We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a hotel, but their main ops is a elderly home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Artos Interlaken
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel on my tour through Switserland, and was to find out that this hotel is a "side operation" from a elderly home. The hotelrooms are in a separate wing but breakfast is in combination with the permanent residents. The service during breakfast isn't to great, had to wait for the coffee and tea for a while and the breakfast buffet isn't as generous as said on the hotelpage. You can clearly tell that the hotelbizz isn't their main job. But... the rooms are sure spacious and new decorated with big balcony.
The hotel is located on à quite street away from the towncenter, a walk of 10/15 and the staff at checkin was very friendly

If you don't mind sharing your vacation with the elderly than this can be a choice for you, but to me the stay didn't and up to my vacation experience and wouldn't stay here again when going to Interlaken

Room Tip: Be aware that the hotel is part of an elderlyhome
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard-Roadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Artos Interlaken
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Traveling with a wheelchair is very easy in this hotel and we enjoyed our stay very much. Plenty of space in your room for the wheelchair to charge and move around. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The wellness is very tidy and quiet.





  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fenne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We found the breakfasts and evening meals to be great, rooms very comfortable, staff very attentive, wellness centre a bit odd as we were the only people there. I would certainly love to be an elderly resident here due to the extremely high standards and location.
Bought a Swissrail ticket and travelled to some fabulous places by rail including the main mountain railways. Public transport in this area puts everywhere else to shame as its so efficient. .

would certainly return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 727cstaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

set in a beautiful city of interlaken.. a stunning mountain view from the balcony .. a comfortable bed and a warm staff . what else do you need on a vacation .. :) .. had a bful experience staying in artos .. met few bful ppl there .. but brekfast was not that good .. but overall the experience was really good .. wud luv to stay in the same hotel again :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shreyagup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Just stayed here the one night, the hotel staff was great, room was fine and breakfast was OK (I missed everything really)

Location was good, underground parking made me feel better about leaving the car there...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We were 2 adults and 3 children and had booked this Hotel after a friend recommended it. Ms. Christensen greeted us warmly at 9:30 PM when we arrived though it is very late by Swiss standards, and made us feel at home with her warm smile and sweet English.
We were given a beautiful room, with two beds on one level, and four beds on the top level, reachable by stairs inside the room itself. The kids just loved it. There was a bunk bed and two single beds on the top level, one directly under a big sky window. They do not keep a kettle or tea coffee in the room. It is available at the vending machine for a few euros.
Breakfast is decent, with a variety of cheese, ham, breads, yoghurt, and boiled eggs. They even pack breakfast if you tell them the previous day by 7 pm, if you want to leave before 7 30 AM the next day for sightseeing.
The staff are friendly and went out of their way to help us plan outings in the vicinity.
The bus stop is just outside the Hotel, and comes every 30 minutes both to the Ost and West stations. Ost is 10 minutes by foot.
They even gave us cash after we swiped our debit card at the Hotel, just like an ATM.
The Hotel has quite a few elderly residents who are very sweet, but speak only German. Their families also come to visit them.

Room Tip: Ask for 403 if you are a big family :-)
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DrSPMathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I had one of the rooms at the ground level, and the views were splendid. Although it looked like an Ikea Showroom, the feel was awesome. Comfy beds, and a brightly-lit toilet. The spacious room also included a balcony and full length glass windows. It is also a 10-min walk to the shops, etc, and free bus service is provided to the mini-city. At night, the surroundings are quiet, and the room temperature is just nice. Maybe the only 2 major setbacks are that WiFi is only free in the hotel lobby, and the breakfast selection isn't that awesome. Some people complain about the Old Age Home, but they are housed in a separate building and they are friendly people too, so I didn't find any difficulty during my stay. A perfect stay to my Switzerland gateway! Will definitely book this hotel again the next time I go there.

Room Tip: Remember to get a free bus-pass from the reception for a free bus ride! Book a Deluxe Room on the 1...
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jieshun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.3 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#14 of 40 in Interlaken
331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#10 of 40 in Interlaken
389 reviews
1.1 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#30 of 40 in Interlaken
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#18 of 40 in Interlaken
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Nord
Hotel du Nord
#27 of 40 in Interlaken
244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#6 of 8 in Unterseen
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artos Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artos Interlaken

Address: Alpenstrasse 45 | 3800 Interlaken, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range: £138 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Artos Interlaken 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Artos Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing