We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in the area, I suppose”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Meiringen
Certificate of Excellence
Prangins, Switzerland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best in the area, I suppose”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

While nothing special from outside, hotel is so clean, modern, well equipped and well maintained and managed by real professionals, that you start searching for a reason to come back.
Modern, comfortable and zen, with an excellent restaurant, what else to ask for?

Room Tip: I suppose all of them are of the same quality, just some more spacious. And you would want to be as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiklaima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriameiringen, Inhaber at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Tiklaima
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope, that you will find the reason to come back... We're looking forward very much to welcoming you again very soon!

Sincerely,
Your hosts Franziska & Simon Anderegg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    32
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
116
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I am usually a little skeptical about hotels located near the "bahnhof", so when my husband told me he had booked us at the Hotel Victoria Meiringen for the first leg of a long hiking weekend, I was not exactly thrilled. But I figured, "It's just one night…"

I was greeted and checked in by the owner upon my arrival. For all those who complain about poor customer service in Switzerland, this hotel is proof that good service begins at the top. The owner was warm, friendly and super helpful - and his approach was mirrored by all those who engaged us - from the restaurant servers to the cleaning staff.

The rooms here have all been completely renovated in a kind of sturdy Alpine chic. I love hotels that keep rugs and bedding textiles to a minimum - everything feels so much cleaner and fresher. I immediately fell into cosy napping on the pristine and super comfy bedding - and it was only 4 in the afternoon. The room was simple but impeccable in every way.

We strolled through town in the evening and nearly took dinner at a "guild" restaurant on a quiet side street. We were so glad we didn't! Instead, we returned to Hotel Victoria - and what a treat! Every bite from the amuse bouche to dessert was fantastic! Although the atmosphere is relaxed and casual, this was fine dining. Don't get me started on the macadamia nut brownie with banana-ginger ice cream - that alone is worth a trip to Meiringen!

The common areas of the hotel are also very inviting. Water and nibbles were set out in the afternoon and there are plenty of places to settle down - inside and out - to relax. There is even a small meeting room that can be closed off, which my husband is probably going to use for a team meeting at some point.

In terms of location, this is the place to be in Meiringen. It is just steps from the bahnhof, but at the end of a road, so it is really quiet and tranquil, but you are a quick stroll to all the necessities for enjoying a great hike in the area. The owner helped us plan our hike over breakfast and was a great resource.

It's just such a pleasure to stay at a hotel where the caring touch of the owners is felt in every detail. In the end, I was sorry that we had only booked for one night…But we know better now and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriameiringen, Inhaber at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear jcapri
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
your hosts Franziska & Simon Anderegg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
from North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Victoria for a week in January for our annual winter walking holiday. We have been staying at the Victoria for ten years now and we never fail to have a wonderful week. Franziska and Simon provide exceptional hospitality and Simon's cuisine is always a culinary experience we enjoy! (The Candlelight dinner option is well worth having in January - a delightful post Christmas treat!) The team of handpicked staff are knowledgeable,happy to assist and generally very well trained. An excellent breakfast is served which sets you up for a day's walking or skiing.The hotel is contemporary and immaculately clean and comfortable and the décor of the restaurant/bar provides a cosy atmosphere especially when it's snowing outside! We always have a superior room which is bigger than standard and has a bath as well as a shower. From the hotel it is an easy walk to the cable car station and the train and buses are only yards away. It is possible to do a variety of different walks using the different modes of transport and if it snows the paths are flattened to enable walking. Simon has an excellent local knowledge and can advise guests on all the options. On a wet day you can take the train to Interlaken, Spitz, Lucerne, Wengen etc. Another lovely touch is the Gluhwein and cake that is always awaiting you when you come back from a long day's walk. We are already looking forward to our next visit!!

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth the extra for the space, bath and south facing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swisstrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We booked this hotel through STC and it was excellent. It was a few steps away from the train station and within easy walking distance of the cable car station. Simon, the manager/owner could not of been more helpful, ensuring that we made the best use of every day with helpful tips on what to see and how to get there. Our room was spacious and very clean with every amenity we could wish for. The restaurant served really fine food and we also ate in the bar, where the food was equally as good. There were some nice touches like complimentary tea, water and fruit in the lounge area and cake and Gluewien every afternoon. We will certainly go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, they are larger and have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gliwice, Poland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights travelling across Switzerland.Very good location,walking distance to main attractions in Meiringen,restaurants,train station,etc.We liked the room very much.Breakfast buffet was also excellent.Very kind service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magdalena c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
185 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We did not book but drove into Meiringen on the hope of finding a hotel room for the night and we're very lucky to find this gem

Check in was quick and efficient, room and bathroom were clean and well appointed and it has a lovely modern, boutique feel to it which is quite unusual for Switzerland and appreciated

Would absolutely stay there again

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Great staff, excellent breakfast, modern clean rooms, near the station, free and fast internet. Highly recommend.

Stayed for a few days in October and looking forward to returning. It can be pricey but everything is in Switzerland. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent. Make sure you go for breakfast.

Looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meiringen
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rebstock
Hotel Rebstock
#4 of 10 in Meiringen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel du Sauvage
Parkhotel du Sauvage
#5 of 10 in Meiringen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meiringen
Hotel Meiringen
#3 of 10 in Meiringen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpbach
Hotel Alpbach
#2 of 10 in Meiringen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Gletscherblick
Hotel Gletscherblick
#2 of 5 in Hasliberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel zur Post
Hotel zur Post
#3 of 5 in Hasliberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: Bahnhofplatz 9, Meiringen 3860, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Meiringen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Meiringen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Meiringen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing