We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wartime Food Rations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Meiringen
Mlata
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wartime Food Rations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

This nice hotel is situated in an ideal part of Meiringen with many of the rooms facing a mountainous view. The rooms were clean, comfortable and beautifully furnished but not particularly large.
Everthing in the hotel comes with a heavy price tag; the internet, water during dinner (CHF8.50) and even a slice of butter.
The quality of the food is average. Portions are more suitable for 5-8 year-olds rather than grown adults.
The nightmare starts with the soup (never fresh), more or less a half-empty cappuccino-sized bowl, definitely not more than 10 tablespoons in all.
The main course is incredibly small, often filling just 1/3 of the plate or less. When the soup was provided, there were no salads at meal times. On other occasions when there were salads, the empty bowls were not refilled when emptied. Bread at the table was always consumed because there was not much more to eat.
Customers who complained were told that there was no more food. Some searched for another restaurant after dinner.
Don't eat there unless you're on a diet.

Reception closes at 9.00pm and no calls can be received after this time.

This hotel has great potential if managed properly but with the alarming appreciation of the Swiss Franc, inflated prices and this type of service we were glad to be back home when it was over.

Room Tip: Insist on a room facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfar005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    27
    21
    11
    10
See reviews for
34
25
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Room awful - smelling of diesel, food inedible and staff totally unmotivated.

We walked for 6 hours from Grindelwald to Meringen and found the Sherlock Holmes Hotel. We checked in and were shown a room very low in the hotel which was reached by going down steps behind reception. The whole corridor and area smelt of diesel, the room was very basic with a very small bathroom containing a shower (no bath), there was no mini bar or tea making facilities. The standard was very poor compared to the Sunstar Hotels. All we wanted to do was relax with a hot drink and take a bath after our long walk!

We then went down to dinner. We waited for a long time to be served and the menu started with soup and a salad buffet. This buffet was virtually empty with only a couple of leaves left and some cold pasta. We then waited for the main meal which we had chosen and were happy that the menu did indeed have a vegetarian option. However when the food arrived it was awful. The vegetarian option was supposed to be hot potatoes with cheese however the food was completely cold. We complained and were told that it was supposed to be cold; when we pointed out that the menu actually described the meal as hot we were told that this was a typing mistake by the receptionist! They took the food back to be heated up but it returned on a hot plate but the food still cold – completely inedible. The same potatoes were served with the meat option so again inedible. We had waited for a long time for the meal and the waitress had clearly been outside smoking as she stank of cigarette smoke.

We slept and the next morning came down to breakfast. We had to ask for cups, plates, hot water...... the list goes on. Again the buffet was almost empty so we had to ask for things to be filled up but the selection was very disappointing after the Sunstar with no cooked selection (apart from hard boiled eggs) and no pastries of any kind. The staff were totally unhelpful and appeared de-motivated.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GraceJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Meiringen hotels

UK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

The hotel was quite nice, in a fairly modern style, with rooms which were clean and functional. I don't think it was anything really special, but it was a perfectly good hotel. We only stayed for 2 nights, which was fine, I don't think that I would like to have spent a whole hoilday there, it was just a bit basic. Food quality was very mixed, some very good (a lovely home made lasagne), some poor and some a bit odd! Breakfast was OK, but only a fairly limited cold buffet, anything warm was extra. The restaurant/dining room could have been very much improved. The tables were set out in rows, each separated by some plastic foliage, which gave it a bit of a "canteen" feel. Service at dinner was however very good. I wouldn't return to this hotel, but that isn't to say that there was anything wrong with it, it just isn't the style that I enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curlycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

A Beautiful hotel in a lovely location. Unfortunately the quality of the evening meal was very poor (Unimaginative, stodgy, cheapest ingredients used.) It was also very poorly presented. In this regard it was the worst we have encountered in many years of foreign travel. We would advise bed and breakfast or even better room only basis and eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nan015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

We were in a party of 30 staying a week on a half board basis. The hotel was clean, well decorated, and our room with balcony had great views of the falls and mountains. The staff we friendly and helpful although we saw little of the manager. Our trip arranged by Kuoni promised a four course evening meal which we had. The courses were well presented but let down badly by poor quality ingredients which had little nutritional value.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotes-d'Armor, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

We had booked 4 rooms for a 3 night stay. We arrived at 7pm to a very walm welcome from reception and the manager. The rooms were spacious and all had views over Meiringen. The food in the hotel was excellent, both quality and quantity and the manager and staff even split up the bill evenly between the rooms for us to save us the calculations. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The town is just round the corner from the hotel with shops, bars and restaurants. We have stayed twice before in Meiringen at another hotel and would rate the Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes far superior

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2008

I travel on a coach (Leger) with my dad and a friend. We stayed here for three nights before moving onto Austria. The room was alright and the bar was alrigh.t, but the food we didn't get much. I mean like when i've just done over 500 mile journey on the road from England i expet a decent meal instead of something small that has just been salpped on the plate. My advice is if you want a big meal is to go into the town and get a meal or if you can't try eat something big during the day.

  • Liked — The Bar
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TymonHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meiringen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rebstock
Hotel Rebstock
#4 of 10 in Meiringen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel du Sauvage
Parkhotel du Sauvage
#5 of 10 in Meiringen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#1 of 10 in Meiringen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meiringen
Hotel Meiringen
#2 of 10 in Meiringen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpbach
Hotel Alpbach
#3 of 10 in Meiringen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
8.0 mi away
Grandhotel Giessbach
Grandhotel Giessbach
#1 of 1 in Giessbach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes

Property: Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes
Address: Alpbachallee 3, Meiringen 3860, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Meiringen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Meiringen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Sherlock Holmes Meiringen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing