We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Value, Clean and Pleasant Stay”
Review of Hotel Derby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Derby
Ranked #8 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice Value, Clean and Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Remembering that Interlaken is expensive makes this hotel a great place to stay and a very good value. The hotel, admittedly, on the outside does not look impressive and it is removed from the center of the village by a couple of blocks. However, the rooms on the inside are very modern, very well-furnished, and are clean. As an added benefit, the rooms are also air-conditioned... a fairly unique treat in the area. I was actually pleasantly surprised by the high quality of the rooms at this hotel.

The owner is a very friendly guy who went out of his way to make me feel welcomed. He made a point to give me a walking map of the town and told me about the free bus service which, although I did not use it, seemed very convenient. On departure, he gave me easy walking directions to the West Train Station which was about a convenient short 7 minute walk from the hotel.

Breakfast was traditional for this area of Europe with fresh breads, meat, cereals and cheese. My only suggestion would be to have fresh cheese as opposed to packaged cheese. This is a very minor suggestion and the quality of breakfast was certainly quite adequate and enjoyable.

If returning to Interlaken, I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ftl-principal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    65
    20
    2
    9
See reviews for
49
58
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Good Deal in Expensive Interlaken

We stayed at the Hotel Derby for the last 3 nights of our trip in Europe. We booked through a 3rd party site who was very misleading about the amenities offered by the hotel, but that's a bone to be picked with them, not Derby.

I've seen a few complaints about distance from the train station but it took us maybe 10 minutes to walk there from Interlaken West going at a leisurely pace. It's maybe a 15-20 minute walk from Interlaken Ost.

Check in was easy and George was very nice. We ended up having a room on the ground floor which was nice because there is no elevator.

The room itself was pretty standard, two singles pushed together which slid apart on the wooden floor. Kureig type Coffee maker and fridge with a mini bar. We did have a balcony with table and chairs and a lounger which was quite nice.

The bathroom is par for the course in Europe. The shower is a bit smaller than some of the hotels we've stayed at but it gets the job done.

I had read reviews which said there's no air conditioner. Perhaps it's only some rooms or a new addition but we did have a small air conditioner mounted above the doorway which pointed into the room. We set it as low as it would go but it still kind of did its own thing. It did help cool the room down, but cracking the door was the most effective since it was cool while we were there. It's pretty questionable if this unit would be able to get the job done if it was hot outside. Also, every day when we came back the house keepers had turned off the air.

Breakfast is free, this was the first hotel we stayed at that had breakfast included in the price. It has all of the usual items of a European continental breakfast, cold meats, (Swiss) cheeses, cereal and breads. They do have soft boiled eggs as well for a little protein.

They did have the "Swiss Budget Hotel" logo plastered everywhere, even on the soap bottles, constantly reminding you how cheap you are, but that's what it is. If you want to partake in some of the luxuriousness of Interlaken but can't afford the opulent accommodations on top of it, then Hotel Derby is a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We actuall booked another hotel booking.com online and was advised to check in at Hotel Derby upon arrival at our original hotel.

We should be glad with this arrangement as this hotel is a lot more quiet and homey. On the ground floor of this petit complex, our room has a lovely small balcony for sunbathing or whatever you like. Our another window view is a little garden.

Breakfast option is minimal but for us we are happy with it as long as we are not going out with hunger early in the morning.

Bathroom facility is pleasant. Hugh washing basin and nice water pressure.

It's a bit in the middel of Interlaken Ost and West and is withing walking distance to both stations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YvonneCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

1. Far from both station. Don't trust google map to go there. It will take you another five minutes.
2. No lift, hope you have G/F room assigned it you have big luggage as there is no one to help you pick up stairs.
3. You will be welcomed by an expired interlaken biscuits. I knew if after showing the biscuit to my German colleague. 15-05-2014.
4. If you think it is budget hotel, you are wrong because you are not allowed to have budget meal in room! No cup noodles, no McDonald's please!!
5. Room is small, nothing in bathroom.
6. The air conditioner will be automatically turned off at mid night so that CO2 will be increased to let you have deep sleep.
7. Breakfast .... No choice except that you can choose from jam or Nutella on the assigned bread.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sulacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyboss, Inhaber at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your time to write a report.
Unfortunately you where not happy we try to do every day the best for our guests sometime it is not enough for everybody.
The walking distance from Interlaken WEST is ten minutes. There is also the option to take the BUS 105 for two stops.
You are right in 1880 the house was built without elevator.
Sorry for the expired biscuit we get new fresh once.
The Swiss Budget Hotel is a chain with family owned, reasonable priced Hotels.
To avoid bad smells in the rooms we don’t allow to have hot fast food in the rooms. Next guest will be happy.
For security reason it is also not allowed to smoke in the rooms.
For food we have the option to use the wonderful garden or a table in the breakfast room.
If you book a standard or Superior room instead of economic room you will get bigger rooms.
All bathrooms are equipped with shower, toilet standard, Kleenex, hairdryer and fresh towels.
The AC is working 24h we don’t know anything else.
For breakfast we serve a traditional SWISS Buffet with 4 different bread, 6 different cheeses, ham, salami, meat, turkey and boiled eggs, there is also apple and orange juice, milk and water available.
3 different yogurts and 4 different cereals, fresh fruits you have a big selection of jam honey and Nutella. We serve fresh Tea, coffee or milk and chocolate.
Sorry that you found only the jam and Nutella for your bread.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed here in a family group, for 2 nights. Service was efficient, friendly and helpful regarding local attractions, maps, repairing both my bedside lights. Breakfasts were generous and varied; coffee excellent, though machine in room would be better replaced by a kettle, and it's odd to have 15+ sugar sachets... but only 1 capsule!! Room was clean and comfortable (once lights were fixed... why don't hotels check these things?!). Parking is a little bizarre and resulted in some damage to our hire car, even though it was parked properly - not the management's fault but it's a pity the empty space opposite can't be used.

Room Tip: All seemed to suffer from late night revellers if you have windows open... there may be quieter ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at hotel Derby from may 17-19, 2014.
The location is good, rooms are clean and the couple managing the hotel are simple, courteous and friendly. The breakfast was simple and there were no surprises with respect to facilities or charges.
The owners guided us very well on the trains/buses to take for Jungfrau ,Schilthorn and other places.
Overall - very pleasant stay.
For the sake of finding faults, we found the beds small.
nevertheless, the place is highly recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmbikaKhurana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanyakumari, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Pros :
1. Good location
2. Spacious rooms
3. Room has everything one needs - locker, coffee machine, TV ,etc.
4. Comfortable bed

Cons :
1. Clean hotel but found few hair strands in the bathroom
2. 10+ mins of walk from Interlaken West station (This was not a big problem for us)
3. No elevator. Only stairs.
4. Someone wrote a review saying they were given breakfast before the usual breakfast time since they had to catch a train. Reading this review, I spoke to the owner and told her that we would need to check-out a little earlier than 7 am and asked her if it is possible to grab some breakfast. She said "Since the breakfast is complimentary, it will start only at 7 am ".

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProudBhartiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
668 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#19 of 40 in Interlaken
173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
591 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#31 of 40 in Interlaken
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#7 of 40 in Interlaken
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby

Property: Hotel Derby
Address: Jungfraustrasse 70, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Derby Announces its Grand Re-opening. We have spent months renovating our establishment to meet our customers changing travel needs. We are excited for you to see the results of our hard work and the "little oasis" at the top of Europe we have created for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing