We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel full of charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Interlaken
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This was our favourite hotel of our three week tour of Switzerland and France. Very old fashioned with all the original features and very clean. We loved the breakfast dining room very art nouveau.
We were on the top floor with a large room with a patio that had fantastic views of the Jungfrau mountain.
The staff were brilliant and recommended the local brewery restaurant just down the street and the food there was the best we had on holiday. Will definetly go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynAt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

We have a 3 days 2 nights stay in Wald. As a matter of fact, we are at our second night here. We started off with a super long walk (our mistake). We landed at wrong train station and took a super long walk from Interlaken Ost. (Wrong info by Tourist Info counter)

Tips: Stop at Interlaken West train station and take bus number 104 to Heimwehfluh. Its the closest bus stop. Then walk up along the woods around 5 - 10 minutes and you will see the hotel. Ask people nearby the bus stop before you start walking.

Hotel provide a tourist card that gives you free bus access for your period of stay (upon arrival) Margot, Rene and their son are great hosts. They willingly answer all our concerns and queries. Our room's heater was not working and Margot quickly change us to another room (middle of the night)

Rene made sure we familliarize ourselves with the roads around and they make us feel at home. Free wifi with good speed even when we are in the room. We got our room on top floor with a view of the mountains. Great for our candle light dinner. Basic amenities provided.

Rooms, floor and bathroom can be a little old (part of whats making it homey) but not disturbing at all.

Be sure to return hotel before dark or you will have to walk im the dark pass the woods (mentioned by someone before). It was only when we experienced it on our own that we understood the feeling.

Breakfast (breads, cereal, tea, coffee, milk, juice, salami, yogurt) are provided from 7.30am onwards. We requested for extra pillow and it was quickly responded. We were greeted before we stepped in the hotel and Rene knew who we are before we mentioned (Probably the only other Asian guest)

Overall a great experience and would recommend to others to stay. There are many other hotels around, find out wgat you want to do first. We like being away from the busy city and experience some peace quiet and calm environment. The service we received was a bonus. :)

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angeline84ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

This was the third time I have taken a group og Girl Guides from the UK to this hotel. It us an excellent location for such a trip and provides an economical base where the adults can also have a holiday as all the cooking is done for you! (Rather than staying in a self-catering chalet.) Rene and his wife are both excellent hosts. They will help and advise on any arrrangelents and even provide some entertainment - on our last evening Rene played his accordian for us while we sang and danced!
Next year (2011) we are going again - but this time it is "adults only" so that we can have our first stay with no girls to look after! We can't wait!!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brown_Owl_Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

I just returned from Switzerland, my last hotel was Waldhotel. very friendly, very cheap comparing to other hotels. Only problem is the highway next door (passes below the hotel )and the floors in the rooms. They are wood and crack all the time when you walk. If you are not on the top floor, you will hear the people above you.

If you are a big person you will have trouble with the bathrooms....very very small

Breakfast was simple, as in most hotels with 3 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank radbakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

This is a very friendly hotel. It is very clean and well run. Staff are knowledgeable, helpful and very personable. The rates are very reasonable. The hotel is in a great location, halfway between Interlaken and Wilderswil, giving easy access to the rail network for trips to the many and varied places that this beautiful area has to offer.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6thearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

No frills, reasonably priced, effectiveley two hotels in one - Chalet section ideal for groups (we were a group of 17 youths and 8 Adults)
Main Hotel (unsure of details as not used by us)

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinkcae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2008

Indeed, it's far from everywhere. If you don't have a car, don't even think of reserving there, or you will face a 30-45 minutes walk through a road that is not suitable for walking around.

If you get there, you will find a shabby room with non-refurbished furniture (at least at the "chalet"). The floor needed a wash, or maybe a change. I prefer not to remember the toilette...

We had a reservation for two nights, but when we got to the reception we were told that the reservation system from their web page doesn't work, so we had no reservation. In spite of that, the girl at the reception was very kind and she gave us one room, and she didn't charge us what we already paid for the reservation (the system does not reserve you a room, but I can assure that you pay it!).

We have been in a lot of youth hostels around Europe, but this is the worst, specially if you consider the price. When we got into the room, we decided not to stay the second night, and fortunately they put us no problem, and the next day we went to beautiful Luzern!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank korrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schnadi, Owner at Waldhotel Unspunnen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Dear guest
The next bus-stop is 8 minutes on foot from our hotel. You can use the bus for free to the railway-station with the local guestcard (inlcuded in local tax). We can offer guests with a car free parking in front of the hotel. Actually, we have lots of guests from all over the world which book on all kind of online-bookingplatforms.
Yours sincerely,
WALDHOTEL UNSPUNNEN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,247 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#17 of 39 in Interlaken
193 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#5 of 7 in Unterseen
183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#5 of 7 in Wilderswil
266 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 39 in Interlaken
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldhotel Unspunnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldhotel Unspunnen

Address: Wagnerenstrasse 15 | Gps: Citycode 3800, City Matten, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range: £59 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Waldhotel Unspunnen 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy Waldhotel Unspunnen is situated in wooded surroundings, only 1.5 Km from the Interlaken-West railway station. It offers a fantastic view to the mountains. It is an ideal base for excursions to the famous Jungfrau region, such as Jungfraujoch or Schilthorn or the Schynige-Platte mountain. The hotel offers free parking for cars inf front of the hotel as well as free wireless-LAN in the whole building. The owner has good knowledge about the area and is able to give you the best holiday advice. Enjoy tasty Swiss food in the Schnadis restaurant or on the sunny terrace offering magnificent view to the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau range.The hotel with a local host and personal holiday advice is reached within 15-20 minutes on foot or 3 minutes by taxi. It takes 8 minutes on foot to the next bus station called ,,Heimwehfluh" (Bus #104). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waldhotel Unspunnen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing