which kept disappearing. There was no A/C but a fan was provided. The balcony floor was just concrete and would have been improved by tiling.The shower in the bath was a hand held one and not very powerfull. The bath was high and therefore difficult to climb in and out of for older and arthritic people and also slippery when one person had used it previously. Flannels appeared after 3 days and the hinge on the loo seat remained broken. Breakfasts were more than adequate with plenty of choice. However we were entitled to a packed lunch which was the same every day consisting of a large roll filled with ham and cheese, fruit, water and a carton of orange juice. Some days it included a piece of plain cake, other days a small roll with butter and jam. We were led to believe that the evening meal was to be 3 courses with a choice at each course but instead it consisted of 4 courses with a choice at the main course of meat or fish sometimes pasta mainly poor quality. Perhaps the greatest disappointment of all was the spa. Lovely as it was, with a small steam room, showers, changeing room and 2 great jacuzzi baths side by side we could only enjoy the facillities on one occasion at the beginning of our stay as it was closed for the remainder of the week. If we had been made aware of this when booking we would have chosen a different week. There was no swimming pool on site. On the plus side the hotel was very clean and the staff friendly and helpfull.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front of the hotel have good mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PB8983, Manager at Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you very much for your Feedbacks about our Hotel, which are very important for us, to improve the Quality of our Service.

We kindly ask you to accept our deepest apologies for the inconveniences and hope to welcome you again in Interlaken at the Hotel Royal.St-Georges MGallery Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Eating was a dismal experience, not what you want at any time. First night my turkey cutlet was raw in the middle. My complaint brought no response. Repetitive menu was unimaginative and badly cooked. On the fifth night I asked for a plain omelette and wrote it down, no cheese, no ham, just plain. I was hoping this could not go wrong. I received two fried eggs with a thick crust of tasteless cheese on greasy fried potato.
My husband suffered food poisoning, it was unlikely to have been caused by eating out at lunchtime as was suggested by staff.
I know the hotel has changed hands; the management have a lot of thinking to do.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KA8983, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 20 October 2015
Dear Mrs Marion,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Royal St. Georges MGallery Interlaken and for sharing your impressions on tripadvisor.
I’m very sorry for the inconveniences regarding the food and I already passed your feedback to our head of food and beverage to make an improvement.
am very sorry if there might have been a misunderstanding and would like to deeply apologize.
Please note that the owner did NOT change. We hope you might consider giving have us a second chance in order to convince you that we can do it in a better way.
All the best.
Karim ABID
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel recently we stayed in room 110 and we had a beautiful large patio which was lovely the room was pretty big we also had a beautiful view of the mountains from our window if we went out on our patio we could see the mountain that we can see through the window and the mountains seen from the front of the hotel . The room had plenty of coffee and tea that was topped up everyday. The beds were very comfortable and the TV had many channels. The bathroom was huge with two sinks and two mirrors and a small 4x beauty mirror. The bathroom also was topped up everyday with lovely shampoo , conditioner , body lotion and shower gel and there were endless towels. The room sometimes was a little hot but if you go down and ask reception for a fan they will provided you with a large one. The breakfast every morning was lovely we had the choice of various cereals , eggs , sausage , bacon , bread , a variety of teas , ham and cheese and bread the only thing missing was hot chocolate especially as we were in Switzerland. There is a hot tub and jacuzziI upstairs but you do need to ask the hotel staff 30 minutes in advance to turn them on but there are towels upstairs so you don't need to use the ones in your room . I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone beautiful location and friendly staff . The only downside was not having chairs out on the large patio area for us to sit and enjoy the view

Room Tip: Room 110 had stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PB8983, Manager at Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much for your stay and your lovely comments about our Hotel.

We hope to welcome you again in Interlaken at the Hotel Royal-St.Georges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
393 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

To review this hotel is something of a dilemma because of travelling with a group, but the range of opinions was consistently of disappointment. So, while group travel is not the best basis for comment, the observations are still valid.
The Hotel appears in promotional and publicity material as being a prestigious heritage venue, but that is most definitely a delusion. Some rooms are certainly most attractive but many are definitely nothing special and the single occupancy options are overpriced and modest quality at best (albeit a quality bathroom). The singles are cramped in space and some are even less attractive! Yes, this is a heritage venue with some prominent features but is so inconsistent that it would be difficult to select this venue with confidence.
Whilst the staff are helpful and the rooms are very clean, it is the small issues that can add further irritation - no flannels, modest towels and only one small lift which is inadequate for so many residents, especially when it is shared at peak times with service personnel, to add further to frustration.
The evening meals, albeit 'group' catering were very disappointing, of poor quality and weird presentation, even after critical observations had been made. The claim to have fine cuisine and experienced chefs must be a figment of imagination. The buffet breakfast was perfectly acceptable and offered reasonable variety.
So, unless being among the few fortunate visitors (as per some other reviews), the glossy brochure is misleading. Independent travellers will probably be able to make preferable alternative arrangements at much more sensible prices. Incidentally the bar is another disappointment and beverages are grossly overpriced. Fortunately the local Interlaken beer was available nearby at an acceptable price.
To be fair, there is one bonus point - Tea/Coffee facilities are provided in rooms.
In writing this, it has been quite difficult to avoid downgrading to just 2 'stars' = Poor.

Room Tip: See above review - some rooms are very prestigious, whilst some are not. Probably rooms at the rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PB8983, Manager at Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you very much for your feedbacks about our hotel during your visit in Interlaken.

Please allow me to express my deepest apologies for the inconveniences on behalf of my Team.

Please be sure, that we will take all the necessary actions to make your future stay more pleasant than your last stay.

We thank you very much for your comments and looking forward to welcome you again in Interlaken at the Hotel Royal-St.Georges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
261 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This charming hotel located close to the Aare river, the lift to the top of Interlaken and on the main drag of Interlaken takes you back in time to an elegant era of a wide staircase in the entrance hall and a dining room with ornate paintings on the wall and beautiful plaster designs on the walls and ceiling.
It is a charming hotel which might stifle the lovers of chrome, glass and veneered wood in the trendy hotels.
We are in our 60ès and loved this hotel, Interlaken and the general area.
Our corner room on the second floor had a beautiful location to take in the morning light and the Alps in the distance. The beds and pillows were amongst the most comfortable we slept in Switzerland. The pillows especially had substance and the duvet was comfortable albeit a little too warm to be covered completely. Twin beds shoved together constituted the bedding as is frequently the case in Switzerland. The room was large with three narrow balconies, including off the bathroom if you can imagine that. The window dressing did give us complete darkness even in spite of the exposure to the sun.
The bathroom was huge and the base of the sink, toilet and bidet were molded into a mythical creature resembling a lion. What a beautiful touch. The plumbing for the bath was exterior to the wall and showed the sturdiness and size of days gone by. There was a separate shower with a full stall, a rarity in Switzerland. The shower was not huge but effective.
A hair dryer, make-up mirror on an adjustable stand out from the wall and a separate table to put all your personal hygiene products completed this wonderful bathroom.
The room was equipped with a safe and a Nespresso coffee machine with 6 pods which was treat.
The TV worked well with a bunch of English channels to enjoy.
The staff were very helpful and even loaned 2 electrical adaptors for our north American electrical appliances. Do bring a transformer from 200 to 110 if your hair curler is limited to 110. When travelling in Switzerland , it is a good idea to buy a hexagonal adaptor which will avoid you running to the reception of every hotel you go to.
You can get a customer card for a 50% rebate on the Funicular to the top of the mountaion behind Interlaken. Which is worth the visit. Also, around the corner beside the funicular, there is an animal pen where a few Ibex are kept. If you have not seen any, it is worth the 10 minute walk from the hotel. There is also a lovely Japanese garden in front of the hotel.
This was a pleasant stay which we enjoyed tremendously. We would definitely return.
The only proviso i have about this hotel is that other guests described their room as being a lot more plain than ours.

Room Tip: The corner rooms on the northeast side seem to have an edge in beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 432JamesD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PB8983, Manager at Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
We thank you very much for choosing our hotel during your visit in Interlaken.

Your positive comments will motivate us, to make your stay in the future as pleasent as your last stay.

We thank you very much for your comments and looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our family of four enjoyed a lovely stay at this property. I did tons of research and some of the reviews here had me concerned. Upon checking in, I was completely put at ease. Our room was very large with a perfect view. We weren't huge fans of the touristy nature of the city, but loved every second in the room. Easily accessible to local attractions and felt very indulgent. Staff went out of their way to make us comfortable...even arranging our kids stuffed animals on the bed. I'm a sucker for a good international shower and bath and this one is top notch. We don't want to leave!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Alps and a balcony. 205 was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PB8983, Manager at Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Greetings from Interlaken,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience about your stay.

It was a big pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcome you again in Interlaken at Hotel Royal-St.Georges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
578 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#14 of 40 in Interlaken
309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#7 of 40 in Interlaken
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Address: Hoeheweg 139, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Interlaken
#1 Spa Hotel in Interlaken
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Interlaken
#3 Luxury Hotel in Interlaken
#4 Business Hotel in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Superior Hotel Royal-St.Georges Interlaken belongs to the MGallery Collection. Set against the panoramic Alpine backdrop of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau mountains (Top of Europe), nestled between Lake Thun and Lake Brienz, Interlaken is a popular destination for nature lovers and those looking for some rest and relaxation. Marvel at the historic facade dating from 1908, step into the elegant hotel lobby with its impressive staircase and savor the historical charm of the hotel. The large ballroom in Art Nouveau style, with its hazy light and scent of Alpine flowers, is the epitome of romance. A charming terrace awaits guests in the garden, offering a breathtaking panoramic view of the Harder Kulm mountain, as well as a relaxation area where guests can unwind.Free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free wellness & Sauna, restaurant The Verandah with 50 places, Bar-Lounge Royal, 4 banquet rooms for the organization of your events up to 150 persons, pets are welcome, hotel parking spaces available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal St Georges
Royal St Georges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing