We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Value for Money”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Derby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Derby
Ranked #8 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No Value for Money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Clean and neat place, breakfast is also good, however the cleaning staff is outsourced and enter the room without knocking.
If travelling with luggage please insist on rooms on Ground Floor OR else please be prepared to carry them to hiher floors via stairs. No Elevator or Porter for helping with the same.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Vikram1861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    63
    18
    2
    9
See reviews for
49
54
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

George was waiting for us upon check-in, he gave us a great introduction to the area, maps, how to purchase some tickets or book activities. Our room was cute and quiet, modern remodel over looking there gorgeous garden. He must have noticed on my husbands passport that his birthday was the next day and when we went down for breakfast the next morning he immediately came out and wished him a happy birthday and served us both champagne which we thought was so sweet. The breakfast was fantastic, yogurts, meats and lots of cheeses, all kinds of breads, jams, nutella, it was very fulfilling. My parents friends met us at the hotel the next morning and he served them coffee while they waited us to finish our breakfast, they then stayed that night in one of the rooms that backed onto the garden on the ground floor which was a nice very nice room. I would highly recommend this hotel, it was very central, an easy walk to either train station east or west, not sure which one it was closer too as we used both. A very short walk to the city centre as well.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage you may want to request one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

I had a single room which was so small you could only lie on the bed if you wanted to watch TV - no space for a chair! It was nice to have a kettle and tea/coffee making facilities. The breakfasts were totally adequate. Interlaken is not a large city - the hotel is within walking distance of most places on a quiet street.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toronto-beeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

First time in Switzerland, just the right place to stay, after a long take trekking in the mountains it is just by the station off the train and into bed!! Lovely food, spotlessly clean, super staff loved it......

Room Tip: Back rooms views of the Eiger....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

The facts:
- hotel is nearer to Interlaken West and not East. And even so it's approx a 10mins walk from IW bahnhof.

What's great:
- We had a family room and it was clean and quite spacious, and had amenities we didn't expect in a "Swiss budget hotel" like capsule coffee machine, a safe, and hair dryer.
- breakfast was included and it's a great breakfast. Typical continental but we really appreciated the fresh fruits after days of the cocktail variety.
- George the owner is gracious and friendly, and was accommodating towards our rather late check-in. It's more of a B&B than a hotel w 24hr reception so we felt bad arriving at 11pm!
- very convenient to be able to purchase jungfrau passes at the reception instead of Interlaken East. They screen the jungfrau region live cams on the TVs in-room and at breakfast so you can decide on-the-spot the day's plans.
- the bar of chocolate that came with our receipt was a nice touch :) Swiss chocs - never enough!

It's a wonderful property really and if I'm not travelling with too much luggage I would stay again. Oh do check out the cute little garden!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyklades19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

This hotel is literally 5 mins drive and 10 mins walk from the main town. The town is small and hotel is one street away. The person at reception was extremely helpful and even offered us a double room with no extra charge. The bed was a bit uncomfortable since it was two beds jammed together and it moved apart at night. The shower was a bit small , as well as the entire bathroom. All other basic amenities was provided, the wi- fi was free and worked very well. Besides this, the view of the mountain was spectacular. Due to our schedule, we skipped breakfast, which was included in the rate. The hotel kep our bags in storage even after we checked out and stored it free of charge. I would recommend this hotel for a stay in Interlaken and visit to Jungfrau since it was very convenient to take the bus and then train up the mountain. The friendly staff made it all worth it for a stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Fisrttimetoparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyboss, Inhaber at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Fisrttimetoparis it whas also your first time to Interlaken :-)
Thanks for your visit and the time to write a great review.
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay in general and would love to see you come back
Best regards from the Derby Hotel
George.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Fantastic location every detail about this hotel is looked after by the owner who is
A terrific business man. We appreciated the whole experience!
Clean and bright rooms. Wonderful breakfast a very European experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#11 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#23 of 40 in Interlaken
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby

Property: Hotel Derby
Address: Jungfraustrasse 70, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Derby Announces its Grand Re-opening. We have spent months renovating our establishment to meet our customers changing travel needs. We are excited for you to see the results of our hard work and the "little oasis" at the top of Europe we have created for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing