We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stayover in Interlaken”
Review of Hotel Loetschberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Loetschberg
Ranked #11 of 44 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 July 2008

Read about the hotel in trip advisor and in Rick Steves books. Fritz and Susanne Hutmacher and staff made our stay pleasant and memorable. You can do you laundry here and enjoy all the beauty of surrounding Lakes at Thun and travel to beautiful Gimmelwald, of course the Jungfrau and surrounding high alps mountain ranges. They have a tv in breakfast room with live pictures up on top of the mountains to help you see what the weather may be like before you begin your trip.

The Hutmachers put on a nice breakfast and give you advise about your travel plans. You can even book Fritz to take you hang gliding! When I travel to. interlaken again, I will definetly try to stay at Hotel Lotschberg

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ramonkmcbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2008

This hotel was recommended by Rick Steves 2008 book. We stayed in two quaint attic rooms with pretty fantastic views of the alps. This hotel is clean but poorly run. The owners, Fritz and Susi, are not as present as one may think. Fritz greets you at breakfast and is very pleasant. He seems to love people in general. Susi, on the other hand, seems stressed and overworked. She was not pleasant to deal with. When staying at a B & B far from home, it would be nice to feel very welcomed! We loved Interlaken, but this hotel needs to improve a bit. The owners need more involvement for this hotel to stay on top!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Siddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2008

I've read many of the reviews on this hotel, and I think I can see why some folks give it terrific scores, and others score it poorly-- it's all about expectations.

I've stayed here twice, in 2005 and in 2006, both times with my young son, both times in the summer.

We had a great time on both trips.

The Hotel Loetschberg is very close to Interlaken West train station, so it's conveniently located, and it is clean.

The facilities (rooms, bathrooms, common areas, internet room, etc.) are humble, but very clean and reasonable.

Fritz (who's more talkative than his wife, but she is also nice) and his family have taken care to post all the information you could ever need to make your trip a pleasant one. They know the train schedule inside and out, so if you want to go, say, to Wengen, Fritz will tell you what train you need to take from Interlaken West, and when your connection leaves from Interlaken East, and what your options are if you want to take a later train.

They listen to the weather, and will tell you at breakfast what they've heard, and make alternative suggestions if the weather is supposed to get bad later in the day.

They make honest, straightforward suggestions as to what to do, what you might enjoy, and are very, very knowledgeable about the area.

But, it's not a full-service hotel-- don't expect room service, and don't complain about old faucets or a "soft" bed-- this is a humble, modest property.

The best customer for them is an independent, adventurous traveler who's there to enjoy the Swiss scenery; not stay at the hotel.

The worst customer for them is one who's expecting a "full-service, five-star hotel".

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MikeWash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2008

This hotel seems to provoke strong opinions from both ends of the spectrum. Our family of 6 stayed here for several nights during July 06. We had a quad room and a double room. Hotel is nicely located in Interlaken (but not on the main drag, which is fine). Check-in was smooth. The rooms are very basic (not much decor, hard beds, decent sized rooms and bath). We did have a nice (side) view of the mountains. We had no trouble during our stay with the plumbing as another reported. As we were there on July 4, we did partake of the owner's annual 4th of July Swiss BBQ, which was very nice. We had no problem with breakfast (I've heard tale of the croissant guard). We did not attempt too much interaction with the staff and therefore had no issues. Switzerland is an expensive place to stay and I'd say this was reasonable given that we were able to book just 2 rooms for 6 people. I think because the owner (Fritz) does, from time to time, enjoy chatting/visiting with his guests (at breakfast) that some guests who book here assume there must be an outstanding committment to customer service. I don't believe that is necessarily the case. I'd recommend this place but go with an open mind and not overly high expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david9498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2008

Interlaken Switzerland is in one of the most breathtaking areas. Hiking in the mountains is wonderful. The city has quite wonderful restaurants. There is much to see. While staying in Interlaken, if you decide to stay at Hotel Lotschberg be prepared for mediocrity. In our small room, the bed was overly soft. The bath was extremely small with poor water pressure. Fritz, the owner, did offer a floor fan to help cool our room (we were there during the hottest June in years)., but the fan did not work until Fritz and I took it into the hallway to work on the wiring the next morning. European breakfast, which comes with the room, was fine. Probably the best part of the stay was meeting other guests. Fritz and Susie try hard, but they have issues with their property. The washer and dryer are slow and very expensive. Our clothes never dried. They just got hot. This non-smoking hotel (our reason for selecting the property) has great potential. But until I hear that they have updated, I'll stay elsewhere.
Dan
USA

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pnbman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2007

I stayed in the hotel Lotschberg in 2001 and loved it. Fritz and Suzie are very nice and helpful and you will not regret the stay. However, I stayed in Aug 2007 in Suzie's B&B -- behind the hotel. Not as good. Room was noisy and not as nice. I would highly recommend spending the extra buck and staying in the hotel. Good breakfast. Good location, right near train station and walking distance to most everything in Interlaken. (Also, Don't get caught up in the Kandahar free watch deal. You have to sit through a big pitch, then decide if you really want some cheesy looking watch for free because you have a coupon from the hotel.) Not worth your time. If you get a coupon when checking in, don't waste your time unless you want a nice, upgraded watch from the watch makers. Then, you can use the coupon to get money off.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bbbside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2007

We had just arrived early morning after an overnight flight to Zurich from Miami, then taken a 90 minute train to Interlaken, so needless to say we were bushed. The hotel staff greeted us with a smile and let us check in immediately even tho it was way before their usual check in time. The room was small but spotless so I can forgive the size. It is very conveniently located from the train station tho the hotel directions were a bit confusing with how to turn after passing the cafe. It said to cross the square which we did, straight across. This was in fact wrong, it should have been turn left and cross the square and look for the hotel sign. But a native Swiss slipped out of her office and came to give us assistance which we found charming. Breakfast was wonderful, delicous croissants and jams with several other choices. Fritz was super friendly and shared his knowledge of Swiss politics and economics, which was a challenge that early in the morning, ha! My only small complaint was the sheets were not that comfortable, kind of scratchy and bumpy but then I'm a stickler for good hotel high count thread quality sheets. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cheri8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
724 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#5 of 8 in Unterseen
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Post Hardermannli
Hotel Post Hardermannli
#6 of 8 in Unterseen
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunny Days Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Lindner Grand Hotel Beau Rivage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Loetschberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Loetschberg

Address: General Guisanstrasse 31, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range: £125 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Loetschberg 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small Hotel Lotschberg enjoys a central but very quiet location, only a 3-minute walk from the Interlaken West Train Station. The hotel was built in 1906 in the art nouveau style and is still run the the owner family. The hotel rooms have been renovated in 2011, since summer 2014 we offer an outdoor seating area. All hotel rooms have private bathroom with shower/WC or bath/WC and a hairdryer. All rooms with TV, Safety box and table Fan, in the hotel rooms breakfast is included in the room rate. The apartments and the economic double rooms are located in the Guesthouse next to the hotel main building. The apartments feature a new, fully equipped kitchenette and a bathroom including a hairdryer. Towels and linen are provided and towels are changed after every third night. In the economic double rooms, daily cleaning and breakfast are included in the price. Hotel Lotschberg offers free WiFi in all rooms, tea and coffee station in the hotel, free use of washing, drying and ironing facilities, free use of bicycles, and free use of the microwave and the fridge. Sunny terrasse with pergola, outdoor sitting area. Every room has an en-suite bathroom and a cable TV, all have a Hairdryer and Safety box. Alarm clocks can be ordered at the front desk, different types of pillows and duvets are available on request at the reception. All rooms are very quiet and have a view to the surrounding mountains.Kids can play on the school yard and football field across the road. Children's playgrounds are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Loetschberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lotschberg & Susi`s Bed And Breakfast
Hotel Lotschberg & Susi`s Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing