We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good one night stop”
Review of Hotel Interlaken

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Interlaken
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A good one night stop”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here just the one night before a Jungfraujoch adventure. We found the hotel online and picked it both because of the reasonable price and that it's only a five minute walk down the street from the Interlaken Ost train station. That's where most long distance trains arrive and depart from AND as do the mountain trains to Grindelwald and beyond up to Jungfraujoch.

This is an older building and it's being carefully renovated. As part of that process the restaurant and bar were closed for remodelling while we were there, but that was OK, the main older part of Interlaken with it's wide variety of restaurants is only a 10 minute walk away, towards Interlaken West station. On check in we were given Interlaken visitors cards that gave discounts at places in town and free travel on the local buses. We walked to the old town but we could have used the cards and taken the bus. The hotel is on the main street that connects the two ends of town and so the two stations at either end.

They have a selection of rooms and as we only stayed one night we went for an economy double and it was fine. Not big, just room for two single beds side by side and a small desk. But there was a small closet and a place for an opened suitcase, so really it was all good for two people staying one or two nights. The room looked to have been newly refurbished and the bathroom looked all new. On a winters night the heating worked well. But such a small room could be warm in summer. But the windows opened and overlooked the small Japanese garden to the side of the hotel.

We went out for dinner as their restaurant was closed. But we had breakfast there as part of the package. We wanted to catch an 8am train up the mountain and so we were in the breakfast room ten minutes after it's 7am opening. They had a fair selection of hot and cold food on the buffet, but sadly the hot food was already wilting, with dried out cold scrambled eggs and rapidly cooling bacon. Hopefully that will all improve once the hotels F&B side is back up and working fully again.

Overall it was a good experience. Check in and out was easy and the reception staff were very pleasant and helpful. A nice place really.

Room Tip: For one night the Economy doubles are good value. But for longer stays I would suggest going up a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in Interlaken.

Concerning the breakfast buffet I am really sorry to hear that the hot food wasn’t even warm. As you mention, we are currently refurbishing our kitchen however, this should not affect the quality of our breakfast. We shall of course go through the working procedures with our F&B department.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    227
    74
    14
    12
See reviews for
134
278
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Very good location in the center of Interlaken, good buffet breakfast, helpful and friendly staff. Close to the train station and the public spa and swimming pool. Good value for money in Switzerland. We definitely recommend it !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralucasb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellisville, Missouri
Level Contributor
359 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The hotel had an old-world charm but is very clean and modern amenities. It is in a great location, close enough to the train station and things to do (restaurants, shopping, etc.) but far enough away to be peaceful. There is a small Japanese garden adjacent to the hotel that is also very nice. The staff was very polite and friendly. Parking was not a problem as it was in other cities we visited on our trip. We had two rooms, one facing the street and one facing the church/mountains. Both had nice views and the church bells did not keep my husband or son awake as some reviewers indicated. This is the second time we’ve stayed at this hotel and we were not disappointed either time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwinMom1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Situated near Interlaken OST (abt ten mins away, if you're dragging along your luggage), it's at a pretty central location. Walk out of the hotel, turn left and you're on your way to the central part of the town and Interlaken West. My husband and I arrived from Zurich after a long flight and a train ride and the hotel was a much-needed refresher. We took a mountain view business room (the views of the snow-capped mountains are great, and the extra space in the room was much welcomed). We had a little balcony in the room, but it was too cold to go out and sit. The room was adequately furnished - enough heating which could be turned up if you're chilly. They included a stand fan as well. Basic necessities such as electric kettle, tea/coffee making facilities, mini-bar/fridge were included in the price. The bathroom amenities were pretty good - not one of those squeezy showers and cramped spaces but a large en-suite. The staff were accommodating and entertained our requests such as that of extra pillows. The buffet breakfast provided was generous, with a wide variety, allowing us to have a good filling meal and skipping lunch. The hotel is quaint in an old-school way and is very homely. We felt it was worth the price we paid. Even if we do not go back to Interlaken, we would recommend the hotel for its service, location and attention to detail.

Room Tip: Choose the mountain facing ones, but be aware that the rooms face the churches and the pealing of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaImran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in May 2013. The hotel is located within walking distance from Interlaken Ost Railway Station. The staff was very polite and friendly. The traditional decor is quite pleasant and adds to the aura.

The hotel upgraded us to the corner room at no extra cost. The room were decent in size but the balcony view from the balcony/window was amazing. All in all staying at the hotel was a good decision.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the left backside gives you a view of the mountains from one window and a cute water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaurav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Have always relied on trip advisor reviews but never written one. Signed up to leave my first about this hotel.

Nice looking hotel in decent area, parking easy and checkin efficient. Nice room.
From here a potential good review turns south.

I generally choose a hotel based on its website pictures of room bar and restaurant then read some reviews.
I like to have a drink in the bar then either eat in their restaurant or take a walk and find somewhere nearby, always followed by a return to the bar for a few drinks before bed.

This hotels bar and restaurant are currently closed for refurb until March.

I booked a month ago and was not informed of this.
I emailed them a week ago to confirm my booking.
On neither occasion was i informed of this obviously planned work.
Had I known about this I would definitely not booked here or would have cancelled my booking.

An expensive stay in a hotel with limited facilities who in my opinion should have been honest and were not.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Simon C
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see that, on the whole, you liked our hotel.
The refurbishment of our kitchen has been planned since end October 2013 and has therefore also been published on our website as well as on internet booking platforms since the beginning of November 2013. I am really sorry if this information has not been clear enough and you therefore ended up staying at a hotel which did not at all meet you expectations.
I do hope you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you back on another occasion.
The Restaurant Taverne and the Kloster Lounge & Bar are still expected to be re-opening by the end of February/beginning of March 2014.
Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is a lovely hotel. I was so relieved that a misalignment of the tiles in our bathroom meant that ir was not excessively perfect, as is most of Switzerrland.
Excellent restaurant, but best to book.

Room Tip: They all seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JolyonKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
661 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#7 of 40 in Interlaken
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#14 of 40 in Interlaken
309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interlaken

Property: Hotel Interlaken
Address: Hoeheweg 74, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Interlaken 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 14th century, Hotel Interlaken offers a unique mix of old and new, and has been carefully renovated over the past few years. "Pure Swissness" combined with modern facilities makes this hotel a one-of-a-kind experience. Here the focus is on genuine hospitality, a family-friendly atmosphere and Swiss cosiness. The Beutler family and team are looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing