We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, reasonable priced, friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Meiringen
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, reasonable priced, friendly service”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Cozy, reasonably priced rooms with balconies overlooking the Reichenbach falls (where Shelock Homes met his end) and a small swimming pool with impressive mountain views on the top floor.
Very kind, friendly and helpful receptionist- Desirée.

Meiringen is a perfect base to explore main Bernese Oberland highlights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrottingMari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    29
    23
    11
    12
See reviews for
37
29
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I'm not sure quite how I seem to be at such odds with other recent reviewers but I am. My OH and I spent two nights in this hotel during early July and we would not go back.

Let's start with the plus points. Though the rooms are quite small and somewhat dated, they are clean and the hotel is relatively well soundproofed (either that or the other guests were very quiet). The staff are also friendly. But it kinda ended there for me.

I find it puzzling in this day and age that in an area where internet is available, a hotel of this size (and apparent star rating) does not have free wifi. Instead the charge is CHF5 for 30 minutes. That is outrageous.

Brits, most other anglophones and anglophiles will also be puzzled by the lack of any tea/coffee making facilities in the room (and unlike other Swiss hotels I have stayed in, the front desk does not have the ability to loan a kettle). The lady at the front desk suggested that the water from the hot tap in our bathroom was "hot enough" for tea making.

But the bit where I am at complete odds with other recent reviewers is over the food. We stayed on a half board basis. The dinner the first night was so dreadful we refused to eat there on night two, despite having paid in advance. The salad bar was barely up to the description - some soggy lettuce, cucumber and a couple of bowls of other things. Truly uninspired and uninspiring. The main course was a disaster - my pork steak was not just undercooked, it was raw. As my Dad would have said, a god vet would have had it back on its feet. They did swop it for me (and I wasn't alone in complaining) but the replacement, though cooked, was pretty tasteless and the scoop of rice and the over-salted brown goo that came with it were not pleasant. Dessert appeared to be an attempt at kiwi fruit sorbet but looked and tasted more like crushed kiwi fruit that had been part frozen (yup, I know that is basically a sorbet but believe me, the difference between a sorbet and what we got was marked). To add insult to injury, we asked for a jug of tap water and when the bill came we had been charged CHF3 for it. I queried the bill at the time, thinking maybe there was a mix up between tap and mineral, and again at checkout, and both times I was assured this was a standard charge for tap water. Utterly outrageous.

A further issue - not at all the hotel's fault - is that compared to some of the lovely places we stayed (most notably Wengen and Grindelwald) Meiringen is a pretty insipid place. If you have the choice and it isn't a compulsory part of your route, avoid Meiringen. And if you do have to overnight in Meiringen, don't do so at the Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank englandrugby2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Meiringen hotels

Buelach, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed in the hotel for a few days this fall. The Sherlock Holmes is well located in town so you do not need the car during the stay. We had a few offers linked to Sherlock Holmes themes included in our deal. The staff is very friendly. Food wise you get a good variety of food and can be changed / adjusted if needed. Breakfast is good as well. The pool is big enough and might be crowned in high season. There is in addition a play room for the kids with a table tennis and table football.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The family room with bunks and twin beds was a good size, was very clean and had all that we needed for a comfortable stay on our self-drive holiday (including parking and a room safe). The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful, providing information and suggestions on what to see and do. Breakfast was excellent, the kids loved the play room and ping pong table and the hotel was within walking distance to supermarkets and the train station. This hotel was an excellent base for hiking and visiting nearby Interlaken, taking the Brienz-Rothorn Railway and less than 30 minutes to the beautiful alpine village of Grindelwald for ziplining fun! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

a nice Hotel with very nice Staff, good evenning meal, bath and room very clean, TV with a lot of canals, very central for skiiers, a little bit less 5 minutes to the train station. In the area a lot visiting possibilitys. A good place with childs, very child friendly.

Room Tip: a room with a balcony will be a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berni58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

On a motorbike ride through the alps. We decided to break the trip and stay in Meiringen, we are so glad we did. The service from the moment we arrived was sensational. The restaurant served lovely food and cold beer, the room was spacious and very comfortable. It is a great base if you were to go trekking in the hills or just touring around. I would stay again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justus2Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We used to stay here a while ago when the hotel was with its previous owners so we were keen to see what it was like now. We booked eight days stay over Christmas in a family room as we two children aged 5 and 8.
The owners were very friendly in their e mails to us prior to the visit, offered to collect us from the station and organised our lift passes. They also helped with information about ski hire.
When we phoned from the station we were greeted with enthusiasm and my husband and children were droppped off at the ski hire shop.
The staff at the hotel were obviously very happy in their work. Our room was clean with a double bed for us and lovely bunk bed for the children. The balcony gave a view over the town.
There is a games room and table tennis room for the children and there was a good mix of families from all over Europe staying. There is also a pool and sauna upstairs.
The bathroom was very clean and modern with a roomy shower. There was plenty of wardrobe space too.
The food was excellent and the children had a good menu, not just fried stuff and chips. They were willing to try a good variety of food, probably better than they do at home. Our waiting staff were kind and attentive. In the past this hotel had a varied track record with food (depending who was cooking that night) and the improvement is great !
On Christmas Eve St Nicholas came to visit with his donkeys and we all gathered together to sing Stille Nacht. It was also Trychelwoche while we were there, a folk end of year tradition in the Hasliberg involving costumes and very large cow bells.
The hotel is just a short walk from the cable car up to the ski area where there is a brilliant ski school with the most interesting kids programme, and it is also a short walk from the town centre and station. As regards the location it is great for both summer and winter activities.
I can honestly say that it was more like staying with family. We felt so very welcome ! Please see my pictures (not great quality but they give an idea of what it is like !).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Squawky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meiringen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#1 of 10 in Meiringen
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rebstock
Hotel Rebstock
#4 of 10 in Meiringen
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpbach
Hotel Alpbach
#3 of 10 in Meiringen
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Das Hotel Panorama
Das Hotel Panorama
#4 of 5 in Hasliberg
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel du Sauvage
Parkhotel du Sauvage
#5 of 10 in Meiringen
198 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Reuti
Hotel Reuti
#1 of 5 in Hasliberg
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes

Property: Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes
Address: Alpbachallee 3, Meiringen 3860, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Meiringen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Meiringen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Sherlock Holmes Meiringen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing