We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rugenpark B&B
Ranked #6 of 45 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Rugenpark hotel is a fabulous option if you are looking for a clean, warm bed and breakfast. The owners are really helpful giving all the information about Interlaken and surroundings. Welcoming tea was a nice surprise also. Breakfast is very nice with a beautiful closed terrace looking towards backyard. Rooms are clean, comfortable and you really feel at home staying in Rugenpark.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvanD462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

I read about the good reviews so I was determined to stay there for the service, price and value even though they were fully booked and we had to change rooms. Ursula and Chris are the sweetest people we've met in Switzerland. They put us on the wait list and we ended up with a quad room that was spanking clean and comfortable. Even though it was on the top floor, Ursula helped us with our luggage (she is very strong!)

The breakfast was good enough for us. Bread, cereals, eggs, ham and cheese, coffee tea juices and fruits. We never left our table hungry. And Ursula takes the effort to talk to us at the breakfast table, finding out how she could help us with our itinerary for the day.

On our last day, we had to take an early train and Ursula prepared a generous takeaway breakfast for us to eat on the train. We felt so much like home away from home with their great hospitality!!!

Look no further, if it's available, book it or regret it!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My wife and one year old daughter stayed at the Rugenpark for three nights in August of 2013. The most impressive part of the hotel was the proprietors, Chris and Ursula, who make everyone feel welcomed despite the pressures of running a busy B&B. Upon arrival, Ursula provided several suggestions for hikes and offered me her personal child carrier for use on the hikes (I used it twice and it was far nicer than what I brought).

The B&B was located minutes from the Interlaken Ost (West) station, a large food market, and lots of other shopping (very convenient); the room was small and dated but clean and comfortable; and the complimentary breakfast was quite good. I hope to stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CML_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Rugenpark B&B, looking at the Jungfrau from our window! Ursula is an excellent host and she was very helpful w recommendations both for places to dine at as well as hikes in the area.
Rooms were clean and comfortable. Even the shared BR was OK. The floors were squeaky since it is an old house, but ear plugs were provided!!
Breakfast was delicious and it was great that we didn't have to spend additional money on that.
We loved that Ursula was able to print out our train/cable car tickets while we were having breakfast! It was so much easier this way.
It's a great place for the price you pay, but as some of the other reviewers mentioned, this is an old hotel, so don't expect the Hilton!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnikoBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Me and my husband spent 3days in interlaken and this was our first experience with a b&b, we are very happy with our decision.
It is run by a couple who manages each and every thing one can never feel dat they are away from home !!
Here we were provided with a kitchen where one can cook,awesome breakfast,free wifi, information about various activities done in interlaken infact each and everything one needs to know.
So over all we loved the place.
It's a thumbs up!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avantik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Kids and adults loved this place alike. Stayed there for two nights. One night we had room with shared bathroom and next night with own bathroom. Both were comfortable. As mentioned in all other reviews, Ursula was the best hostess we have ever met. Good guidance on places to visit, free jackets for the "top of Europe" visit, good breakfast and above all the dog for the kids to pet !!
We have plans to go back to Interlaken, and we are certainly going back to stay at Rugenpark.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate if you have to share a bathroom. They are clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chitra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

OK lets put this in perspective Switzerland is insanely expensive and accommodation costs are prohibitive.

The Rugenpark is this fantastic old hotel that well, is really hard to describe. In the 1920's she would have been a grand old lady and now she is a tired old lady with tiny rooms and low ceilings.

But like a grand old dame she is full of old world charm, character and spirit and is super clean (in fact I nearly went through a window because it was so clean and did not see it) and I loved her.

But if you are used to Ikea designed sterile rooms then go and spend the 400 euros a night because you just wont appreciate this grand old lady. We were paying 100 euros for a room and personal en suite which is super value

Ursula, Chris and family are fantastic hosts they are super efficient full of tour tips and practical advice and go out of their way to help. For example we were waiting to run our laundry through the washing machine and Ursula came along and said this wont do and promptly took it off us and run it through her own washing machine to help. This was without prompting whinging or even subtle hints. She just does things like this because she likes to help.

Location is great as the hotel is just across the road from the train station and within 400 meters of the main part of town.

The breakfast is served is this wonderful sun room overlooking a garden and is typical European mix of pastries, cheese and meats

Loved the place, loved the hosts and would recommend it without reservation.

Room Tip: A grand old lady with endless charm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auscoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
732 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,250 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#5 of 40 in Interlaken
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#12 of 40 in Interlaken
391 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#22 of 40 in Interlaken
224 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Berghof Wilderswil-Interlaken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rugenpark B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rugenpark B&B

Address: Rugenparkstrasse 19, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range: £229 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Rugenpark B&B 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and cozy low budget B&B accommodation in Interlaken. Our clean and comfortable non-smoking rooms have mountain views, cable TV, and come with a hearty Swiss breakfast buffet. Facilities include free internet, free wireless LAN, guest kitchen, guest laundry, booking center for excursions and adventure activities, English book exchange, and free parking. Friendliest service in the Alps! Only 4 minutes walking distance from Interlaken West Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rugenpark B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rugenpark Hotel / Bed And Breakfast Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing