We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Interlaken.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best in Interlaken.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A genuine 4 star hotel, Metropole Hotel offers great views of the Mountains and the Hoheweg, that is if you chose to stay in one of the rooms with the view. Shabby-looking on the outside, It is different once you enter the hotel. Perfectly located on the Hoheweg, almost equidistant from the Interlaken West and the Interlaken Ost station.
The executive rooms, located on the upper floors are big and have an amazing balcony with breathtaking views which is ideal for a cup of coffee.
Helpful and friendly staff, particularly the receptionist adds to the overall stay-quality.

Room Tip: Take one of the mountain view rooms located on the upper floors and your Interlaken experience will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SubhamDokania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    203
    78
    29
    14
See reviews for
119
185
29
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Probably not your typically Swiss looking Hotel from the outside, but splendid views from virtually every bedroom. This Hotel is genuine 4 star .The room we occupied was very well appointed and kept very clean. The restaurant had an extensive self-service breakfast buffet with staff on hand to ensure everyone was well catered for. The dinners were of a very high standard with a wide choice . The staff from managers through every level were polite and cheerful and everything seemed to run extremely smoothly at all times.I have visited Switzerland 20 or 30 times and this is by far the best 4 star Hotel I have stayed in. Have I been lucky, or is this a splendidly well run Hotel?

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor room126 all rooms face South towards the Jungfrau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metropoleinterlaken, Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Donald A

Thank you very much for your motivating feedback at tripadvisor and for chosing the Hotel Metrople for your stay in Interlaken.

From 1st of July on we are opening a new area for our hotel guests - a new fitness area, sauna and a lounge with free coffee & tea making facilities and a business corner. We are sure we then will provide an even better service quality for all our hotel guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel Metropole sometime.

Best regards,

Marco von Euw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a great location in the centre of Interlaken, but is unfortunately quite an ugly concrete tower block. However once inside you can't see it and the views on the mountains and the green field in front of the hotel are amazing, we were on the 5th floor with a balcony. We sat on the balcony watching paragliders land in the field and listening to the live piano music from the fancy hotel next door. The hotel itself feels a bit dated in decor and was very quiet public areas. The room was very clean. Price was high for what it is, but that is just Interlaken I think. Didn't pay for buffet breakfast as there is a small Co-op supermarket nearby with plenty of breakfast options to take away and fresh coffee and tea.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldroamer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

nice location.very good view from the room,especially from the higher floors.in both the seasons the view is amazing whether it is snow season or the summer.
the hotel staff is also polite and co-operative.
the breakfast is not a large spread but it is enough to fill you.the hotel is located in between both the railway staions of interlaken.it overlooks the alps and looks beautiful when white.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dharmishmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metropoleinterlaken, Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Dharmishm

Thank you very much for rating us on Tripadvisor.

We agree - once you are in one of our rooms, you will have the best view to the Jungfrau and the surrounding Swiss Alps due to the fact that the Metropole is the only high rise building in town. Comments as you gave us such as politness, friendliness and cooperative are a big motivation for all of us - thank you! What did you miss on our breakfast buffet? We like to improve ourselves that's why we do take those comments as serious as the good ones. You are most welcome to Report this directly with the hotel E-Mail.

We are looking forward to welcoming you with us again during your next stay in Interlaken.

Best regards,

Marco von Euw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Having enjoyed numerous winter breaks at the Metropole as a couple using tour operators we decided to return with our daughter, her husband and two grandsons aged 10 and 8. This time we booked independently discussing our requirements with the hotel. From time of booking to the end of our holiday was great. The staff were so friendly, helpful and efficient. As in previous years rooms were, as expected from this quality hotel, warm, clean and comfortable. Large groups are catered for separately so we still found it quiet. Service and food in the dining room has always been excellent but on this occasion even more so as the staff went out of their way to suit the children' requests. Outdoor activities filled the days so no children's activities would be necessary!

Room Tip: The higher floor superior rooms afford beautiful views of the Jungfrau (weather permitting!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metropoleinterlaken, Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Howard G

Thank you very much for your feedback!

Well, such comments are always a big motivation for all of us. By the way: We are currently rebuilding our "Terrazzo". We will open a completely new area for our hotel guests mid June 2014 at the second floor - a new fitness center with sauna. Furthermore your will find a lounge area with free coffee and tea, snacks and a business center. We all are looking forward to this new area and the new service we are then able to offer to our guests.

Best regards and thank you again for your feedback,

Marco von Euw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SG
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Hotel is clean and the view we had from the balcony of our room is beautiful. Hotel is within walking distance from Interlaken West Train Station and is facing an open park. If i remember correctly, the hotel is the only tall building around the area.

Rooms did not have a kettle for boiling hot water you can however request it from the counter at the reception. Wifi was not free and is chargeable and connects up to five networked devices.

For those into watches, Omega and Bucherer are just some of the shops selling watches nearby.

Overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6revenent6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were attending a conference with a large group of people booked in the Metropole by our company. On check-in we were reminded that the company is paying for three days and if we stay an additional day, it would be billed to us at a rate of 220SF. Unfortunately they billed us 338SF ($400) for 1 additional night. I explained to the manager that there had been a misunderstanding and we were quoted 220SF. The manager thought this was funny and flatly refused to be of any help and explained to us that our credit card had already been charged. I told her I was unhappy and that I would share my experience on trip advisor. She said, "You are free to do that". About a dozen other people in our group had a similar experience.

According to a document in our room, floor 10-14 of the hotel was last renovated in 2001. Our room looked as if it had seen 13 years of hard use. The wallcoverings were dirty the carpet was worn and the bathroom fixtures looked old and tired.

The view from the room and the location is very nice. It is right next to the beautiful Victoria Jungfrau Hotel. The Hotel Metropol looks like a Soviet era housing block. It is a plain concrete box. I don't understand how they could have allowed such a horrible building to be built next to such a beautiful classic hotel.

The pool and the gym were closed. The wifi did not work. The breakfast was not good. The bartender in the lobby was very nice.

Room Tip: There are many other nice hotels in the area. Avoid the Metropol!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
590 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#7 of 40 in Interlaken
373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
2,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#10 of 40 in Interlaken
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel Interlaken

Property: Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Address: Hoeheweg 37, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel Interlaken 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metropole is located in the Bernese Oberland, surrounded by beautiful mountain landscape. It is towering majestically above the rooftops of Interlaken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Metropole Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Interlaken Metropole Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing