We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont be misled by restaurant exteriors - hidden gem”

Tham Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Asian delicacies amidst magnificent Swiss Alps.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dont be misled by restaurant exteriors - hidden gem”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We ordered chicken curry with rice, and a plate of vegetable fried rice. The food was up to the standards of any high scale Chinese restaurant, and quite inexpensive for 40 CHF total for two persons.

The restaurant from exterior looks like a kiosk, but dont be misled, it is probably the best warm food you can eat in Murren.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RohitSharma2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    53
    9
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“unforgettable..”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We had the best from Mr & Mrs Tham. We had most of our meals at this restaurant and Mr. Tham always came up with the most splendid dish for us. The noodles, the fried rice and the black pepper beef was awesome. The ingredients he used are of the best quality, the meat always tender and he was very patient in explaining to us the different type of dishes they have cos there's a lot to choose from. Once you've decided he'll be off to cook your meal in the open kitchen. You can actually see him preparing your meal. And we never heard him complaint about anything when we always came in late near closing time sometimes. The servise is quick and you never have to wait long for your meal to come,

Our favourites are the szechuan chicken, black pepper beef, beef noodle, chicken curry and the list goes on...

The restaurant is clean and cosy a little small but nice. With a small telly in one corner and when it's not crowded it's a nice place to have a quiet cup of coffee cos Mrs.Tham's coffee is the best. She would always let us have nice swiss ice-cream after our meal and Mr. Tham would send us off with gifts like mini tobblerones. And soemtimes when she's not busy she would teach us German! :)

What do we like best?
The food, their hospitality, the atmosphere, their friendliness and being able to enjoy your food while surrounded by the beautiful mountains.

What do we like least?
Leaving this joint

Mr.& Mrs Tham we'll back sooooon :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Teragia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty Quick and friendly”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Really great spot for lunch or dinner if you fancy a break from all that alpine stick to your ribs food (nice though that is).

Very authentic, very friendly staff and quick service in a small eatery not far from the station or the cable car on the lower route connecting either end of the village.

Most food prepared whilst you wait you really hot and fresh and we are always prevented us from over-ordering starters (which show both integrity and experience ... and of which we are thankful when the main dish arrives as one would not want to waste any).

Really worth a visit ...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saudi arabia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The real deal”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Staff is Asian and the food is authentic. This place was great, a hidden gem. Not sure if the are open for lunches but definitely for dinner.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank carlflanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best chinese food switzerland”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We found this restaurant without read the comment befor. Just because the cold was Murren at October. While we needed something warm, then we had 2 noodles. They were really delicious. And the price was the surprise. We paid 30 CHF for the diner. The McDonald's isn't cheaper neither. Finally we took a tapper of fried rice for the next day.
Later he told us, he came from Singapore, hold this small restaurant since 18 years ago. Before that he was a chef in a 5 star hotel. By the quality of the meal, I believe him. It looks like he is famous now because several trip magazine had interviewed him and his small Chinese restaurant en the top of the mountain.
The restaurant is small, there are 3 o 4 tables for 18-20 people max. The kitchen is opened. The good side is that you can see how Mr. Tham prepare the food without anything hidden and all clear. The bad side is that where is too smoke.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Z L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tham Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tham Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing