We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty and authentic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spice India

Spice India
Ranked #36 of 171 Restaurants in Interlaken
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tasty and authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We spent a saturday evening at the restaurant and we have been the only two guests besides an onther couple, indian tourists. So the staff had a lot of time and attention to us. We have ordered a starter and two main dishes. The main dish was cheak peas and the other lentils and it was just incredible spicey. Of course we have been aware that this might happen in an indian or thai restaurant, but it was just much more spicy then normal. I guess, this is because of the tourists that spent there dinner at the place. We think so, as we heard the girl ordering it "extra spicy". But it was delicous, as far as we can tell.. :) We had a big dessert, a coco ice cream with a lot of melted chocolate on top. We asked for more chocolage, as we are swiss ;-) and he came back with the whole bottle! :) The atmosphere is cozy and the restaurant was clean. There was even a window where you're able to see the cook, who's smiling friendly back. I did like the place and will recommend it, but just make sure, the level of spiciness.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sladjana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    69
    20
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We went for lunch, we had eaten here earlier this year and had wanted to go again since. Had the same thing again (chicken tikka masala). It's different to the one we get in the UK, it is more chunky with unblended vegetables in it. It was so tasty and even though it was quite spicy my 9 yr old scoffed the lot. The flavour of this dish was fantastic, I wanted to lick the plate. Will definitely go back again if in Interlaken in the future. Also, staff were friendly and service good. Expensive but you have to expect this in Switzerland, I think it was worth it as so enjoyable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice Indian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

If you are desperate for a bit of ehtnic food in Interlaken there are several Indian restaurants but most of them look disgusting and should be avoided. The Spice India is clean and well presented and serves good Indian food. Switzerland is not the best place to get good food and you might want a bit of relief from fondue.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Recommended for Indian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were fortunate to meet a couple from Delhi earlier in the day that we visited here. They were on vacation and told us Spice India was very authentic. They had eaten there the night before and were very pleased.

We love Indian food and when we found the restaurant on the way home that evening, it was an automatic choice. We had Naan and Chicken Makhani. One unique thing here was that the waiter/Owner told us that the chutney they served with the complimentary poppadum was rated a "6" on the spiciness scale, That was an excellent guide for allowing us to decide on the amount of spice for our entree, which they allowed us to share. We were delighted! The food was excellent as was the service. (Our new friends we had met earlier in the day, also returned that night again)

Highly recommended if you like Indian food. Conveniently located a block off main street in downtown Interlaken. A few outside tables available.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Morgan1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

The ambiance, the staff and the food were all all Indian and excellent. Easy approach from the main road was an added advantage. Close proximity to the Hotel City Oberland and other reputed show rooms in the main market.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pawan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice India also viewed

Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Unterseen, Interlaken
 

Been to Spice India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing