We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable”
Review of Hotel Alpina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alpina
Ranked #34 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Adorable”
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Interlaken is an extremely touristy and ridiculously expensive place. This hotel was a nice respite from all of that. We had excellent service from the staff, who helped us with transportation and dealing with an issue with a local vendor. The room was fine, kind of decorated like a 12-year-old girl's bedroom, but with a balcony and a view of the mountains. With the doors open, we could lie in bed with the sun shining on us. The shared bathroom was clean. Breakfast was good, typical continental buffet. You get a free bus pass, which was an unexpected surprise. Free wifi. It's located halfway between the two train stations and a ways south (actually in Matten; don't type Interlaken into Google or you'll end up way out of town), near the youth hostels. Overall, we didn't love Interlaken, but we were very happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisanCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    19
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
26
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Stayed for one night at Hotel Alpina. Location was fine, close to a bus stop, and a few restaurants close. Town center within 10 min walking. The owner was very nice. We checked out the same morning that we went canyoning, and we were able to keep our luggage at the hotel for over 6 hours. Breakfast included was adequate, standard for Switzerland. I would stay here again. Free wi-fi was nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acscharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We spent 2 nights here in June, 2010. It was the only 2-star hotel on our entire vacation but remember this is Switzerland, so even a 2-star hotel is clean and well-kept. We had a triple room and it was quite large. The beds were good. FREE WiFi (you ask for the code at the desk).

The location is away from the center but that means it was very quiet at night. There is a city bus stop a couple blocks away, 2 different bus lines run into town and to both train stations. However you can walk to central Interlaken in about 20 minutes (we did it twice).

The breakfast was really good for a 2-star hotel. It was much better than a 4-star hotel we had in Rome.

This place is pretty much basic and no-frills, but it's clean and the rooms are very decent. The price was good, too.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelMorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2010

This is a small family run hotel and they go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. Big shout out to Dora who was warm right through our stay! We loved our room which opened into a balcony and had breathtaking views of the alps! If we go to Interlaken again we're definitely staying here!
On an aside, for those craving Indian food, I recommend you DO NOT go to Shalimar, which is a tourist trap (meaning abysmal food and sky high prices). We tried Taj India restaurant and had a wonderful experience there!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2010

My husband and I stayed at hotel Alpina for a couple of nights. We had a very pleasant stay. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. They are indeed a bit small but it is standard in Europe and should not be compared to the U.S. What you gain is a beautiful view of the mountains if you take a train to Jungfrau for example. The train station is a 10 minute walk from Hotel Alpina, which is very conveniently located if you want to explore the surroundings. You can also walk to a couple of hotel-restaurants, which offer delicious fondues and raclettes (the Hirschen for example offers great local food and the staff is awesome!) And the town centre is not far either, make sure you check it out. The staff is very friendly and always helpful so we both felt that it was a good place to stay at.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaimelesvoyages014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We stayed there for only one night but were very satisfied with overall service. Ideal for people who would not want to spend too much time in the room and are out most of the time. Breakfast was average. Staff was extremely nice and helpful. During our stay the weather in Interlaken was not clear so the owner at reception really helped us in deciding a suitable location/sightseeing option for the weather.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kunalg28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

I booked this hotel on behalf of a friend and myself through Inghams and, although we were unable to obtain rooms with bathrooms, found it to be clean and comfortable and were made very welcome by the owner, Dora, and her family. The evening meal was always excellent and we were surprised to be given a packed lunch every day without having to ask for it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesliecf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#5 of 8 in Unterseen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Park-Garden Hotel at Mattenhof Resort
The Park-Garden Hotel at Mattenh...
#1 of 1 in Matten bei Interlaken
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Basicrooms Hotel
Basicrooms Hotel
#29 of 46 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Funny Farm Hotel
Funny Farm Hotel
#9 of 23 in Interlaken
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpina

Property: Hotel Alpina
Address: Hauptstrasse 44, Interlaken BE 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alpina 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing