We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent place!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland, Canton of Bern

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Mrs Clara...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place!”
Reviewed 14 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The town house was just superb! On arrival there was a welcome gift of a bottle of wine, a wide range of hot drinks options and even an 'alcoholics drinks' trolley at our disposal! The location is great as its few minutes walk to Interlaken west train station and all the shops ie co op, bakery, pharmacy etc. The owner Eric was a great host, communicating promptly via phone/email if we had any doubts or issues like wifi.
He also left an iPad and a local phone for our use with 20 CHF prepaid.
Eric's send us an email very soon after our departure, acknowledging that we had left the house in an acceptable and clean condition. Our deposit/ bond was refunded in days.
Great host, great accommodation!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stodgytj
Holualoa, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I doubt if it could get any better than this”
Reviewed 25 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Well, what to say. We booked the townhouse for most of September, 2017 and will return. Location is amazing. Ten minute walk to Interlaken West train station where in addition to trains you can grab a bus or a cab. There is a small super market, bakery and pharmacy within a few minutes walk. There are several restaurants including take out places all within a few minutes walk. The host, Eric, is responsive although it may take twelve hours for him to get back to you. The town house has two bathrooms, a laundry room with a dryer and a small front garden looking directly at the Jungfrau. I would suggest bringing a bathrobe. Also take the time to learn what all the switches, gizmos and levers do. I can recommend this townhouse without reservation and hope to stay there again. My wife and I are enthusiastic hikers and there are several trails close by that can take you towards Thun or Brienze.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kocmoc17
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional standard of accommodation”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

It was a real privilege to stay at the 'Contemporary Townhouse', the house is truly stunning and exceeded any expectations that we had.
The house is perfectly situated, nestled within a quiet, traditional community, yet within metres of the high street and its wide selection of shops and restaurants.
The house is of a modern, penthouse style and was immaculate, clean and beautifully presented on our arrival. The downstairs is open plan with generously sized kitchen, lounge and dining areas. The kitchen has state of the art Miele integrated appliances, modern fittings and equipment. Glassware, crockery and cooking utensils are provided. On arrival there was a welcome gift of a bottle of wine, a wide range of hot beverage options and a choice of alcoholic drinks. There is also a downstairs w/c and shower and utility.
The lounge windows, equipped with automated shades and electronically controlled external blinds, afford impressive views of the Mönch and Jungfrau mountain peaks. The same views can be enjoyed from the upstairs bedrooms via full length windows/ Juliette balconies.
Upstairs there are two bedrooms, one of modern and the other of traditional style. There is a second luxurious shower/ w.c.
The owner, Eric, has a real talent for design. He has tastefully used a mix of modern and traditional materials, from the modern technology to the high quality linen fabrics, traditional wash-stand and granite surfaces. Throughout the house there are references to the historical importance/ family links to the building. Eric has displayed a number of artworks (by a local artist) and etchings reflecting the striking, local landscapes.
I found Eric to be very professional, taking his commitments to the holiday home and guests seriously. Eric has prepared a folder giving instructions on how to operate equipment/ systems within the house, advice re. the locality and suggestions on how to maximise enjoyment and opportunities on a number of excursions.
Eric has always replied promptly to communications throughout, from the initial booking to my time during our stay. Eric is always available/ contactable by phone/ email. Eric's own experience of travel has taught him how to prepare the house for guests, he has literally thought of everything, catering for visitors' every need.
Another example of Eric's high standards was sending us an email following our departure, acknowledging that we had left the house in an acceptable and clean state. Our deposit/ bond was refunded in days.

Extra Tips:
1) The Swiss plug sockets are not standard EU country style two pin sockets, extra adapters/ a large range of adapters from most countries can be bought at the local post office. (Eric provides maps at the house)
2) I took an O2 mobile an EE mobile and EE dongle, all of which worked perfectly at the house. (Eric provides internet connection, but I had a dongle with me)
3) I drove from Kent directly to Eric's house (via Eurotunnel) and the entire journey took 12 hours.
4) Local transport is excellent and there are plenty of taxis.

Eric should be proud of both what he has achieved and the manner in which he manages the house and his guests.
Thank you for a truly wonderful holiday, Eric!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovestotr...
Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well appointed villa”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The villa was well stocked with many good features. EXtra amenities not even mentioned, ie numerous types of alcohol,coffee,etc. Location was perfect and close to many Swiss cities. Eric was a wonderful host, always accessible by phone to answer any questions. HIGHLY recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggiesch...
Mableton, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely Fabulous – that sums up our experience staying here. The condo was a short walk to the train/bus station, dining and grocery store. When we arrived, we were welcomed with a bottle of wine and fresh flowers. The condo was clean, safe, well-appointed and convenient.

After a full day of visiting peaks and alpine mountain villages, we would come “home” and have dinner on the patio with the snow covered peaks as our entertainment. We could not have been any more pleased. All four of us wanted to stay longer.

Prior to arriving at the condo, the owner was very responsive to my email questions. Also, a binder was provided that explained features of the condo and sites to visit.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
203ravip1...
Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must must stay...its a Gold standard”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

During our visit to Switzerland France we stayed at 3 apartments and Eric's house is what we love and benchmark against. Undoubtedly for all the 4 of us its the best and best thing to happen to use. Its coz of Eric's house that we would like to go back to Interlaken.

First of all, Eric is response is super fast. He was engaging with us despite backpacking in Egypt...now this is service.

The house overlooks the alps and is beautifully made and kept. The supplies in the house are far more than we expected and were surprised to see all the supplied including liquor.

The instruction were laid out in a file which we did not experience at any Airbnb rental.

Its also 5 mins walks from Interlaken West, making it very convenient to move around. You can also hire a cycle close by. Coop is also 2-3mins away.

To top it all, Eric left a local phone for our use with 20 CHF prepaid.

Can't think of ever a minor sing improvement. We loved it and one should book this house blindly and with no hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eeash
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable apartment with amazing view”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I, along with our two friends, thoroughly enjoyed our five nights at Eric's apartment. As other reviewers have noted, the location is convenient to trains, grocery store and bakery, is quiet, and is very well maintained. The beds (both upstairs) were comfortable and all appliances worked well.

We loved having wine on the patio after a day of hiking or sightseeing, watching the Jungfrau emerge from occasional clouds and reflect the changing light. Our next rental will have a lot to live up to!

Eric was very responsive during the rental process and we received our refund promptly. Our only disappointment was not meeting him. We would definitely stay at this apartment again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall cleanliness of the apartment and the quality of the kitchen equipment, linens, showers, etc.
Liked least: Can't think of anything....
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing