We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harder Minerva Hotel
Ranked #36 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not the best hotel ever”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

This is a wonderrful old building that you can imagine was the hub of nighlife in the 50s and 60s however, the look and feel of the place is still in that era and desperately needs a revamp of the rooms to bring it up to modern day standards. I found it a bit pricey but then the whole of Switzerland is stupidly expensive. Owner spoke fluent English and was very helpful, arranging 24 hour parking location (for a price).
Breakfast Ok in glorious old dining room that used to be a ballroom. Room clean but a bit shabby. Location excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannifercon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    25
    17
    9
    8
See reviews for
20
24
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Stayed at the Harder Minerva in June 2011 as a family. Had two adjoining rooms with adjoining balcony. The rooms were very clean, the food was good. All of the staff without exception were helpful and efficient and spoke excellent English. Hotel is in a good position for all amenities of Interlaken, but although close to the centre very quite area at night, so you are disturbed. Easy walk to railway and boat stations.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Poole_DorsetPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Stayed here for one night. Great location in the centre of Interlaken in a charming old building which must have been really lovely in its hey day. However, it was without doubt the worst night's sleep I have ever had - which is saying something as I've stayed in hostels and slept on buses! Our room was 301 and right next door to the lift which was so loud that you couldn't sleep and when it stopped at our floor it made the bed shake. I asked for a different room but was told they were full but that the manager may give a reduction on check out Needless to say when informed the manager said nothing and proceeded to charge the full rate - 170CHF, which was a rip off.

Also the rooms were extremely basic and dated - we even had a tiny black and white tv!!

I won't be staying here/recommending here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Interlaken hotels

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Stayed at Minerva, top floor single room for a week in June / July 2010. Nothing fancy. Bathroom ran out of supplies a couple of times during my stay. Breakfast left much to be desired, with no option to not purchase breakfast upon asking hotel owner in advance by email. Another review comment it was noisy with rain in the "attic", ok, well wear earplugs. Elevator doesn't go to very top floor, stair walk can be annoying especially later at night.

Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank JbCa25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2010

We first stayed at Harder Minerva in 2003 with our daughters aged 8 & 11 then. We had a family room and were made to feel really welcome.
We returned in 2010 with one teenage daughter who stayed in a cosy single room.
Staff are excellent, food is good and rooms are clean.
My only moan is the very small size of the bathrooms - but this didn't spoil our stay.
Great location just off the main street and walking distance everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyjenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

It was a wonderful weekend for my wife and myself during our stay in Hotel Harder Minerva in Interlaken, Switzerland. It is a comfortable 2-star family hotel in the centre of Interlaken, situated in a quiet location. It has an excellent french restaurant with excellent specialities and a comfortable lounge with an open fire place. The best part of the hotel was the room and beautiful views from the balcony of the room. It is very close to the Interlaken Tourism center. The breakfast was a typical French style and we had lot of Croissants.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsiruot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoschton, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

All rooms have bathroom, staff speaks english fluently. Rooms are small but extremely clean and comfortable. One block from main street so your close enough to walk but not to have noise from traffic and pedestrians. Food is wonderful. Relatively easy walk to train station. City is situated for many different day trips so you don't have to change hotels constantly. Value is great. Have stayed here for 20 years and can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 777blacksheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#24 of 40 in Interlaken
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#18 of 40 in Interlaken
206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Crystal Interlaken
Hotel Crystal Interlaken
#32 of 40 in Interlaken
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Interlaken Linda Guest House
Interlaken Linda Guest House
#19 of 23 in Interlaken
2 reviews
0.4 mi away
5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken
5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken
#18 of 46 in Interlaken
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minotel Toscana
Minotel Toscana
#16 of 46 in Interlaken
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harder Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harder Minerva Hotel

Property: Harder Minerva Hotel
Address: Harderstrasse 15, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harder Minerva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Harder Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing