We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lakeside Lounging”
Review of Manor Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Interlaken
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manor Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Lakeside Lounging”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is an excellent campsite as we had the pleasure of experiencing this August when we spent a week camping here. Built on the edge of Lake Thun, the campsite is a mixture of permanent pitches, caravans and tents. There is a restaurant (italian, expensive, tasty), a well stocked shop with English papers and a fine selection of breads, a very helpful office which acts as a tourist information centre, and several lakeside areas to picnic and enjoy a swim. There are excellent bus services and even a ferry that will drop you in central Interlaken which are free if you are staying at Manor Farm.

The first night we arrived we pitched our tents, had a pizza from the on-site restaurant (£15), washed it down with a local beer (£5.50) and soaked in the MAGNIFICENT VIEWS of the hills and mountains, including the Eiger, that are stunning in which ever direction you care to gaze!! That evening we watched the sun going down whilst sat drinking a beer on the jetty and dangling our feet in the cool lake water, watching a firework display over Thun in the distance. We were pinching ourselves to see if we were dreaming, but no we weren't, this was close to perfection!!

Then it rained. And rained some more. Then it stormed and got cold. Then it rained again and got colder (we shivered in our thin jumpers). Then it just kept raining for a week! We never got to dip our feet in the lake again and the Eiger was hidden behind thick rain-clouds but at least we had that first night of heaven. But then it seems this is Switzerland and the fickle moods of the mountains. If it's nice it's really nice, if it's wet it's painful.

We visited Bern which was really nice; Thun which has a nice Castle; Lauterbrunnen which is amazing (and is good in the rain due to all the waterfalls) and Grindlewald which I imagine would have had great views if not for all the cloud and rain. Interlaken is a bit touristy but pleasantly inoffensive.

In summary, this is an excellent campsite in a perfect location with great amenities, but beware falling for the myth of the blue skied Switzerland of the postcards. It rains here in August. It rains a lot.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reversecooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    49
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
66
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

initially we booked maxi tent for 5 people via canvas holidays, when we got there the rep told us that the tents were flooded night before so they upgraded us to 2 bedroom comfort plus motor home, we had two double room, with 3 single and one double bed and extra sofa bed in living room. our own kitchen, gas cooker, out side barbecue , fridge freezer . we got free tourists pass to use on bus and boat in interlaken. The reps were brilliant and they helped us a lot. over all very good place to stay on budget. will definitely go back . intelaken center is approximately 5-7 min ride from the campsite.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tariq81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This camp site is in a perfect location just outside Interlaken. There is a regular bus and boat service from the site, and Manor Farm clients are eligible for a free pass for both. We used them a lot, and found them invaluable, especially as they also offer discounts on other attractions such as the mountain railway.
Interlaken is great to visit, with stunning scenery but is very expensive; we were pleased to have cooking facilities thanks to staying in a mobile home, rather than hotel.
The camp site is very large, one of the biggest we have stayed at. It was quiet, and the pitches were a good size. It has lakeside access to Lake Thun with a nice beach, albeit stony. The temperature was invigorating, and welcome, on a sunny day. I doubt that young children would enjoy it; the lack of a pool is the major disadvantage of the site. That said, the kids' clubs looked excellent! There is a restaurant, and shop on site but we did not use. The shop looked large and well-stocked but we picked up food in Interlaken.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week in June and fell in love with the place. Have absolutely no reservations about staying outside of central Interlaken. The chalet was spotless and so well equipped and only about 50 metres from Lake Thun. The views of the mountains around are beautiful, the air is so crisp and clean. Plenty of room for our 3 and 5 year olds to run around. Friendly staff (thanks Nicol) and better facilities than I had expected.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at Manor Farm in a large,modern, comfortable caravan. The site is spotlessly clean, as are the facilities, if you need them. We were self contained, toilet, shower etc in our 'van. The staff were excellent, always willing and helpful. WiFi available, free bus or boat ride into Interlaken which is fantastic as you don't have the nightmare of parking. Shop and restraunt on site. Could not be better. Is it any wonder we have booked for next year.

Room Tip: Go for the biggest caravan you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swissite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed in a pre erected eurocamp tent and we were very pleased with it and the location of the tents on the campsite,

We were very close to the immaculate toilet block with lovely hot water and spotless facilities. We sat having our breakfast with a backdrop of mountains, how stunning. We didn't really make use of any of the facilities on site apart from the shower block as we were out and about all day making the most of the stunning area and beautiful walks,

We found this a really relaxing beautiful site.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed here in a Eurocamp mobile home for 3 nights. When we arrived the people of the campsite where not particularly friendly. Luckily the Eurcamp staff was VERY friendly and helpful, also during the rest of our stay.

The mobile home itself was very, very clean. We also have different experiences in the past with mobile homes (on different campsites). The campsite itself was messy, lot of old caravans, grass needed to be mowed. The campsite shop was expensive, restaurant we did not use, but looked disappointing. The total campsite needed some maintenance and did for sure not live up to its 5 star rating.

All in all we enjoyed our time near Interlaken (stunning area), slept well and everything was clean. Nevertheless the campsite lacked atmosphere and is not comparable to the Italian Eurocamp sites. We will go back to this area, but to a hotel next time.

Room Tip: If you book with Eurocamp: take the newer mobile homes, much better than the 'classic' mobil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.0 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#30 of 40 in Interlaken
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#5 of 8 in Unterseen
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#21 of 40 in Interlaken
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Camping Lazy Rancho
Camping Lazy Rancho
#1 of 5 in Unterseen
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balmers Tent Village
Balmers Tent Village
#2 of 3 in Matten bei Interlaken
159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Farm

Property: Manor Farm
Address: Interlaken, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Also Known As:
Manor Farm Hotel Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing