We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alpbach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alpbach
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Meiringen
Level Contributor
145 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

When we first arrived there was no one at the desk and we had some trouble getting help. It turned out that she was helping serve lunch in the restaurant. We ate in the restaurant twice. The food was good, but not wonderful. Breakfasts offered a variety and were also good.

The hotel is situated up a side street, but a reasonable walk from the rail station. Between the station and the hotel are groceries, bakeries, and several shops. It is also close to the Sherlock Holmes' museum. Using rail, we were able to visit both the gorge and the falls.

Our room and bath were clean, and both were a decent size. This is a relatively small hotel in a relatively small town. If you choose to visit any of these sights, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    13
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
11
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed with familly & friends for 3 nights in april end. The decor was awesome.
The location is just near a beautifull water falls seen in the day & night from tbe door steps of the hotel.
It has great break fast & meal in alpine wood meal room. The room and the toilet were spotless.
It is situated near small cinima. There is a park nere by for childeren.
If you want a quite stay in a moderm swiss village this is it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank axxTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Visiting from the USA we met with local friends who recommended the Alpbach for lunch. We were not impressed. The kitchen managed to serve a tough "lamb" filet with a dry stringy-cheese "risotto" concoction. We found it pretty amazing that this hotel was awarded with the Gilde Etablierter Schweizer Gastronomen. The service was excellent and friendly, though.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nurichHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed here for a week with son daughter and son in law for hiking in the alps. Booked through Sherpa travel tours, who were very helpful. Rooms, hotel, whole town of Meiringen were clean and well kept. We had two vegans and a vegetarian in our group. The hotel accommodated us in the most excellent manor, but be sure to let them know some weeks before you arrive. The steam bath and sauna though small were excellent after hiking, but was clothing optional. Owner Jean Claude was friendly and helpful. Some minor confusion for North Americans is that half board includes no drinks (not even tap water) at the evening meal (tap water 750 ml was 3 Swiss Francs). Wait staff were friendly but some had to struggle with English, but they did try. We tried a little German and it was fun as well as a learning expeience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CliveMacgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

The hotel is clean, rooms neat and bathrooms are adequate. The manager is quite indifferent and rude. Our group had purchased wine outside the hotel. We asked for a "set up" for the wine. The waitress said she would check with the manager, and returned in a few minutes with six glasses and ice. Imagine our surprise when we were later presented with a bill (while dining much later) for 50 Swiss Fr. The manager refused to speak to us to explain this charge. We had tipped the waitress quite generously when she brought the set up. I would not buy an ice cube from this establishment. (you had to beg for ice, too).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rnlmcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2008

We had a great time at the Alpbach. It couldn't have suited our needs better. We stayed about a week and the proximity to the Ecole d'Humanite, Bernhard Fahner's shops, Castor and Pollux, were great. We the nearby lift to Planplatte and Kaiserstadt to hike, eat at Weber's in Reuti and visit with friends. The owners were always cordial and friendly. We engaged each other in conversation on frequent occasions and they filled us in on local stories and the history of the hotel; even entertained guest we brought with us to breakfast or dinner. We could not have asked for a more pleasant stay. We will definitely stay there on our next visit. It was so pleasant to return to our clean new room every evening after rock climbing, going to Rosenlaui and the Jungfrau Joch. The Alpbach, in Meiringen, was the highlight of our trip to Switzerland. We loved the traditional dress and the wonderful selections for meals. The view from our window gave us the Englehoerner to our right, the Haslital and Meirinnen ahead and the lift to the Hasliberg to our right. The weather was impeccable and if we were ever fortunate enough to return for winter, we'd book far in advance because the proximity to the lift is just too good. I am sure the powder hounds of the world know of this secret spot. It was simply great.

  • Liked — It was all so new and clean and close to everything.
  • Disliked — We could not stay longer
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyMerzbacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2005

My fiancée and I stayed three nights at the Alpbach. It's run by the Gerbers, two friendly but somewhat opaque persons. When we arrived at the Meiringen station, Theres came to pick us up in the hotel van; her husband drove us back at the end of our stay; call ahead for this free service.
The hotel has a childish theme: kids' trains are on the hallway walls and most strangely on the blankets. We felt four years old as we got into bed. But the rooms and baths are spotless.
It is difficult to get a decent view of the alps anywhere in Meiringen, since the town is in the Aare Valley, just where it narrows into a gorge. However, a south-facing room should let you see the Reichenbach Falls.
Our only shock came from the meal in the vaunted restaurant. While salad and soup were delicious, the "medium" steak was cooked to a cardboard like consistency, while the "Geschnetzeltes" was so salty as to be almost inedible; it set us back over 100 CHF. For a tastier and much cheaper meal, try the cafeteria at the Migros Market on the main street near the train station (food-line closes at 6:30 PM).
The hotel is frequented by older tourists from Germany & France, and regular townspeople sit at the small bar next to the elevator.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nauta53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meiringen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#1 of 10 in Meiringen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rebstock
Hotel Rebstock
#4 of 10 in Meiringen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel du Sauvage
Parkhotel du Sauvage
#5 of 10 in Meiringen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meiringen
Hotel Meiringen
#2 of 10 in Meiringen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Gletscherblick
Hotel Gletscherblick
#2 of 5 in Hasliberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes
Das Hotel Sherlock Holmes
#7 of 10 in Meiringen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpbach

Property: Hotel Alpbach
Address: Kirchgasse 17, Meiringen 3860, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Meiringen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Meiringen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alpbach 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alpbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing