We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic breakfast, cosy, warm and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken
Ranked #19 of 45 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Wonderful stay on Christmas Eve. The breakfast was a great start to the day including hot food and continental breakfast foods such as Bircher muesli, fruit, croissants, cold cuts and cheese. As others have written, staying on the actual 5th floor which I believe are all the private bathroom suites/rooms, stairs must be taken from 4th to 5th floor. We had 55kgs of luggage but managed fine. The bathroom is tiny but not a problem at all. Just don't expect to unpack all your toiletries. The view of the street side and the mountains were beautiful. We arrived late at night and had no idea how close the mountains were until we opened the curtains in the morning (nothing like the view from our Wengen hotel up on the alps itself but that's another review ) most people only stay here as an access point to the alps anyways, so the old carpet smell and wardrobe smells were not an issue for us. For a hundred year hotel, not bad (not sure the carpet is a hundred years old though! thank goodness) wifi available in room. No bath. 10 min walk to hotel from station Interlaken Ost (Ost=east). Another short 10 min walk to restaurants and watch shops.

Wonderful christmas morning there to wake and open the panel windows to all the many church bells peeling.
Great stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momiji8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

We arrived by train, and we dragged our suitcases about 10 minutes directly down the street to the hotel. We stayed on the 5th floor. Elevator stops at 4th floor, drag suitcases upstairs to 5th. We had to share the toilets and showers with others on our floor which was OK. MAJOR CON: NO AC at all (we knew this ahead of time) but it was almost 90 F when we were there. Wi-Fi did not work either in our room, and worked maybe 10% of the time in the lobby. The hotel needs Wi-fi and Air Conditioning (probably not possible since it is one of the oldest hotels in Interlaken we read). It was extremely hot during the day in the lobby. We left the room windows open at night for air. PRO: Nice view of the church and pond next door.

Room Tip: If you stay on the 5th floor (top) do NOT get the room directly behind the sign. We had the room fa...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank SkiSandLLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed in a Tourist room on the 5th floor. The room we stayed in had private facilities. It was a fabulous room and better then some 5 stars we have stayed in elsewhere. Spacious, clean with plenty of hot water. No matter what class of room you stay in, breakfast is included and it is a wonderful breakfast. All the staff we encountered were bright, friendly and very helpful. Also has a storage room for luggage after you check out. A wonderful introduction to Switzerland. About a 10 to 15 minute walk from Interlaken Ost Station.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macca46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Reasonable price for a single room with an on-suite bathroom on the 5th floor of the very nice Interlaken hotel. As others have mentioned bizarrely there is no lift to the 5th floor but a circular staircase and certainly no obvious help available for bags either. The room was quite spacious with complementary tea/ coffee, internet. Breakfast was quite good and in the main hotel. Also in terms of location not bad with about a 10 min walk from Interlaken Ost on flat ground for those with bags. Fortunately I only had a rucksack but if the lift issue is not a deal breaker it was otherwise a quite reasonable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjaya_Wijeyekoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

comfortable room, decent location and great breakfast.

The only complaint I have is that the reservation did not specify that 5th floor does not have elevator access and I had to pull two big luggages up a spiral staircase. But the room quality was quite good and well equipped, therefore, I can't really put down the overall hotel quality for the miscommunication.

The hotel offered a nice selection of fruits, cheese, ham, juice and coffee for breakfast, which was very satisfying for its guests getting ready for a big day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The only good things about the hotel is it provides a great variety of breakfast and there is a garden next to the cafe for breakfast. However, never stay in rooms at the 5th floor as there is no lift access which we only got to find out that the rate (CHF 200) we paid for booking under booking.com is for room at the 5th floor. We showed to the staff our booking confirmation saying that it is not written in the confirmation that the reservation is for room at the level with no life access. The staff told me that it is my problem and there is no way she can help unless I am willing to pay an additional CHF99 in a very bad attitude and tone. At the end, we compromised and stayed in the room for a night. Furthermore, this is the only hotel during our 8-day stay in Switzerland which wifi is chargeable. It is not a good choice to stay in Interlaken for traveller visiting only Grindelwald area. If you want, go for St. George hotel opposite Hotel Interlaken.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WSY821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelInterlaken, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at 5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in Interlaken.

The 5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken is an unclassified accommodation with basic rooms and most of them have shared bath and WC on the floor. These rooms are situated within the 4* Hotel Interlaken and you therefore benefit from some 4* services such as the large breakfast buffet and the free internet acces.
5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken is only bookable via our own website or Booking.com. You will find that on both sites it is stated that the lift will take you ONLY to the 4th floor and Booking.com has assured that this is also mentioned on the guests confirmation. Also, it is stated that WIFI is chargeable. We are aware that this is a problem and we are working on a solution where WIFI in the future will be free and accessible throughout the hotel.
As to our receptionist, I must appologize for the incorrect behaviour. If you have time, please send me a mail with your name and the date of your stay and I will look into the matter with our front office manager. The asked amount of CHF 99.- would have been for an up-grade to the 4* Hotel Interlaken.
Grindelwald is half an hour by train from Interlaken, so yes, if you only want to visit that area I would also recommend to stay in Grindelwald.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This hotel is a very good pic. Rooms are very nice. They ae large and open. The balcony view give you immense pleasure of being in the switzerland. Evenings are good to watch from balcony. Hotel service is nice. Sleeps are well.

Room Tip: take mountain view side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkc06124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#5 of 40 in Interlaken
631 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
732 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#13 of 40 in Interlaken
350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blume
Hotel Blume
#14 of 45 in Interlaken
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Happy Inn Lodge
Happy Inn Lodge
#15 of 45 in Interlaken
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken

Address: Hoeheweg 74, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range: £83 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms at 5th Floor at Hotel Interlaken are tourist class rooms, which give you the opportunity to stay at the Hotel Interlaken also on a tight budget. The rooms are situated on the 5th floor (lift till 4th floor) and they are not part of our 61 rooms. They are all non smoking and have either an en-suite bathroom or shared shower and WC in the hallway. The rooms are equipped with water boiler with free coffee and tea, flat screen TV and hair dryer. In the hallway there is a PC with free internet. A breakfast buffet in the Restaurant Taverne is included in the price. Free parking at the hotel car park (limited spaces) and directly behind the hotel you will find a large number of public parking lots (subject to charges). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing