We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location & food!”
Review of Hotel Interlaken

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Interlaken
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location & food!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Hotel was just a 7 - 10 minutes walk from the train station. Room was of a good size (for us at least) and the breakfast was the best out of our entire Switzerland trip!

The food at the hotel's restaurant was consistently good and reasonably priced. Forget bout eating in town - they are overpriced, bad tasting and terrible service. Service at the hotel was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babysilve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    228
    74
    14
    12
See reviews for
133
278
31
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

A wonderful hotel in a great location [in the center of Interlaken East] with a fantastic breakfast.
Shower could have been hotter.
Ronnie is the BEST concierge ever - trains, restaurants, parasailing, hiking, etc.
A quick walk form the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back [away from the street] face the mountains [AMAZING!!!] and the church with be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moe1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorks
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I chose this hotel as I wanted somewhere within easy walking distance of Interlaken Ost, so I could drop bags off go up Shilthorn ( which is just the most unbelievable experience on a clear day) and make a quick getaway early the next day.
For the price It definitely exceeded what I expected, I paid for an economy single, but ended up with a good sized double with a balcony overlooking church and mountains, a wonderful morning view! Followed by a pretty good breakfast
Bathroom also good sized and everything in room that you would need, comfy bed and a great night sleep. Staff really helpful, room not ready when I arrived but got me sorted and out quickly, and with travel card and luggage was in my room on my return.
I would definitely recommend, and it was fantastic value- maybe I just got lucky, but it was great.
currently no restaurant and asked for a recommendation, I was sent to Des Alpes nearby, which I definitely wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donjmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights as part of a package including travel and excursions, so I can't comment on value for money.

The hotel is on the main thoroughfare, not far from Interlaken Ost rail station.

Interlaken offers excellent rail connections and a splendid choice of activities and excursions. It would be my choice for a first visit to Switzerland, summer or winter.

Even tho' we had a room on the front of the hotel overlooking the road, the room was quiet. It was also warm, scrupulously clean and equipped with resources we needed: comfortable beds, sufficient storage space, tea-making facility, safe. Other reviewers have grumbled about noisy church bells - we never heard them at all.

As the dining room was being refurbished, we were obliged to eat our evening meals in restaurants, of which there is a varied choice within walking distance. However breakfast in the hotel was good, offering the usual continental cold buffet, with a few cooked items.

The staff who served breakfast were brisk and obliging; on the day we left, we had to catch an early train and the breakfast was served early to accommodate us.

I would certainly stay in this hotel if I were to visit Interlaken again.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room high up on the front (north) side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I, together with 2 of our friends, went to visit Jungfrau this feb 21 to 22. We chose Hotel Interlaken because of its proximity to the train station and it's reasonable rates. We got a junior suite which was perfect for our needs. There was lots of room for our luggages and our bathroom was huge. Beds were comfortable and sheets were clean. Wifi was free and signal was strong at all times. Breakfast was good and came free with the room. Our view from our window was spectacular. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taguirre131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here just the one night before a Jungfraujoch adventure. We found the hotel online and picked it both because of the reasonable price and that it's only a five minute walk down the street from the Interlaken Ost train station. That's where most long distance trains arrive and depart from AND as do the mountain trains to Grindelwald and beyond up to Jungfraujoch.

This is an older building and it's being carefully renovated. As part of that process the restaurant and bar were closed for remodelling while we were there, but that was OK, the main older part of Interlaken with it's wide variety of restaurants is only a 10 minute walk away, towards Interlaken West station. On check in we were given Interlaken visitors cards that gave discounts at places in town and free travel on the local buses. We walked to the old town but we could have used the cards and taken the bus. The hotel is on the main street that connects the two ends of town and so the two stations at either end.

They have a selection of rooms and as we only stayed one night we went for an economy double and it was fine. Not big, just room for two single beds side by side and a small desk. But there was a small closet and a place for an opened suitcase, so really it was all good for two people staying one or two nights. The room looked to have been newly refurbished and the bathroom looked all new. On a winters night the heating worked well. But such a small room could be warm in summer. But the windows opened and overlooked the small Japanese garden to the side of the hotel.

We went out for dinner as their restaurant was closed. But we had breakfast there as part of the package. We wanted to catch an 8am train up the mountain and so we were in the breakfast room ten minutes after it's 7am opening. They had a fair selection of hot and cold food on the buffet, but sadly the hot food was already wilting, with dried out cold scrambled eggs and rapidly cooling bacon. Hopefully that will all improve once the hotels F&B side is back up and working fully again.

Overall it was a good experience. Check in and out was easy and the reception staff were very pleasant and helpful. A nice place really.

Room Tip: For one night the Economy doubles are good value. But for longer stays I would suggest going up a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelInterlaken, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in Interlaken.

Concerning the breakfast buffet I am really sorry to hear that the hot food wasn’t even warm. As you mention, we are currently refurbishing our kitchen however, this should not affect the quality of our breakfast. We shall of course go through the working procedures with our F&B department.

Best regards
Karin Snitgaard
Hotel Interlaken
k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Very good location in the center of Interlaken, good buffet breakfast, helpful and friendly staff. Close to the train station and the public spa and swimming pool. Good value for money in Switzerland. We definitely recommend it !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralucasb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#12 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#9 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interlaken

Property: Hotel Interlaken
Address: Hoeheweg 74, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Interlaken 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 14th century, Hotel Interlaken offers a unique mix of old and new, and has been carefully renovated over the past few years. "Pure Swissness" combined with modern facilities makes this hotel a one-of-a-kind experience. Here the focus is on genuine hospitality, a family-friendly atmosphere and Swiss cosiness. The Beutler family and team are looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing