We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible. Wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy.”
Review of Heidi's Hostel

Heidi's Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heidi's Hostel
Ranked #43 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible. Wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy.”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

When I first entered to the hotel (that shouldnt even be called a hotel) i started to get sick because of the disgusting smell. The lady that run the hotel had a filthy cat that could enter to any of the rooms. The" bathroom" was inside the closet and i couldnt sleep because the bed was smelly and noisy. I felt so happy when i found out they didnt serve breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sofiagonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    6
    6
    18
See reviews for
6
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jalandhar
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This was one of my first Hostel experience, I was with my friends and though most of the reviews seem bad, the kitchen was fine, we cooked our food and then went back to our beds, there is no common room space, so less of interaction with fellow travelers but if you're with friends, it's good to go.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvcoolster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed only for a night, and the hostel seemed fine at first. The good thing about this hostel was that they had a kitchen that we could use and it was cheap for being in Switzerland. The room seemed fine and clean but when we left I noticed that I had something that seemed like mosquito bites. After I returned home I went to the doctor as the bites seemed to get worst. She told me that probably something bite me in the hostel. Also the lady in charge seemed nice but then she tried to charge us with more money as we wanted to pay in euros instead of swiss francs, and she thought that our fee that we already paid to hostelbookers didn't count for the final price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMSS_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Interlaken hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The moment you step in the hostel you feel the pungent smell of dampness. The washroom is a iron cabinet inside the room. The water from the iron cabinet (washroom) leaks into the room and onto the carpet which causes the smell of dampness. I stayed for 2 days and used full bottle (300ml) of room freshener and used to leave all door and windows open to get rid of the smell. In the hallway you have to keep your nose covered with handkerchief in order to avoid the damp smell and smell of dog ***** which belongs to the owner lady. In short, if you have other options please explore it now, else don't have any hopes with the place.

Room Tip: Staying away from the place would be the best choice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nihar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2012

All kinds of promises made. In the end, none of them delivered and we were charged over double the rate we found online.... Absolutely no reason to stay here unless it's too cold to survive on the street outside. Filthy, horrible smell, unsafe bunk beds, moldy bathrooms...would never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The hostel is run by a very nice, friendly, talkative and grandmotherly lady, Heidi.
The place is very affordable and the location is just perfect, right next to the Interlaken west train station. The view from the room is great with a decent kitchen. There is a good amount of parking space and it is free, which is a luxury in most parts of Switzerland.
That is where the good things end.

The place is quite run down and seems dirty with a strange odor throughout the hostel. The rooms are quite small and are in dire need of repairs. Even the cleanliness leaves much to be desired.
The bathrooms are much like small cupboards with hardly any space to move.

Average budget hostel but definitely not highly recommended. Pick if you have a weak sense of smell =)

Room Tip: Check the room before you move in. Sometimes the rooms are in a real bad shape in which case you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

convenient location as it is minutes from the interlaken west train station. pretty cosy hostel but you have to watch where you put your food to prevent little mice from munching on them. we were able to admire some beautiful views of the mountains from the balcony and even from the bed.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reenieBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#21 of 40 in Interlaken
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#6 of 8 in Unterseen
167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Katy's Lodge
Katy's Lodge
#36 of 46 in Interlaken
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Basicrooms Hotel
Basicrooms Hotel
#28 of 46 in Interlaken
12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Happy Inn Lodge
Happy Inn Lodge
#16 of 46 in Interlaken
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi's Hostel

Property: Heidi's Hostel
Address: Bernastrasse 37, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Heidi's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidi`s Hotel Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing