We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Hotel Interlaken

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Interlaken
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
299 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Location is awesome, in the middle of Interlaken, with great mountain views. Easy and free parking across from and behind the hotel. Within walking distance of restaurants and shops. Amazing staff all around. Room was comfortable except mattress could be better and bed cover was too warm (at least for April). Swiss food (cheese fondue) at dinner was good. Breakfast was decent (except for runny eggs) but limited choices.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    226
    74
    14
    12
See reviews for
131
278
31
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a very old hotel that has been rejuvenated. The property itself is old enough that the likes of Felix Mendelssohn and Lord Byron has stayed in the hotel (the rooms are marked as such). However, the interior has been refurbished in such a way that gives all the conveniences of a modern hotel without sacrificing the warmth and cosiness of such an old hotel.

The room we were given was great, with a balcony overlooking the Japanese garden next to the hotel and was very clean and tidy. Bed was comfortable.

The restaurant of the hotel was great, serving good seasonal food for lunch & dinner and a decent selection for breakfast. The comfortable bar was rather quiet during our stay and is served by a very knowledgeable bartender.

The staff were helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deinococc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Staff: helpful, friendly
Rooms: quiet small, (Some has balcony), clean, toilet small, each floor has different style.
WiFi: free (Medium speed)
Breakfast: multi choice (can't take it to room) earlier better to avoid loads.
Location (walking): 8mins from east station, 10 mins from supermarkets restaurants all around +2mins, to center is just 10mins.
Parking: free (careful bcz not that safety)
Notes: its worth staying, if you are driving, some GPS won't take you there, find (Hotel St Georges) its just opposite

I would love to stay again

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 4eva4ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here from 23 to 26 April 2014 and was really impressed upon arrival.....The only flaw about the Hotel is the lack of staff....So this is more of a self service kind of hotel where you need to go up and down all the way from your room even for the smallest thing.....Otherwise the rooms are excellent and the bathroom is also good enough.....I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.....
The hotel is centrally located but not really so close to the train station as I saw in other reviews on trip advisor...You really have to walk down from the station dragging your luggage all the way....
The best way is to take bus no 103 or 21 which piles every half an hour from interlaken Ost to drei Tannen the station located right outside interlaken hotel....

Room Tip: Business room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had travelled as a family of four ( 2 adults & 2 children) in the first week of April 2014.After arriving in Zurich, we travelled to Interlaken by rail. The hotel is within walking distance and with good weather the walk is quite enjoyable too. We were upgraded to a junior suite( which was a pleasant surprise) and were made very welcome on arrival. With an extended balcony and majestic view of the Alps in the background, we all just sat there for a good half hour enjoying the natural beauty.
The suite was very spacious with a sofa-cum-bed for the kids.With an equally spacious bathroom, pristine shiny faucets, a bath tub as well as a shower cubicle and hygiene of the highest standards, we couldnt have asked for more.The hotel also provided a kitchen and a office room ( with a desktop & printer) on the same floor in addition to the wifi service available in the rooms.

The breakfast spread was average with a bit of monotony setting in by the second day.The staff deserve a special mention as they were very friendly, polite and extremely helpful. I would especially like to thank Ronnie at front desk for all his suggestions and help.The hotel is within walking distance to the high street, but will need to take a bus if travelling to Interlaken west.

We moved on to Lucerne after a couple of days at Interlaken, but all of us were missing the accommodation at Hotel Interlaken.We would definitely stay here the next time time we visit Interlaken.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dude-AntD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ซานฟรานซิสโก, แคลิฟอร์เนีย
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The location is just 5mins from the train station and right on the walking street of Interlaken. It's nexted to a small but nice Japanese Garden. My room is quite big and comfortable with a nice view of church and Interlaken mountains.

The services are vary depended on the receptions. I found a very nice one and not helpful one.

A breakfast is just ok. A 4-Courses dinner is quite nice with variety of kids menu.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my family for 6 days. The rooms were spacious and fully equipped with modern amenities. I got a front side room with a balcony. I tried their restaurant and it's served limited dishes but with perfection by a professional chef. The overall staff of the property was curtious which eventually made me feel as I am at home it self. The drawback is the wifi internet system which got disconnected every few mins and had to log in again and again. Interlaken is an awesome place to chill out and roam around. I would visit this place soon. The staff is available round the clock and ready to help all the time and I noticed they never say no to anything and this place will give you a really positive feel. The breakfast spread is good and perfect according to the the customers demand and hotels pocket :)

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChefSaheb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#11 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#9 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interlaken

Property: Hotel Interlaken
Address: Hoeheweg 74, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Interlaken 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 14th century, Hotel Interlaken offers a unique mix of old and new, and has been carefully renovated over the past few years. "Pure Swissness" combined with modern facilities makes this hotel a one-of-a-kind experience. Here the focus is on genuine hospitality, a family-friendly atmosphere and Swiss cosiness. The Beutler family and team are looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing