We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hostel not very busy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Funny Farm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Funny Farm Hotel
Breda, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent hostel not very busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

I will make this review a bit of a comparison between Balmer's Herberge and the Funny Farm since those are two of the bigger ones in Matten and I stayed with both.
After spending two nights at Balmer's Herberge I decided to extend my stay in Interlaken but to move to another hostel. The Funny Farm is just a little bit down the street from Balmer's where the atmosphere is simply unbeatable. I stayed at the Funny Farm because of the free parking (while staying at Balmer's I had to park my car by the tent village which is not really closeby).
The rooms are bigger and better than at Balmer's because they have a toilet and shower in the room so you only share it with 8 people max. Balcony is not big enough to actually sit on but the window offers a great view over the mountains in the background, mainly because there are no other buildings closeby to block this views, since there is a big lawn outside.
The pool is kinda cool with a crazy stunt waterslide and a small bar. No bringing your own food though, which is a shame. Over at Balmer's it was no problem to bring your own food or drinks into their Biergarten.
I would advise people to not use Alpin Raft as the organizer for trips like canyoning. Rather go with Outdoor Interlaken instead. They both do the same canyons but their crew is so much more friendly and outgoing.
Weird thing here: I only had Asian roommates while staying at the Funny Farm where I never had a single Asian roommate at Balmer's. There it was mostly Australian, USA and Canadian people.
Don't go here to meet a lot of people. If you want a decent room with good facilities and free parking then this is the place to be. Don't expect much of a young, happy staff here though.
No fresh bedding and no cleaning of the room or bathroom for 4 days though :(
Busstop is very closeby. I still had a free bus pass from Balmer's (strangely every hostel and hotel is supposed to hand those out to guests but they never gave me one at the Funny Farm).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    40
    18
    11
    18
See reviews for
16
18
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Great for young backpackers. The pool with a homemade slide looked fun. Great lobby area with bar and free wifi. Can book adventure trips right at hotel and meeting place in same yard. Restaurant in hotel looked fine. Breakfast not worth the 10 Franks (have to pay if in hostel). Rooms very basic. We had a private room and at least there was a bathroom and deck with a beautiful room. There was even a tv with 2 channels. Since our expectations were low, it worked fine as we knew it was cheap. Would stay here again if we needed a cheap break but would probably go to a little higher class hotel. Free bus pass given on check in to get around the town. Also close to some restuarants and about a 20 minute walk if the buses were done for the night from Interlaken West.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Very fun place to stay- however if you are looking for a quiet place- this is not it. Beautiful views out our window. Internet worked perfectly! Bar served a good selection of drinks and had a decent crowd there.
Run down building, but it was cheap and they didnt charge for a third person to stay with us.
It was great service, helpful, friendly, close walk to most things ( 10 mins) and good basic breakfast selection. I would recommend if you are fine with nothing fancy.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstie-lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Room is good. Balcony is very spacious and opens out to a view of snow capped mountains and green meadows. Prefer the room with balconies facing this side. All the facilities are fine. But for free wifi you have to go to the reception. From here going to Interlaken east or west is no issue as the bus stop is close by. But have look at the timing. If you prefer you may walk it out - just about 1.5 km. However, the cots were creaking and making noises when you turn in your sleep. But convenient place at affordable price of CHF 115.5 for a double occupation per night.

Room Tip: Balcony facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gopalakrishnan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I highly recommend staying here for those looking to stay at a nice hostel. The place has a knack for attracting interesting people. The food was very good and the staff are highly knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jddavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

This is a good option for low budget travelers. We stayed only for a night. It is, as the name says, a hostel. If you are one of those persons who do not want to spend too much for a good one night sleep and get ready and move on in the morning for your trip - this is one of those good options for you. You get a good bed to sleep, you can take bath, get ready in the morning and make a move - no luxury.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarang333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

I am college student backpacking through Europe and just needed somewhere to stay for the weekend. This was the place. Very nice. Rooms were clean, had our own bathroom. Couldnt say anything bad about it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank standish91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#13 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
#1 of 23 in Interlaken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balmer's Hostel
Balmer's Hostel
#1 of 3 in Matten bei Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funny Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funny Farm Hotel

Property: Funny Farm Hotel
Address: Hauptstrasse 36, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Funny Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing