We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

As part of my trip around Switzerland, I spent 5 great days using Hotel Carlton Europe as my base in town.

As I'm sure you're well aware by now through the other reviews, this hotel is located exceptionally close to Interlaken OST - literally a 5-7 minute walk away (if that). The hotel itself does a good job in maintaining the unique historical aspects of its 100+ year architecture with a nice modern touch. Check-in & check-out were both simple, with a great desk staff who were all very friendly and helpful when it came to getting information about Interlaken and the surrounding area.

My room was a surprise (in a good way) as it was quite spacious - especially compared to many of the other 2-3 star hotels I've stayed in across Europe. The bed was EXTREMELY comfortable (probably the best I slept in during my 3+ week trip), the room was well kept and clean with the basics, the bathroom was a bit on a small side but not a big deal, and there was a useful little balcony outside each room you could enjoy an amazing view from each night/morning. Despite facing the main street, it was exceptionally quiet each night which allowed you to keep your windows open during the night. Free WiFi was also available, and was very fast everytime I used it.

Interlaken itself is a fairly small town - feels like you can walk from one end to the other in 30 minutes, and as a result everything is compact and close by so you don't feel like you're too far from anything in town (including places to eat, shop, etc.). As mentioned above, being located to Interlaken OST is a definite benefit as most visitors to Interlaken use the city as a useful base to travel across to other parts of Switzerland so it is useful to be located as close as possible to the train station. Luckily there is a HUGE Coop (grocery store) right across from the station, so you can pick up stuff before or after your daytrip as well.

For someone who is just looking for a clean, quiet and comfortable place to sleep in a great location without all of the "extras", Hotel Carlton Europe is a great pick and I would strongly recommend it to anyone planning to visit Interlaken.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vik_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Vik_travel

thank you very much for your detailed review of your stay at the Carlton-Europe Hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our mixture of history and modern times. Your coments reflect exactly the philosophy of our hotel and we are trying our very best to keep our high standards of services and to improve our infrastructure continously. We would be pleased to wecloming you again at the Carlton-Europe Hotel and remain with our best regards

Dominik Naglitsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    132
    45
    17
    8
See reviews for
81
120
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
455 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

In the central location by the river, near Alpenwildpark, this is one of the few historic hotels left in the town. Our very spacious room had a beautiful view of the mountains. A comfortable queen bed along with a large bathroom with a tub was real pleasure. Electric kettle was a plus.
Excellent buffet breakfast was included as was free parking nearby.
Friendly and helpful staff completed the picture.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1trekky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear 1trekky,

thank you very much for your feedback and for the good reviews on the Carlton-Europe hotel. We apreciate that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the combination of the 100 years hotel tradition with the up to date comfort in our hotel rooms. We would be pleased to welcoming you once more in Interlaken and send our best wishes

yours sincerely

Dominik Naglitsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

My wife and I were traveling to Switzerland the last week of May 2013 for the first time and chose Interlaken as we had heard it to be a very picturesque place. This was an understatement as it is a beautiful area. The Hotel is a very short, 3 minute walk from Interlaken Ost train station and after the amazing ride up there we were happy to check in. A very friendly staff checked us in and offered us some fresh orange juice during the process. We took our luggage up to the 3rd floor and stepped into a beautiful room and opened the windows to an amazing view. However, my wife was determined to get a room with a balcony and zipped back down to the reception and immediately came back with a new room on the 4th floor with not 1 but 2 balconies overlooking an amazing view of the town and the snow covered mountains. A beautiful large room with everything you need, including a chandelier in the middle of the room. The bathroom was also large and very modern, very clean and just an all around pleasure and one of the nicest rooms we have stayed in anywhere. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and was in a very nice room every morning and well worth it. The usual yummy European fare and plenty of it, very nice!
Overall a fantastic experience in a wonderful hotel with very friendly and very accommodating staff that all spoke very good English. I recommend it to everyone

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the mountains and ask for a balcony as all don't have them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HooverBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear HooverBoy,

thank you very much for your review and for all the complimets made to our staff and hotel. It was a great pleasure for all members of the Carlton-Europe Team to welcoming you as guests. Feedbacks like yours confirm our impression that we are on the right way and let our staff do it's work with a smile. We would be very pleased to welcoming you once again at the Carlton-Europe Hotel and send our best wishes

yours sincerely

Dominik Naglitsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The location is excellent and very close to Interlaken train station. We noted when walking in the entrance that this hotel is on Michelin star list for both hotel and restaurant. The room was large and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. We were given a city travel pass for free upon check in. Breakfast was okay and include all the basic item you expect from a European hotel. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Btman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Btman01,

thank you very much for your review and for the compliments for the Carlton-Europe Hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in Interlaken and that the services provided by the Carlton-Europe Hotel were to your satisfaction. Feedbacks like yours are important for our staff and show that the hotel is developing in the right direction. It would be great to welcoming you once again at our hotel and in the meantime we remain with our best regards

Dominik Naglitsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Carlton came as part of a package, but we were very pleasantly suprised, excellent room, spacious and clean. Great bathroom, pity newly fitted handbasins were designed to prevent retention of water, not very economical ! but super shower. Buffet breakfast good, "Tour" dinners no more than average, but delightful service in every department. They even had a good selection of Malts.

Room Tip: 252, large corner room at rear. Excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Patrick075

thank you very much for your good feedback about your stay at the Carlton-Europe Hotel. We are pleased to read that you liked our newly renovated rooms and that the service provided by our staff satisfied you. We would be pleased to welcoming you again in Interlaken and remain with our best regards

Dominik Naglitsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We found this hotel to be of a high standard. Our room was very clean- we loved the hand written welcome note from the housekeeper.The breakfast was outstanding, with so much choice, i'm glad we had 3 days to try all options!
So handy to the rail station, and an easy walk into town for tea.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear shl_10

thank you very much for your review about your stay at the Carlton-Europe Hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays in Interlaken and that the services provided by our hotel satified you completly. Feedbacks like yours are important for our staff and show that our hotel is developing in the right direction. We would be pleased to welcoming you once again at the Carlton-Europe Hotel and remain with best regards

Dominik Naglitsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We had a great experience with Hotel Carlton Europe @ Interlaken. Reception is good service & was helpful in our enquiries. Room size was spacious & was very clean. We had a good view of the Swiss Alps too. Restuarant food in the hotel was great & so was the breakfast. Location is near the Interlaken train station. We will definitely go back to Carlton Europe!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CYC1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear CYC1977,

thank you very much for your review about your stay at the Carlton-Europe Hotel. Feedbacks like yours help to keep the motivation of our staff on a high level. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holidays at our hotel and that you would like to visit us again. We hope to welcoming you once more in Interlaken and wish you all the best.

best regards

Dominik Naglitsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#9 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton-Europe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton-Europe Hotel

Property: Carlton-Europe Hotel
Address: Hoeheweg 94, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Interlaken
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton-Europe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Nouveau hotel "Carlton-Europe" has a very long tradition. Led by a young team which will tailor to your needs and reflect the charm of the house. After a visit to this idyllic setting, you will take a feeling of security back home. Centrally located just 200 meters from the Interlaken Ost train station on the famous Höheweg. Starting point for excursions in the Jungfrau region as well as the recreation area around Lake Thun and Brienz. Parking lots for cars (chargeable). On foot you reach the center of Interlaken within 5 minutes. The Hotel Carlton-Europe can offer the following: -Team building, motivation -Adult education -Full Catering -Conference rooms with plenty of ambience. The hotel rooms are individually renovated with own equipment. Restaurants: Ruedihus (traditional Swiss cuisine), Johnny's Gärtli (Steakhouse), Shalimar (Indian cuisine and pizzas) and Johnny's Bar Dancing. Leisure: Billiards, Table Tennis, Chess. Large hotel garden with a natural swimming pond. Central, quiet location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton-Europe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Europe Hotel Interlaken
Carlton Europe Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing