We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de la Paix
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here while on holiday with my parents. Rooms are a bit dated. Staff was helpful, and parking was not a problem. Breakfast could have been a bit better as things that finished were not replenished. Otherwise we loved the hotel with its many antique clocks. Perfect base for an amazing holiday in switzerland! Recommended to all

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank marticlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

Interlaken is the most beautiful region of Switzerland and to every Swiss traveler it is a must visit and Hotel de la Paix makes the visit more comfortable and lovely! I reached Interlaken at 940 pm in the night and was quite worried but thankfully the place is not far from the railway station. It is only 5 mins walk from the Interlaken West railway station. It is also very close to the city centre and yet it is so peaceful and quiet. The place is like a house very well decorated with fairy tale style furniture and other decor.

I reached the hotel around 10 pm and the receptionist was quite warm and helpful and shared all the relevant information about the place. She also gave me a travel pass for free transportation in and around Interlaken. The room was quite spacious, clean and warm with very clean and spacious toilets. My room was on the first floor and there was a huge balcony attached with the room which offered beautiful views. The breakfast spread was quite good and the service was pretty decent.

The only thing that I didn't like was that the housekeeping staff came in the room without checking in if someone was inside. I could discard it as a one off incidence and didn't bother too much about it overall.

All in all, it was the best hotels among all the hotels during my trip through Switzerland.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank Spry_2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This family-run hotel has given us wonderful stays in Interlaken,and we can thoroughly recommend it. The hosts are very friendly, and many guests return for future holidays. The situation is close to the town centre and transport links, but far enough away from any noise.
The evening meals were very good value, but are not available any more, (in common with other establishments) which is a great shame.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are bigger than the standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenKilgour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Not very expensive hotel and the rooms were quite big.
We stayed in backpackers corner, even that was good. Very neat and clean.
The hostess speaks very nice English and she was friendly too. She helped us show the room as soon as we arrived. We had to use the shared toilet and bathroom but we were ok with it as they were all maintained very neatly.
Actually its a house which is converted into the hotel. The hostess has a collection of approx 70 antique clocks.
Very easy to locate and is near to the Interlaken West Zentrum. There are many restaurants near by and also there is a mall close to the hotel.

Room Tip: Backpackers room are good for the people who are on budget trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShubhaAravind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Four of us adults spent 3 nights at Hotel de la Paix in September. It included a great breakfast to start your day. The rooms were very clean a bit small but adequate as there was room on the main level where you could sit together and relax after a busy day of sight seeing. There was room for parking on the property and there was an elevator which was great as we were on the 3rd floor and had alot of luggage. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the girl at the front desk helped set up our gps. The location was excellent and easy walk to restaurants, shopping and the West train station. The room windows opened which was nice for fresh air. Our experience was great and we would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights at this location in early September, having found it on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased. The hotel is family owned and managed. They are very knowledgeable and provided very helpful hints /inside knowledge that maximized the use of our time (take the bus to the Lake and take the cruise back to Interlaken instead of the reverse; buy our tickets to Jungfraujoch the might before or early in the day to avoid being cut-off with capacity limits).

Our room was very acceptable and clean. We were fortunate ot have a small balcony that allowed us to sit out at the end of our day. There is a garden sitting area and a front porch as well. The hotel is adorned with a variety of old clocks and interesting antiques. The breakfast was very ample, with eggs, variety of breads, yogurt, Muesli, fresh fruit salad, meats and cheeses. Coffee was rich and Swiss cocoa was also available. There are sitting rooms and a small bar for drink service.


What we especially liked about this hotel was the location being so central an convenient. It is a 5 minute walk, with luggage, from Interlaken West train and bus station. This pretty much the center of town and is full of shops of all kinds, restaurants, etc. The hotel, being more like a bed and breakfast than large hotel, is in a residential ares. It is VERY quiet, safe and very comfortable.

Room Tip: There is a small elevator, sometimes busy with housekeeping so if you have any issues with using sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morgan1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed two nights in July. The hotel is in a quiet location 5 minutes from Interlaken West train station, and 5-10 minutes walk from most bars and restaurants in the west end of town. The room was a bit small with a tiny bathroom, but we had our own balcony which was great. Clean rooms, very nice staff who spoke perfect English (I think the proprietor is English). Plus for washer and dryer in the hotel for a few Francs per wash. The breakfast was good, didn't try the restaurant. WiFi was acceptable, but my girlfriend had occasional problems connecting her phone to the WiFi.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dirr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
712 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#5 of 7 in Unterseen
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 39 in Interlaken
622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#29 of 39 in Interlaken
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#16 of 39 in Interlaken
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Address: Bernastrasse 24, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range: £110 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Paix 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing