We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceiving pics. Tiny Rooms. Nice Staff. Close to Station”
Review of Hotel Loetschberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Loetschberg
Ranked #11 of 45 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 August 2013

If you are just staying for one night and don't have claustrophobia, you could possibly fit yourself into this ancient chalet's very tiny rooms with very small windows and no ac. Maybe we were unlucky to get a room with a sloping roof and tinier windows than any pics show. Overall don't expect what you see in the hotel's professional pics. Staff was very nice, wanted to offer a different room but none were available. Everyone went to sleep by 10pm and then you are on your own. It is very close to Interlaken West Station, but you have to go to Interlaken OST to take any connecting trains.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MABvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

When you want to cover a lot during a short stay, you need the convenience of a hotel close to the station. This was barley 2 blocks from the station, a convenient short walk. Though the rooms were small and the bathroom even smaller, the place was neat and quiet. Included was a fairly good breakfast. There was even a common room with a microwave, where you could warm up some food if necessary. The price seemed high for a small establishment, but I guess the convenience made up for the expense.

Room Tip: I would ask for room on the lower floor if stairs are a problem in the Annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee4447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

How lovely having a quiet place to stay in a busy tourist city. And the free washer/ dryer was a real bonus (ironing board too). My travel plans changed and they were happy to modify my reservation. I checked in a day later than I'd planned and there was no charge (I booked directly). In the breakfast room you can see a webcam of nearby mountain towns which will help you plan your day (when I was there is was cold and raining in the mountain towns and too cloudy see views). I do agree with Rich Steves, however, that you may not want to spend much time in this overly touristy town of shops.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Lotschberg while on a 15 day Swiss Rail Pass. Interlaken is a very busy and touristy place, but this Hotel is well located; only 5 minutes flat walk from Interlaken West Railway Station and the Town Centre, but in a quiet residential street. The building has a traditional feel, but the interior is comfortable, with the rooms well appointed. Breakfast is typical of most European Hotels, but offers good choice - even products from local farmers up in the mountains. The staff are very helpful, especially Bennita (I hope I got that right), who is full of enthusiasm for Interlaken and the surroundings. We would recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DjI1157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed here in July 2013 for three nights. We used Interlaken as our homebase as we traveled around to the other little towns each day. Susi and her staff are very accommodating, friendly, and tell some great stories (loved the one about the Ibix chasing you down the mountain in flip-flops!). The rooms are great, the breakfast is hearty, and the location is perfect (near the West train station and away from the noisy touristy side of town 5 minutes away on foot). They also gave us traveler cards which allowed us to jump on and off the bus. This was handy when we arrived at the East Station from the mountain towns and caught the bus back to the West side of town. Groceries and food are also a few blocks away. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Perfect for couples and families. No pool but we didn't go all the way to Switzerland to play i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights in what was described as " a small double room in the annexe ( no elevator) without TV".
There was only one flight of stairs so that was no trouble and we walked into a clean, bright, welcoming room. Small yes but room to put our luggage and because there were doors opening out to a small " sunroom" with views of the Swiss Alps and a lounge, table and chairs the room seemed quite spacious. There was a TV and there was also free WiFi. There was a washing machine and a drier available for free -- 1,50 euro if you need washing powder blocks.
There was a shared area where we could make a cup of tea or coffee --- everything provided -- use the microwave and relax.
Breakfast was great and every member of the staff was friendly, helpful and extremely welcoming.
On our last day we needed to catch a train very soon after the breakfast stating time so we were given vouchers to get a free breakfast at another place that opened earlier.
The hotel was only a short walk from the Interlaken West railway station and was very conveniently situated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We used Interlaken and Hotel Lotschberg as a jumping off point into the Alps. The family room was perfect for our family of 4. The breakfast was excellent. Best of all for us was how accommodating the staff was. We arrived on a very late train into Interlaken and walked the short walk to the hotel, arriving after midnight. The staff had a key waiting for us and the room was ready to crash into, allowing 4 weary travelers to get straight to bed. We "checked in" the next morning after breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
722 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#5 of 8 in Unterseen
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Post Hardermannli
Hotel Post Hardermannli
#6 of 8 in Unterseen
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunny Days Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Lindner Grand Hotel Beau Rivage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Loetschberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Loetschberg

Address: General Guisanstrasse 31, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range: £126 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Loetschberg 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small Hotel Lotschberg enjoys a central but very quiet location, only a 3-minute walk from the Interlaken West Train Station. The hotel was built in 1906 in the art nouveau style and is still run the the owner family. The hotel rooms have been renovated in 2011, since summer 2014 we offer an outdoor seating area. All hotel rooms have private bathroom with shower/WC or bath/WC and a hairdryer. All rooms with TV, Safety box and table Fan, in the hotel rooms breakfast is included in the room rate. The apartments and the economic double rooms are located in the Guesthouse next to the hotel main building. The apartments feature a new, fully equipped kitchenette and a bathroom including a hairdryer. Towels and linen are provided and towels are changed after every third night. In the economic double rooms, daily cleaning and breakfast are included in the price. Hotel Lotschberg offers free WiFi in all rooms, tea and coffee station in the hotel, free use of washing, drying and ironing facilities, free use of bicycles, and free use of the microwave and the fridge. Sunny terrasse with pergola, outdoor sitting area. Every room has an en-suite bathroom and a cable TV, all have a Hairdryer and Safety box. Alarm clocks can be ordered at the front desk, different types of pillows and duvets are available on request at the reception. All rooms are very quiet and have a view to the surrounding mountains.Kids can play on the school yard and football field across the road. Children's playgrounds are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Loetschberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lotschberg & Susi`s Bed And Breakfast
Hotel Lotschberg & Susi`s Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing