We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but...”
Review of Hotel Derby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Derby
Ranked #9 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Pros :
1. Good location
2. Spacious rooms
3. Room has everything one needs - locker, coffee machine, TV ,etc.
4. Comfortable bed

Cons :
1. Clean hotel but found few hair strands in the bathroom
2. 10+ mins of walk from Interlaken West station (This was not a big problem for us)
3. No elevator. Only stairs.
4. Someone wrote a review saying they were given breakfast before the usual breakfast time since they had to catch a train. Reading this review, I spoke to the owner and told her that we would need to check-out a little earlier than 7 am and asked her if it is possible to grab some breakfast. She said "Since the breakfast is complimentary, it will start only at 7 am ".

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProudBhartiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

We spent one night here and it was wonderful! Check in was easy, the owner(?) checked us in and gave us suggestions for day drives. The hotel was immaculate and breakfast was more than sufficient. Overall, a great option for expensive! Interlaken! Highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TravelforfunSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyboss, Inhaber at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your Report. Happy customer make us happy to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I think I actually used TripAdvisor to research about Hotel Derby, so thanks everyone! We really enjoyed our stay there. We stayed for two nights, Christmas Day 25 and the 26th. Our room was cozy and looked out into the garden/quad behind the hotel. The breakfast each morning was wonderful! Actually, our last morning, we had to catch the train before breakfast started, but they gave us some croissants to go, thanks so much! My birthday is on Christmas Day, so I was very pleased to be in a place we really enjoyed and we woke up on the 26th with a blanket of snow, so perfect! The location was perfect for getting to the train station, just a quick walk. We enjoyed our time in Interlaken so much. Thanks Hotel Derby!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VEE1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I went to stay in the hotel for 2 days with my husband in the month of
July 2013. The hotel is just few minutes walk from station. The hotel was was very clean and cosy. Service was very efficient. This hotel comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bihongee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

i was hoping the hotel would be closer to the train station but it's quite a walk, slightly over 10min, from interlaken west (and much further from interlaken ost). the hotel is quite prominent as it's all red. you feel quite safe because the door is locked and needs to be accessed with hotel card. we arrived early and were given our rooms. there is no lift so pray that you get a room on the lower floor. the hotel is clean and is run by whom i assume are a husband and wife couple, very nice and helpful people who explain interlaken, its attractions to you patiently. all guests have a free pass for the buses in interlaken so that's very helpful! the hotel is near a few bus stops so that's more helpful than the trains. the room was clean and decent. nothing spectecular inside the room but it's good value for money. the two rooms we got both had mountain view so that was nice! breakfast is all right. nothing to complain about. something strange is that they do not allow food in rooms. you'll be fined if you cook instant noodles in the room. oh, they provide a coffee machine that uses capsules (similar to nespresso). overall, not bad for the price we paid.

Room Tip: no lift so try to get a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaron0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Derby for 2 nights in October 2013 and had a great stay! We had been recommended this hotel by a family member and we were not disappointed. Our train was getting in at 11pm and the hotel reception area was going to be closed by then so they were very accommodating and left our key for us outside. When we walked into our room we had mini Toblerone's on our bed - what a nice surprise! The room was very clean and modern. Great breakfast in the morning. George was very helpful with getting us set up with free bus passes, our tour up to the Jungfrau, and more. He was extremely helpful with what to do in the area and the best places to go. It is located closest to the Interlaken West train station, but it is an easy walk to the Ost train station as well. Perfect area off the main street so it was very quite and had a get view of the Alps. We were very impressed with this hotel and will definitely stay here again on our next visit and would recommend it to anyone. This was one of the best hotels we stayed in on our 3 weeks trip to Europe! Thanks Hotel Derby!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarhogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

very clean and nice hotel. Very good staff. The rooms may be a bit small but felt very comfortable.
good value for money for sure. Very near to the station.Had a nice view from window. The hotel give free buss pass to travel within Interlaken.

Room Tip: have a look in the room before taking it , some room might have nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb1983_ghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
704 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 39 in Interlaken
620 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#11 of 39 in Interlaken
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#17 of 39 in Interlaken
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#14 of 39 in Interlaken
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby

Address: Jungfraustrasse 70, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range: £83 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Derby Announces its Grand Re-opening. We have spent months renovating our establishment to meet our customers changing travel needs. We are excited for you to see the results of our hard work and the "little oasis" at the top of Europe we have created for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing