We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Chalet Zum Steg

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meiringen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Zum Steg
Ranked #1 of 9 Meiringen B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in Chalet Zum Steg. We stayed in the larger double room, a beautiful room with a nice balcony. Katrin and Franz were so kind and welcoming: we felt home. In the evening we played games with each other and in the morning we enjoyed the delicious breakfast, Katrin's nice dancing included. Katrin and Franz are not just hosts. They take care of their guest and love what they are doing. We experienced this when Franz picked us after and exhausting hike. We really recommend everyone to stay with this great people. We will stay with them again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NLAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
24
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We spent in Chalet Zum Steg 4 nights - 2 adults+ 2 children.
Breakfests were excellent, the location is great - quiet and yet close enough to the main road, the apartment was extremely clean and very spacious.
Katrin was exceptionally nice to us, dancing in the morning and helping us any way she could.
An excellent choice for a great holiday in Haslital.

Nir

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nirunir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I just left Chalet Zum Steg and I was sorry to have to say goodbye. I rented the top floor apartment for a week and I was pleasantly surprised to find that not only was it a good size, it had all the amenities of home for a very reasonable price. The apartment has a small kitchen with all the appliances, including a great one shot coffee maker, fridge, stove, oven, kettle and other goodies. All the stuff needed to cook and eat with was supplied. The place was spotless. A large living room, with a nice balcony facing the mountains made for a wonderful setting for after dinner desserts. The living room and bedroom were well laid out and more than roomy enough. The bathroom has a good size shower and two sinks and vanities. It is private, as private as you like.

The best thing about Zum Steg, were the owners, Katrin and Franz. This is how hoteling should be done, how a caring and kind owner, with a great personality, can make all the difference in a holiday stay. Franz is the quiet one, but he always has a smile and is more than happy to give you a quick 5 min ride into town whenever you need, or you can walk, which is beautiful. Katrin includes you in the festivities, if that's what you like, or she will leave you be, if that is what you want. Her breakfasts are legendary, a wonderful mix of grain cereal, berries and yogurt. Homemade jams, toast, eggs, bacon, coffee, anything you could want. I never ate lunch while I was there, as I was always too full from breakfast.

Katrin grew up in a family owned hotel and her personalized service shows her upbringing. She managed every request I had, whether for an extra blanket or pillows, to directions, or a fan. And like a good innkeeper, she was excellent at predicting your needs even before you knew you had them. I have travelled all over Europe and this was defiantly the best place that I have stayed at. Katrin and Franz really do their true best to make sure you are comfortable and happy.

The area of Meiringen and Haslital not only had magnificent hiking, biking , gorges and waterfalls, it is not a busy tourist place, so no huge crowds. It is wonderfully quiet and peacefull. Katrin and Franz do an excellent job at running Zum Steg, and I really appreciated it. A place that I will be fully recommending for the rest of my life!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OttawaEddieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband, our friend, and I stayed at Chalet Zum Steg for 4 nights at the top floor apartment, and we all love it! Katrin & Franz are definitely the most passionate hosts. Breakfast was abundant and delicious, rooms are clean, and views are spectacular. The hosts gave us wonderful suggestions for hiking possibilities and we certainly enjoyed those almost tourists-free routes. Spending our vacation here is like to be home away from home, and we met interesting people there too!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsaishiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our family of five stayed in the top floor apartment in Chalet zum Steg for a week's skiing in February. The apartment is clean and cosy with very comfortable beds. Views to the mountains from the balcony. Breakfast is served downstairs every morning with a great choice of cold meats and cheeses as well as fresh eggs and coffee. Katrin was an excellent hostess; nothing was too much trouble. The chalet is in a beautiful area with great attractions both summer and winter.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skodborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Katrin and Franz are very welcoming and thoughtful. It is clear they enjoy having young families as well as older couples like us. We were offered a hearty breakfast. Our room was clean, spacious and quiet with a beautiful view of the fields and mountains in the Haslital just at the edge of the town. Echoing the comments of Dorrie D, we were lucky to find such a great place to stay and would gladly return!

Room Tip: The Green room on the south side has a large balcony and views of the fields and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My husband and I stayed a week with Katrin and Franz and they were great hosts. Katrin treats all of her guests like friends and makes them feel so welcome. Every morning the breakfast consisted of wonderful muesli, and a variety of meats, cheeses, and breads. She always asked what time you would like to eat breakfast the night before. She made us some excellent cheese fondue and even raclette. Our room (the Green Room) was very nice and clean, as well as the bathroom. (Everyone has their own bathroom, but it is across the hall.) Katrin sings, plays the piano, and dances to country music as well! Both Katrin and Franz were very helpful and provided us with brochures and information for tours and activities in area. The Chalet was much more cozy and personal than a standard hotel. We met so many nice people while staying there from all over the world. The Chalet is located in a gorgeous area and is just a short walk from the town. We had to leave early in the morning and Katrin got up to hug us goodbye and even sent some of her yummy nut sticks with us. It was an excellent stay and we can't wait to (hopefully) return some day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meiringen
1.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#1 of 10 in Meiringen
196 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Rebstock
Hotel Rebstock
#4 of 10 in Meiringen
33 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Alpbach
Hotel Alpbach
#3 of 10 in Meiringen
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Gletscherblick
Hotel Gletscherblick
#3 of 5 in Hasliberg
34 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Meiringen
Hotel Meiringen
#2 of 10 in Meiringen
34 reviews
6.6 mi away
Grandhotel Giessbach
Grandhotel Giessbach
#1 of 1 in Giessbach
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Zum Steg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Zum Steg

Property: Chalet Zum Steg
Address: Balmstrasse 69, Meiringen 3860, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Meiringen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Meiringen
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Chalet zum Steg, you'll always find a friendly welcome and a family atmosphere. It's situated in a lovely quite, rual and peaceful area of Meiringen, called Balm. We are only 15min on foot or 5min by car from the village away. You can enjoy beautiful mountain sceneries all around. The Aare Gorge, Ballenberg, the two passes Grimsel and Susten. Grindelwald and Interlaken are not far either. From our house, you can cycle to the lake of Brienz, Interlaken, Thun or if you feel up to it, even the mountains, which are all around. In the winter there is a ski resort for the hole family. Fun for everybody. It's the ideal spot to start your adventure trips in the Bernese Alpes. We can help you plan your excursions, point you in the right directions for sightseeing and simply make your stay here in The Bernese Alpes as memorable as possible. We are open the whole year round. Our Bed & Breakfast is a place where you will want to stay so come and see for yourself, see you soon. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing