We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel,,,,,, apart from the Cheese !!!”
Review of Hotel Interlaken

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Interlaken
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012

After reading reviews of other hotels we decided on this one and we were not disappointed. We had a very warm welcome on check in and shown where breakfast was served then we were shown where the lifts were, our room on the 4th floor overlooking the garden with a balcony was compact but was perfectly adequate for our 2 night stay. The room was exceptionally clean with tea and coffee facilities a flat screen tv and a very warm radiator !. The bathroom was nicely appointed but it did have one of those water saving shower heads but the water was always hot.
After being out all day , when we returned to the hotel the smell of cooking cheese was overwhelming !!, luckily on the 4th floor we were away from the smell . Breakfast was one of the best we have had on our travels around europe with a hot and cold selection on offer.
The hotel is within walking distance from Ost train station and a slightly longer walk to the town and the West train station .We will be back if we need to stay in this area of Switzerland again

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJPNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

After my last visit in December I thought I would pass by and see if there were some changes. There were!

I love a good hamburger, and they do seem rare.

If you like wasabi and mushy bread, then you will love this hamburger.

Of course I am not sure how wasabi found it's way into a hamburger, and am not really enamoured with this combo.

Keep on trying guys and girls.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We spend 2 nights with our baby in April. The staff was very helpful and kind.
In interlaken this 4* hotel is a very good value for money. The hotel is walk distance from the station and the city centre. Very clean with all essential. The room was relatively big even with a baby bed.
We strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foufa72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Even at 5th floor like us, the hotel is very very nice! It has a great location, the building is beautiful and the restaurant is the best in town!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stayed here with some friends during a ski trip to Interlaken. The hotel is fairly centrally located, just a few minutes walk from the center of town and good restaurants. The staff was helpful and the rooms were clean and comfortable. In order to save a little money, my friends and I opted for "shared facilities" rooms, which proved to be more pleasant than expected. The shared showers were clean and private (could be locked). Overall a decent value in an expensive town. Buffet breakfast was great!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwall722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

For a hotel in Europe this hotel has comfortable large rooms to choose from. Also have very nice Japanese garden that is a good photo spot.
We were meeting with our family that has two children and they have chose a large room with balcony that was large enough for their family. Rooms are a bit dated then but they have done remodeling since our trip in 2008. The hotel buffet style breakfast was great, lots of variety of food choices for breakfast.
The hotel was within walking distance from the Train station providing that you are not hauling big luggages to get there. Also it is within a walking distance for restaurants, shops and even casino. Pleasant walk past the public park to town business center.
Hotel staff are helpful and courteous, very good value for the price compare to bigger hotels in the same area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimvichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed 4 days in February as part of a Railtrail organised tour. Excellent hotel. Bedrooms recently refurbished in modern style. Ours was to one side, overlooking some kind of Chinese/Japanese style public garden (Difficult to tell under blanket of snow!) with views to the mountains. Comprehensive breakfast choice. Fixed evening menu as we were a party, but still gave a choice of 2 main courses; excellent each evening and friendly staff. About 5 mins walk from Interlaken Ost station, which has a large Co-op opposite (including a pleasant self-service cafe on first floor). [Can't comment on value as it was part of a 3 centre package hol].

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saronno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
694 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
#6 of 39 in Interlaken
529 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#10 of 39 in Interlaken
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#14 of 39 in Interlaken
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interlaken

Address: Hoeheweg 74, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range: £114 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Interlaken 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 14th century, Hotel Interlaken offers a unique mix of old and new, and has been carefully renovated over the past few years. "Pure Swissness" combined with modern facilities makes this hotel a one-of-a-kind experience. Here the focus is on genuine hospitality, a family-friendly atmosphere and Swiss cosiness. The Beutler family and team are looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing