We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice guest house ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
India Village Guesthouse & Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice guest house ”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

A very beautiful guest house and cosy environment that beside A river. The breakfast that they served were suitable for my family and me. Also, the restaurant foods were so delicious. However, the distance from the train station to the guesthouse got a little bit far.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ng T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    33
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
57
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I was here for three nights stay on my way back to Canada from India, what an amazing atmosphere these guys provide and what a view of river from the room it was. You know what, just go for this India village when ever you guys are visiting Swiss specially if you are in Interlaken, you 'll love your stay specially the food and its quality. Moreover they provide pick and drop service too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garrysingh116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had been to this guesthouse with family on 4th and 5th of July 2014. Staff is excellent and friendly with very quick response and humble too , good breakfast as well , we have been served with the option of Indian breakfast , I guess no were in interlaken we have this facility. Rooms were spacious, clean and warm too, they will also guide you with different options to visit in interlaken if you are visiting for first time this will definately help. Location was great right next to river with nice view across. Overall its a good place to stay if you compare others in swiss its too expensive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geeta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Terrible staff, who would never help for anything and even for simple issues such as heating or linen or tea bags they have their issues and reasons lined up. As it was raining heavily the whole day the room was terribly cool, however after speaking to them for 5-6 times they told they will turn it on after 9 pm, but they never did turn it on.... Believe it or not these were the experiences for superior maximum price room bookings. Just imagine if you book standard rooms. I would say paying such high price, no one would experience issues such as:
1. No Heating
2. No Tea Bags for Rooms - Only Coffee (I know it is as strange as it sounds)
3. Only half of the menu items available for ordering food (Gas issues as explained by the waiter)
4. Wrongly billing for higher costs on taxi's.

The hotel is located on the opposite side of the river from the town centre approx 2kms from Interlaken Ost station, so walking would take 15-20 mins or CHF12-16 by taxi. There are no buses or other public transport.

Unfriendly Staff, No Value for Money, Ridiculous Staff, No Heating, No Tea Making Facilities.

Room Tip: Lake View Rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank santhoshmetri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had visited the restaurant at the India Village on the 24th of June to celebrate one of our family friends Birthday. We were a group of 16 and were in Interlaken on a vacation. As the host had liking for Indian food so had organised the dinner here to celebrate his wife's B'day. The ambiance of the restaurant was ok, but the pricing of the food can be compared to the top Indian Michelin Star restaurant of New York. The quality of food was a 4 on a scale of 10 and their was only one steward named Amit to deal the entire table and do everything. (I wonder if he was cooking also). The restaurant was empty at about 8.30 pm (swiss time) and despite the same had no manpower to handle such a big table. The most disturbing fact was that firstly the prices of every item on the menu were exorbitant and the serving was even a bigger disaster. We checked with Amit about the origin of the owner of the Restaurant and were informed that he belongs to Punjab. We seriously have a doubt as they were serving main course curries in bowls no bigger then soup bowls and were sufficient for only one person.

I would recommend that no body shall visit this place expecting it to be a good option for Indian food at reasonable prices, as they are completely fleecing their customers.

Room Tip: Never ever visit this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G_Gambhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This was a great location right on the river. Just across the bridge from the train station. It's just a 10 min walk to the station and down town. The staff is overly friendly and helpful. So kind and so hospitable. The rooms as fairly good sized considering Europe rooms. For the price it was just great. Had a kitchen with a fridge and a couch, desk and bed. Many tv stations in English, which was nice. It was really a pleasant experience. In Europe unless you spend an outrageous amount the rooms are what they are. This room was clean, cosy and just great for what it was. Switzerland is so expensive that for the price, it was a great pay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This place is awesome, beautiful and good to stay. People are good and hospitality of hotel staffs are really commendable. It is a great experience to stay there as it is close to the Interlaken OST and Harder Kulm. They have wide vareity of Indian food and the two guys at the restaurant are friendly.
In all, this was a wonderful stay for my family. Thanks to India Village for making our trip a pleasant one.

Room Tip: Take a river view rooms, which are quite scenice and spacious. I was there in room 14. I felt good a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vimal Deepak Ku... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#11 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.6 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#33 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#13 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to India Village Guesthouse & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about India Village Guesthouse & Restaurant

Property: India Village Guesthouse & Restaurant
Address: Brienzstrasse 38, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — India Village Guesthouse & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
India Village is a peaceful place situated between lake and moutain quite and natural enviroment, yet it is only short distance from some of lake & mountain best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your India Village Guesthouse & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing