We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very impressed”
Review of Hotel du Nord

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel du Nord
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Quite a walk (around 10-12 minutes plus) from the railway station particularly as we were carrying a lot of luggage.

Decent rooms but small-around 120-130 sq feet max. A little noisy overlooking the road

Very small washroom-the smallest i have seen in a lot of my travel

Breakfast spread is cold but not bad

A little impersonal and cold i though

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PavethraP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Nord
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

Nicely renovated hotel. They upgraded to a deluxe suite for us. The kids bedroom was adjacent. Excellent service, smiling staff especially Andy.
I was sick one day & the manager sweetly sent me breakfast in bed.
The location is great.
Breakfast is ok but the staff are soo gracious & always helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Amenities and service definitely not on par with their '4' star. Kinda feel like we got tricked into booking a 4 star hotel but in reality it just isn't. Stayed in 7 different hotels during our stay in Switzerland, this is the only hotel where we have to pay for wifi in the year 2013. And it doesn't even work. Gave up on trying to connect the wifi. Breakfast selection 3 star standard but service was okay. Boiler and tea available in the room, but we have to plug in the mini fridge on our own when we want to use it! And it's not even cold when it's plugged in! No minibar. Everything was in a vending machine at the lobby. How can this qualify for 4 star? We didn't get it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaraConners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is a very nice hotel in Interlaken. The staff, especially Diana who helped us out, are really great and very accommodating. It is located right in the middle of town, easy walking distance to restaurants and shopping. If you are a light sleeper, you may want to be aware that there is no AC in this hotel. Our room got pretty warm during the day. Fortunately, they had an oscillating fan in the room. By the time we got back in the afternoon from visiting the mountain sites our room was a little warm, even with the windows ajar. At night, we put the fan by the window to blow the cool breeze in. At 7 or 8 in the morning the town would come to life and we would close the windows. We got rid of the duvet and just used a sheet and it was OK. The breakfast was great with a wide variety. They have bikes for rent at the hotel. Free Wifi in the lobby. Overall, a very nice experience in Interlaken. BTW, if you are going to be in Switzerland taking the trains at all, make sure to buy the 1/2 off Swiss Pass for like 125 CH in 2013 at your first rail station. That means if you are going to spend 250 CHF or more, it makes sense. This gives you half off all train rides and most lifts. If you are planning on going to the top of the Jungfrau alone from Interlaken, it is almost 200 CHF for a return ticket. If you have a car, it's a little cheaper at Grindelwald Grun at about 177 CHF. But, if you have 4 like we did, the scenic drive to Grindelwald saved almost 100 CHF which was almost enough to pay for lunch at the top of the Jungrau. All the trains/lift are expensive in Switzerland! Come to think of it, everything is pretty expensive in Switzerland. But, the sights are unbelievable!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morgini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights in early July, wished we were staying for a month. It is a very very clean and friendly hotel, very central to everything and would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. Walking distance to railway station, bus service and shopping. The views of the mountains and surrounds are so so beautiful. Cannot express enough the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff from management to housekeeping. 20/10

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allymacklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Central location. Handy to shops and restaurants. Within flat walking distance to train station. Beautiful town - lovely gardens - picturesque snow capped mountain scenery. Backdrop of snow capped mountains was very inspiring. Could spend mor time here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

After a horrendous start in Geneva, what a wonderful pleasant experience provided by the wonderful staff of this hotel; a very short walk from Interlaken Ost, a bit non descriptive on the outside but pleasantly beautiful on the inside, providing spectacular views and a comfortable room. Diana Batista and her staff were so helpful with any queries, always spoke with a smile and courtesy, breakfast was lovely; this hotel and the staff get a 5 star rating from my wife and I

Room Tip: Highly recommended
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atiqur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#7 of 40 in Interlaken
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#14 of 40 in Interlaken
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#11 of 40 in Interlaken
388 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 40 in Interlaken
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Nord

Address: Hoeheweg 70, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland (Formerly Swiss Dreams Hotel du Nord)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range: £140 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Nord 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The history of the Hotel Du Nord goes back to the early 19th Century with the advent of tourism in the region. Until then, Interlaken, or the “Bodeli” as it was known (from the name of the flat plain between the two lakes, which was created by glacial sediment from the mountain rivers), had been mainly visited by religious pilgrims or commercial travellers, who would stop to rest their weary legs in one of the few local hostels after the arduous journey over the mountains. This changed once the first tourists started visiting the Jungfrau Region, lured by the works of well-known writers and descriptions the first alpine farming festivals. In 1814, the resourceful businessman and councillor Jakob Seiler recognised the potential of these new visitors and built the »Pension Seiler« at the eastern end of today’s Höhematte, on the historical foundations of the former convent. Ten years later, the hotel was renamed the »Pension du Casino« to cater to the health conscious crème de la crème ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel du Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing