We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - wouldn´t recommend the tourist class rooms”
Review of Hotel Interlaken

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Interlaken
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I booked 2 nights here to follow a 1 week stay i had in in Zurich for work - being such a nice looking hotel, and with such good reviews on trip advisor i decided it would be my splurge and although the standard single room was not available, i booked a tourist class which looked quite good online (with request to upgrade if opportunity came).

in my eyes the tourist class room is budget accomodation at a camparitively expensive cost. cost was about 199 CHFper night, compared to b&b´s which seem to range between 30 and 60 CHF per night.

i also did not have wired internet in my room, as stated on the website´which was reasonably inconvenient given that i was writing reports carried over from my work trip and had only booked on the assumption that this would be provided.

on the plus side, the room was spacious, the shower was good, and the breakfast was nice.

am sure that the nice rooms are very nice, but for the tourist class i would not recommend it based on my personal experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KateNanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed in Interlaken for 3 nights. After reviewing all hotels in Interlaken and reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, we could not have made a better choice! As promised by management in a prior post, the renovations are complete and the rooms turned out INCREDIBLE! The bathrooms are appointed with high end fixtures and the linens are very comfortable. We stayed in a 3rd floor suite and had a view to the back of hotel overlooking the grounds of the castle (Schloss Interlaken) as well as the Roman Catholic Church. Please note, the church bells ring ALL NIGHT and are VERY LOUD, however, they ring less frequently after midnight. :) Upon checkin, the clerk at the front desk help us load our luggage in the elevator and proceeded up to our room with us to ensure everything was to our satisfaction (a very nice touch). The front desk was also helpful with local information and restaurant recommendations. As an added bonus, you can buy your passes for the Jungfraujoch train right at the front desk of the hotel. The walk from the train station (Interlaken Ost) is a little over 10 minutes with luggage, but very flat. I highly recommend the restaurant in the hotel for lunch/dinner (this is the same dining room used for their incredible breakfast buffet which is included in the room rate). The dining staff are extremely hospitable and always have smiles on their faces. For dinner and lunch, covered outdoor patio seating provides a great alternative to the restaurant interior. Also, aside from the pay-per-minute internet computer in the lobby, ask the staff about the free alternative in another area of the hotel. This hotel can not be beat for the value in both service and room quality. Would definitely like to return in the near future!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the grounds in the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BriSwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Hotel Interlaken is located within 10-15 minutes walk from Interlaken Ost station, past the Harder Kulm point.

The staff were extremely organised during Check-in and Check-out. All the paperwork was in order, and both times, it took us under 3 minutes to complete the formalities. Kudos to the team. The Breakfast spread is decent. The hotel also has a 24-hour television channel playing live videos of all the surrounding peaks, so that you know what its like at Jungfrau or Schilthorn even before you land there. Good for planning your trips.

Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the road. It has great views!

On the other hand, the hotel does not have Wifi service. Instead they provide a LAN cable for free access. Not good if you're browsing using handheld devices.

There are good restaurants along the way between Interlaken Ost and the hotel, so you're sure not to go hungry either.

Room Tip: Get a room with balcony overlooking the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nivas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and I would recommend this as a very well located hotel for Interlaken and the surrounding area. The rooms have recently been delightfully refurbished and are very comfortable and inviting. The staff were friendly, helpful and all spoke very good English. It was fun to stay in a building which has been a hotel since 1800s.

Room was spacious with a good size bathroom. Shower was over the bath. The side of the bath was quite high and we thought it needed a hand rail for safety. We told the front desk when we were leaving and they said all the rooms should have hand rails and they would get onto it.

The floor fan in the room wasn't working and when we let the front desk know it was promptly replaced. Australians used to sleeping in air conditioning may find the rooms a little hot at night. Ours was fine with the windows open and the fan on. Interlaken cools off significantly at night. We did meet a couple from Perth complaining that it was too hot! My advice is to ask for a corner room on a high floor. You can get good air flow that way. You can walk to the railway station, Interlaken Ost, from the hotel and as with everywhere in Switzerland there is good public transport! The hotel is on the town's main street.

Breakfast was good, plentiful with a good variety. We ate in the restaurant one night and that was very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndThePea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Wow was all I could say when I walked into the Junior suite of Hotel Interlaken. Checkin was with a gorgeous young lady who actually showed us to our room on the 4th floor which had just been renovated. The view was to die for with 2 churches just off from the Hotel to rolling greens to seeing Jungfrau Joch in the distance with snow all over the peak. Had been here(Interlaken) 38 yrs ago for 3 weeks and I imediatley knew why for all that time , Interlaken had been my "special " place. The room was really nicely done with a super comfortable bed and feath down pillows. The bathroom was massive and all the little touches like shower gel were just right. We ate at the restaurant there twice and they were one of the best meals that we had so far encounted whilst in Europe. Prices for the restaurant wern't cheap but if you get a great meal you don't mind and we found Europe was generally expensive anyways. Breakfast was a nice choice and was included in the room costing. Free Internet in your room for connection( we had our own netbook with us so this was handy) Had a chanel for weather cameras situated all around places like Jungfrau, Grindlewald, Shilthorn, etc so this was great to see the snow happening one morning when we awoke(up on the Shilthorn) Just a minute walk from the Hotel is the Harder Klum which is a little funicular train going up the side ot the mountain to a great lookout over Interlaken where we had beautiful apple streudel and Pistachio icecream. We were very blessed with the weather whilst going here also J.Frau Joch but had rain the next day which we just walked up the strret to check out all the fantastic little shops in town. Would highly recomend this Hotel for cleanliness, great staff and great views for the mountains(we had room 401). Wanted to stay more than our 3 nights but sadly had train booked to Paris.

Room Tip: junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pip1413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

There were 9 of us. All were pleased! We loved the breakfast eggs, sausages etc... the yummy cappucinos and lattes. Our rooms were sweet, not fancy, cozy and well located from the train station. We walked everywhere. Our favorite little place nearby was Mr. Grill. Remember there were 9 of us and all discoverd Mr Grill. Yummy burgers and pom frites :) great glass of beer too! Loved the hotel location and all. 5 stars from a family of 9!

Room Tip: We loved it here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catchingfirefliez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

we have gone to Switzerland on my Marriage Anniversary. This is my Second Trip to Swiss
First time i have Stayed at individual Appartment but in this Hotel I feel Good.
The Room and Service is Fine.
Also Located in center of town so very easy to aceess any Travel Point.
Room Service is also Fine.
I will suggest my friend to stay There.

Have a nice Day

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank AmbujaForex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
694 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
#6 of 39 in Interlaken
529 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#10 of 39 in Interlaken
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#14 of 39 in Interlaken
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interlaken

Address: Hoeheweg 74, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range: £114 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Interlaken 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 14th century, Hotel Interlaken offers a unique mix of old and new, and has been carefully renovated over the past few years. "Pure Swissness" combined with modern facilities makes this hotel a one-of-a-kind experience. Here the focus is on genuine hospitality, a family-friendly atmosphere and Swiss cosiness. The Beutler family and team are looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing