We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of Hotel Bellevue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bellevue
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Reviewed 1 December 2008

Very minimal hotel. The room was small and had low-end furnishings and was a bit dated.
The room and bathroom were clean. The breakfast was very light, but okay, and the hotel staff spoke very good English.
The overall hotel reminded me of a hostel, yet it had hotel prices.
I would probably not recommend this hotel to future travelers.

Stayed: November 2008
Thank Chris072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bellevue
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2008

We booked Hotel Bellevue based on the reviews I read here. It was a great experience. Clean rooms, Lake View, Friendly staff, larger room (when comparing to our hotels in Paris, Luzern, Italy), free break fast, proximity to train/bus stations - well what more can you ask for.

We also got a free two day pass in the package for train/bus to travel within Interlaken area. You can also buy tickets for JungFraugh, schiltorn and other places in the hotel itself.

The staff spoke english fluently, found them very helpful and informative. Early in the morning, woman who serves breakfast does not speak english, but she was able to call her manager over the phone to help us out.

Hotel also provides free wifi internet and a break room to play Billiards. As it was cloudy/foggy, when we visited, we wanted to leave to luzern one day earlier. Hotel management spoke to Hotels.com, they did not charge any cancellation fees or show any faces !!. They also refunded our ticket we bought to visit JungFraugh.

This area is very close to several restaurants. In terms of improvement needs (minor ones)
- Elevator was quite shaky - felt like Disney's tower of terror
- Breakfast is very basic. Few more hot options in breakfast

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ularal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

This beautiful top 3 star hotel is located in the heart of Interlaken right on the river. It is a 5 minute walk from Interlaken West train station in the heart of the city. The spotless rooms had large bathrooms & great views. The staff spoke fluent English & were extremely helpful. I highly recommend it.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank yogagirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

It was fantasic, great location, friendly staff, gorgeous river views and you could hear the water gushing, lovely french style decor. Great value. Only problem was with a window not opening. Free internet in reception (very slow though) and there was a bar and a tv screen showing jungfrau for weather conditions

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank party_girl077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2008

Only a 5 min walk from Interlaken West, spacious clean rooms, modern bathroom (heated towel rails!), (small) balcony, kettle and hair dryer provided, good views (river and hills, mountains visible if not a cloudy day), friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, internet in the lobby, elevator, variety of eating joints 5 min walk away: what more could one ask for?
Only complaints: very creaky floorboards in the room, 10 francs/ night extra for a baby cot

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pukran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2008

I found this hotel on my GPS, it being one of the closest ones to Interlaken West train station. We did not have any difinitive plans to stay in Interlaken more that a night or two, but ended up staying a full week. The hotel and it's staff were excellent to my wife and I. It was quiet, clean, and had an ice machine. The included breakfast in the morning was also top notch. It was right on the river and so quiet you thought you were not near town, when it was actually just all around us. A great place to relax and take in the beautiful surroundings.
Jon and Julie

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Maggie093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2008

This hotel is very close to the Interlaken west station. (7-10 mins walk). From the station walk straight along platform 1 (in german platform is called Gleis) and you will come out of the station and then walk along the railway track for about 6 minutes (300 meters approx). When walking you'll see the railway tracks on your left. Then make the first left (you'll cross the railway track here). The hotel is the third building on the left. You can't miss it. When walking along the trck, you can see the Hotel sign on the top of the hotel building very clearly.

Right next to the Hotel there is a Indian grocery store. Its very convenient if you want to grab a quick snack or a calling card. The hotel front desk personnel talk english very well. The hotel has wooden floors and creaks when you walk - but no big deal. I went with my wife and 2 little kids (6 and 3 years old). We stayed in one room. 2 beds were provided and a play pen (they call it cot) was provided. But we returned the playpen since it was small. Two adults and 2 kids sleep on the 2 beds. It was not extremely comfortable but it was bearable. The rooms were clean, hot water provided, potable tap water, nice shower and ample towels provided.

The hotel has free Internet computer (only one) in its lobby. Also, there have umbrellas in the lobby that you can use and bring them back to the Hotel.

The Hotel Bellevue provides excellent "free" breakfast from 7 AM to 10 AM everyday. The coffee is fresh and awesome with hot milk. The breakfast is continental - Cereals, bread, egg, orange juice and a few other juices, pastries, croissant, et al. We loved the free breakfast. This breakfast saves probably 50-60 SF everyday for you if 4 people traveled.

There is a coin laundry (they call is washerie) that is only a few minutes (2 or 3 minutes walk) away from the hotel. We used it twice. 6 Swiss Francs for washing (26 minutes) and 1 SF for 10 minutes of drying. I had to put 6 or 7 SF for drying my clothes. But I had a lot of clothes. Soap is available in the laundry There is a old lady in the washerie that owns the laundry and she can talk only German. You can give your clothes to her and she will wash them for you for 12 SF. But you need to pick up before 6:30 PM. The laundry is open till 10 PM (very convenient).

Interlaken is a very safe place. We walked at 11 pm in the night to have dinner. All stores except the COOP grocery store close around 6 PM. Restaurants are open till 11 PM. There is a small fast food booth at the Interlaken West station right on the platform near the bus stand. This place has great Veggie burgers, waffles (chocolate topping) and french fries. Veggie burger is 5.5 SF, Waffle 5 SF and fries 5 SF. This is the cheapest place where you can have food. Its open till 10:45 PM. The owner is from Kosovo and a very nice lady.

The coop grocery store in on the main street in Interlaken. Take a nice walk from the Hotel (about 7 minutes) The street is called Hoheweg. This is the main street. You cannot miss this main street. Coop sells all basic groceries including cheap bottled water. We bought yogurt and water here for our kids. Also, they sell fruits.

Interlaken West to Interlaken Ost station commute: Trains run from west to the Ost (Ost means east) every 10-15 minutes. Its a 5 minute ride. All trains to Lauterbrunnen and the Jungfrau region depart from Interlaken Ost.

The train connections are awesome in Swiss. You'll never have any trouble. Trains to lucernce depart from Interlaken Ost.

Trains to Bern stop in Interlaken West.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bsriniva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
685 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
605 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#10 of 40 in Interlaken
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue

Address: Marktgasse 59, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range: £134 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bellevue 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ***hotel Bellevue is situated in the heart of Interlaken on a sunny and quiet place directly on the bank of river Aare and is only 5 minutes walking distance away from the train station Interlaken WEST. The hotel is the ideal starting point for business travelers and holiday guests: it is close to the city center yet well situated for excursions around Interlaken and to the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing