We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient and Friendly”
Review of Hotel Derby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Derby
Ranked #7 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed here in a family group, for 2 nights. Service was efficient, friendly and helpful regarding local attractions, maps, repairing both my bedside lights. Breakfasts were generous and varied; coffee excellent, though machine in room would be better replaced by a kettle, and it's odd to have 15+ sugar sachets... but only 1 capsule!! Room was clean and comfortable (once lights were fixed... why don't hotels check these things?!). Parking is a little bizarre and resulted in some damage to our hire car, even though it was parked properly - not the management's fault but it's a pity the empty space opposite can't be used.

Room Tip: All seemed to suffer from late night revellers if you have windows open... there may be quieter ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at hotel Derby from may 17-19, 2014.
The location is good, rooms are clean and the couple managing the hotel are simple, courteous and friendly. The breakfast was simple and there were no surprises with respect to facilities or charges.
The owners guided us very well on the trains/buses to take for Jungfrau ,Schilthorn and other places.
Overall - very pleasant stay.
For the sake of finding faults, we found the beds small.
nevertheless, the place is highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmbikaKhurana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Pros :
1. Good location
2. Spacious rooms
3. Room has everything one needs - locker, coffee machine, TV ,etc.
4. Comfortable bed

Cons :
1. Clean hotel but found few hair strands in the bathroom
2. 10+ mins of walk from Interlaken West station (This was not a big problem for us)
3. No elevator. Only stairs.
4. Someone wrote a review saying they were given breakfast before the usual breakfast time since they had to catch a train. Reading this review, I spoke to the owner and told her that we would need to check-out a little earlier than 7 am and asked her if it is possible to grab some breakfast. She said "Since the breakfast is complimentary, it will start only at 7 am ".

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProudBhartiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We spent one night here and it was wonderful! Check in was easy, the owner(?) checked us in and gave us suggestions for day drives. The hotel was immaculate and breakfast was more than sufficient. Overall, a great option for expensive! Interlaken! Highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TravelforfunSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyboss, Inhaber at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your Report. Happy customer make us happy to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I think I actually used TripAdvisor to research about Hotel Derby, so thanks everyone! We really enjoyed our stay there. We stayed for two nights, Christmas Day 25 and the 26th. Our room was cozy and looked out into the garden/quad behind the hotel. The breakfast each morning was wonderful! Actually, our last morning, we had to catch the train before breakfast started, but they gave us some croissants to go, thanks so much! My birthday is on Christmas Day, so I was very pleased to be in a place we really enjoyed and we woke up on the 26th with a blanket of snow, so perfect! The location was perfect for getting to the train station, just a quick walk. We enjoyed our time in Interlaken so much. Thanks Hotel Derby!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VEE1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I went to stay in the hotel for 2 days with my husband in the month of
July 2013. The hotel is just few minutes walk from station. The hotel was was very clean and cosy. Service was very efficient. This hotel comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bihongee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

i was hoping the hotel would be closer to the train station but it's quite a walk, slightly over 10min, from interlaken west (and much further from interlaken ost). the hotel is quite prominent as it's all red. you feel quite safe because the door is locked and needs to be accessed with hotel card. we arrived early and were given our rooms. there is no lift so pray that you get a room on the lower floor. the hotel is clean and is run by whom i assume are a husband and wife couple, very nice and helpful people who explain interlaken, its attractions to you patiently. all guests have a free pass for the buses in interlaken so that's very helpful! the hotel is near a few bus stops so that's more helpful than the trains. the room was clean and decent. nothing spectecular inside the room but it's good value for money. the two rooms we got both had mountain view so that was nice! breakfast is all right. nothing to complain about. something strange is that they do not allow food in rooms. you'll be fined if you cook instant noodles in the room. oh, they provide a coffee machine that uses capsules (similar to nespresso). overall, not bad for the price we paid.

Room Tip: no lift so try to get a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaron0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
694 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 39 in Interlaken
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#11 of 39 in Interlaken
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#9 of 39 in Interlaken
383 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#5 of 7 in Unterseen
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby

Address: Jungfraustrasse 70, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range: £91 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Derby Announces its Grand Re-opening. We have spent months renovating our establishment to meet our customers changing travel needs. We are excited for you to see the results of our hard work and the "little oasis" at the top of Europe we have created for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing