We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de la Paix
Nearby Hotels
US$623
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$452
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$451
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Bellevue(Interlaken)(Great Value!)
US$292
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$285
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$590
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$364
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Waldhotel Unspunnen(Interlaken)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stella Hotel Interlaken(Interlaken)(Great Value!)
US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Interlaken(Interlaken)(Great Value!)
US$409
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Berghof Amarant(Wilderswil)(Great Value!)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Beausite(Unterseen)(Great Value!)
US$319
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Krebs(Interlaken)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
75
84
23
13
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
84
23
13
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinterlaken west stationbreadwhite bed linenhotel is extremely convenientinteresting antiquescharming small hotelwalking minutesblow dryersmall liftquiet neighborhoodcomfort roomcroissantslady ownerbig bathroombeautiful view of the mountainsby european standardsfourth floor
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We've just returned from 7 days stay at this lovely characterful hotel in beautiful Interlaken. The hotel is traditional and individual and filled with interesting antiques and curios. So much nicer than a generic chain hotel!

The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the hotel is extremely convenient for Interlaken West station and the Boat terminus (for leisurely trips on Lake Thun) which are an easy and level short walk away.

The breakfast each morning was fresh and plentiful and nothing was too much trouble for the lovely owners and their team. The hotel doesn't serve dinner but there are a multitude of restaurants, bars and cafes within very easy walking distance.

There is a cosy bar and television room and a small garden with plenty of seating.

We shall return to the hotel De La Paix on our next visit and look forward to the wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel during our Europe trip in late September, and to put it concisely, it turned out to be our worst hotel experience in the trip. There is nothing wrong with the quality of the rooms, which was quite spacious by European standards (we booked the superior room with balcony that faced the street). But the behaviour of the staff is a definite put off. We found Gillian and her staff to be overtly curt, to the point of being unpleasant. Her interactions with another group of guests (who merely wanted to shift to another table) at the breakfast was so unprofessional that we decided to keep our distance with her. The only exception to this overall coldness was probably Charlotte who sits at the reception and was quite helpful.

There is some issue with the electrical system as well, since the lights went off twice in two days when we tried to use the hair dryer kept in bathroom. Not very pleasant experience if you are stuck in a dark, cold bathroom, trying to figure your way out with the light from a mobile phone! (That too after paying CHF 370 for a "superior" room!!)

There are plenty of better hotels at a walking distance from Interlaken west station, and this hotel should only only be looked at as a last resort!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank roy_soumyasanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in late Sept2012. We chose this hotel because it was close to train station and had Wi-fi. It was easy enough to drag our suitcases the couple of blocks to the hotel, but had to carry them up several steps at the front of the hotel. The hotel is old but has substantial visual character, enhanced by a considerable collection of old clocks. Our room on the first floor was of medium size, with an opening window and door leading to a private balcony on the rear corner (there was roller shutter that could be lowered outide the door). The room had a noticable smell, may have been mildew, which I found to be unpleasant. We slept with window and door open to reduce the odour at night. As mentioned by others , the bathroom was compact but adequate and clean. On one morning the electrical power went off (twice), and we finished our ablutions by torchlight. We found out later that this is not an uncommon occurrence and can happen to a section of the hotel if several guests are using kettles or hairdryers simultaneously. If the office is advised (by phone) they will reset the fuse, but there was no information to us prior to our later enquiry. Breakfast was good. Staff were pleasant and helpfull. (We did not discuss the smell with them).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dougta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights at the end of a tour of Italy, it was magical from stepping off the train at Interlaken West and just a few minutes walk to the hotel. The hotel has a very homely welcoming feel and all the staff are very friendly. Within minutes we were sat on the balcony gazing up at the mountains drinking a glass of wine, it was heaven and could start to wind down after all our travelling. Waking up to these snow capped mountains was a wonderful start to each day. The room was plenty big enough and very clean, the bathroom although a little on the small side was very clean. It was fantastic that there was tea/coffee in the room also. The breakfast was of a very good standard and also offered eggs which you don't normally get with European breakfasts. On our last morning, my husband had told Jill it was our wedding anniversary and it was a lovely surprise to come down and see our table laid out with anniversary decorations, roses in the vase and a glass of champagne was brought through to us, what a delightful gesture....thank you so much. The sitting room offers a lovely seating area and bar where you can find folders put together with all the information you might need. Excellent location, excellent staff, great value, we will be looking to return here for a longer stay next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony. Ask for a packed lunch before you check out, it made a lot of difference to us to be able to eat while travelling.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

My wife n I stay over from 8-9/9. Location is great. U get out of interlaken west station. Cross over to migros. Turn right n walk for another 150m. You are there.

Receptionist is very friendly n helpful. She guided us well to top of Europe.

Bedroom and toilet are very clean. I stayed at level 1. I wake up to seeing some great mountains at my background.

The deduction of 0.5 is that the air con is not working. Got to sleep in natural cold air.

Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KC L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews