We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent homely place”
Review of Gasthof Hirschen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gasthof Hirschen
Ranked #4 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I loved Hirschen for its homely nature and the excellent Breakfast. The rooms were neat, the service was immaculate, everything was great. The only problems were that you could hear everything in the rooms next to you and above you. Its especially a problem when you are staying with two kids under the age of 4. The roof was also quite low, so my husband kept banging his head into the roof. Loved everything else about this place

Room Tip: You may want to opt for rooms on the first or second floor if you are tall. The roof is higher there...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naaz_ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Gasthof Hirschen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and loved it, the breakfast is great, beds are comfy and the location is perfect.
The only down side is the paper thin walls, you can EVERYTHING in the adjoining rooms, I wish I could speak Japanese to know what the room next to ours were talking about at 1am!!
It is an old building, its over 300 years old so this is to be expected.
Other than that, we loved our stay here and would certainly stay again.
Just a tip, ask for a room away from the stairs, there is only one way in and out and it is noisy near the stairs.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

When can you stay in a 400 year old building? This created memories of an era gone. Loved the charm and the staff. Not ultra modern due the age, but we wanted charm and Rooms were updated and spacious and it felt more like a B&B. Breakfast was perfect!!! Because of the era built, ceilings are low so tall folks beware. I hit my head twice. Still, I would come back!!!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Jeffrichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Hirschen was charming, clean and had a lovely buffet breakfast. My 3 friends and I stayed in a nice and pretty spacious room. The rooms were clean and the hotel wasn't very loud, although it was social in the restaurant-- a great balance! Not to mention the atmosphere was lovely and homey. Staff were pretty helpful, too. Definitely would recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlyreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Hirschen is a beautiful Swiss Inn located in Matten. We spent a week here during March and loved every moment of it. The building itself is gorgeous with the mountains surrounding the area.

The room itself is beautiful and comfortable. The bed is comfortable and the Tv has a varied selection of channels (though you spend most the time outdoors!) Breakfast every morning is fantastic. We actually weren't aware breakfast was included but it was a nice surprise. The property is in easy walking distance to everything and has a bus that stops just around the corner. There is also a kitchenette where you can cook your own food if you do not wish to eat out every night.

The only negative for us was being tall the low roof could cause a sore head occasionally. As we were told a 300 year old place was obviously built for shorter people!

We would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We actually stayed around the corner in an apartment. The woman who owned the apartment also worked at this hotel. We had breakfast here every morning and it was wonderful. Fresh loaves of bread, different spreads, eggs, cereal, yogurt, juices, coffee made to order. The women were wonderful about answering questions about the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeccaBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The moment we stepped in the hotel, we were so impressed by the set-up and the ornaments on the wall. It has a relatively low ceiling which makes it very special. We stayed in a family unit - 2 rooms with one Queen bed and 2 singles. The toilet and bath were a bit dated and the bathroom was lack of ventilation which caused a mouldy smell. The shower head was fixed too low and made showering difficult.

The beds were comfortable. The room was warm and cozy. It was fantastic to have 2 televisions - one in each room. The breakfast was of wide variety and for the price we paid, it's definitely good value for money.

There is a bus servicing the hotel and Lauterbrunnen (ski resort). We drove to Stechelberg, where we parked our car and caught a gondola to Murren, and it was about 30 minutes from the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to those who plan a trip for skiing in Interlaken Ski Resort.

A walk down the street leads you to the more touristy area of Interlaken.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kchmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
682 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#6 of 8 in Unterseen
171 reviews
1.6 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#5 of 8 in Unterseen
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#11 of 40 in Interlaken
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Hirschen

Address: Hauptstrasse 11, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range: £68 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Hirschen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gasthof Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Hirschen Hotel Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing