We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better just for a night or two”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Leeds
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Better just for a night or two”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We were booked in here by a travel agents, as part of a 2 week tour, as a base for visiting the local mountains- Jungfraujoch, Kleine Scheidegg, Schiedigge Platte etc, doing some walking and biking. In this respect, the hotel was ideally located. However, we were staying 5 nights and the weather was in the 30s.
The rooms, while spacious and clean, with comfy beds, have no air con and for some unknown reason, no blinds or shutters, just lightweight curtains. This meant the room was never properly dark, and was very light early in the morning. It was also difficult to sleep due to the heat. The other problem is the nature of the hotel as it seems to be used as a transit hotel. People were arriving very late and leaving early, meaning we were woken around 1.30 and again at 5 as people came and left. It was not the hotel's fault that guests chose to talk at the top of their voices despite the unsocial hours. With hindsight, we would have asked for a quieter location in a quieter place.
Breakfast was fine, if basic, but the coffee and selection of breads were excellent, as was the breakfast service.
Wifi is free but restricted to the reception area. The receptionist was happy to lend us an adapter for our room to charge phones etc as ours didn't fit the type of socket.
The hotel seems a little tired- it could do with a bit of a make over - but as I said, as most guests seemed to be staying for a short time, they probably didn't notice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HBMLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    78
    39
    17
    9
See reviews for
38
79
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

The staff at the hotel were really friendly, and the hotel was great. The staff got us a map and even showed us the way.
The hotel was at a great location, about a 2 minute walk from the train station. Around the hotel was a convenience store, McDonalds and many many souvenir shops. The hotel was about a 10 minute walk from the Interlaken Ost station, were you can buy tickets to Jungfraujoch.
The hotel itself was quite small, and to be honest I was a bit hesitant to step in the old rickety elevator, and the rooms were quite small. The beds were also small but comfy, so it was quite nice. My room had a spectacular view, and was very brightly lit. The bathroom was small but clean, complete with a bathtub.
The breakfasts did not have a huge variety, but it was enough. The lobby had wifi, and so did the restaurant. There was a pizza restaurant on the bottom, but we did not bother to go.
I really like this hotel since there is a really clever key system, since you have to get an outside key and lock your room key, and change it if you go in or go out.
The only thing I do that I do not like about this hotel is that the rooms are a little too small for a long stay, but perfect for a small one. The lobby was also not smoke free, so it was okay. The breakfast maybe could have a bit more food, but is was fine since it was a small hotel. I would give this hotel a 7.5/10

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlieccw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I stayed in this hotel fo two days. The hotel is expensive for what I booked. It does not have internet in rooms. Rooms are very small with very very small bathrooms.

The only advantage is the hotel is near to station.

Breakfast was good as it served hot breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnilJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Interlaken hotels

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in Interlaken two other occasions both very pleasant. This year I visited the town in last min. And did not have a reservation.
As I walked in the manager greeted us and was very pleasant and helpful.
The issues came up after I agreed to stay. At check in I requested a four night stay, she agreed and came me the keys. I asked her for a copy of my agreement, she mentioned I did not need one( shame on me I was suspicious and did nit press for it at that time). She did not even give me the visitor card that entitles you to discounts and free local transportation. I got it on the second day. That is when I saw she had only booked us for three nights. I had asked why and she said they are booked for the following night and I would have to vacate. Very disappointing.
On a side note, the rooms do not have black out shades. in Europe during summer you need them if you plan to go to bed before 10pm.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliwein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Interlaken without a hotel booking. We tried the Hotel Kreutz first but could only get 1 night. This is the sister hotel. 3 star, we were on the top floor so it was quite. The bathrooms must have been renovated since the last review, as they were white tiled with a shower over the bath.
The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.
The staff were excellent and very helpful, and all that including wifi and breakfast for $110 Swiss francs per night!!!!
Only complaint - the towels smelt of smoke

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Expat Americans stayed here one night in the middle of the week. We arrived from Geneva a little after 7:00pm. Loved how easy it was to find and what a very, very short walk it was from train station. Location is right off main road from Interlaken West to Ost. One side of hotel is pedestrian/bike only area with some nice places to sit and eat. The hotel sits above ground level with a great pizzeria/Italian food place right under. Front desk was amazingly friendly and helpful. Our little dog was greeted as well. The WiFi in lobby is free and fast. Next to the lobby is their "guest room" with old fashioned saloon or parlor type feel. Internet and desk top there if needed. Microwave, tea kettle and flat screen TV set to see Jungfrau weather live. We enjoyed this room, rooms are basic but spotlessly clean. Bathroom very nice size, plenty of outlets in room, all Swiss of course. Comforter was great, we each had one as it was twin beds pushed together. I would suggest getting a higher up room which we had with inner courtyard as no noise. BUT...if I was there in the warmer summer weather an outer room would be best up high for breeze. Carpet on stairs badly in some places torn and stained but overall hotel well maintained. Breakfast was NOT good so that is why only the 4 stars. This is not a fancy place but I enjoyed the feel, location, and staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I stayed for six nights end of July 2012.
Clean and well run, with the staff friendly and helpful (much more friendly than some posher hotels I've stayed in in Schweiz). Facilities were reasonable - flat screen tv, reception area and lounge wifi and one free internet pc. No air con but rollo blinds help keep room cool during heatwave. Inclusive breakfast ample although not particularly imaginative. There is a good ground floor Italian restaurant. Central location in Interlaken West, which is the livelier of the 2 Interlakens, ten minutes from West station. Standard Guest Card gives free travel around town plus some discounts, and staff were helpful with the maps and leaflets.

They were very helpful when I managed to leave a valuble item behind, which they located and posted to me (at my expense).

No hesitation in staying again, or recomending.

Matt

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Supamatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#19 of 40 in Interlaken
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#13 of 40 in Interlaken
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#6 of 8 in Unterseen
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central Continental
Hotel Central Continental
#8 of 8 in Unterseen
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Weisses Kreuz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weisses Kreuz

Property: Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Address: Jungfraustrasse 2 | 3800 Interlaken, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Weisses Kreuz 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality at its best in the heart of Interlaken. The popular 3-star hotel in the heart of Interlaken, where Swiss tradition meets international flair. The Hotel Weisses Kreuz is located only a 3-minute walk from Interlaken West railway station, on the corner of the famous Hohenweg and the pedestrian zone Jungfraustrasse in Interlaken. It offers free internet access, a rich buffet breakfast and multilingual staff, which is very familiar with the region and will recommend the most fantastic trips in the Bernese Oberland. In our sister hotel Krebs in Interlaken (2 minutes walk) we serve you typical Swiss dishes or you can visit the Pizzeria Da Rafmi, one of the best Italian restaurants in Interlaken on the ground floor of our Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Weisses Kreuz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weisses Kreuz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing