We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Böbs Exceptional Chalet”
Review of Chalet Bobs

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murren
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Bobs
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Mürren is about as perfect as a place on earth can get, and Böbs is the best place to stay. I could simply leave my review at that. How about this: people return here, year after year, some come to stay for three weeks at a time. You simply do not develop a clientele like that for no reason. We had the bottom apartment for three nights. It had a kitchen-dining area with all the cooking stuff you need, good sized clean bathroom, and a living-bedroom with a fantastic view. We had two chairs and a table out front of our place, unlike the upper units which have no deck, but have more space. We arrived in pouring rain, we literally had to empty our packs and spread it all out to dry. Not a problem as we had lots of room. We used the kitchen for pne big meal a day, eating outside to enjoy the view. There is WiFi, a TV with good radio stations, and the owners are really great people. Don't be concerned that the apartment is "waaay out on the edge of town," everything is like a five minute walk, and again, the view is unsurpassed. They asked me to send a bank check for $150 to hold the room, and sure enough they returned it to me on arrival. Don't be put off by this, they are a family business and work on a cash basis, so this is efficient and helps keep costs down. So, I am saying, this is such a great place, I am already trying to scheme how to get back here!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaVidaBuono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

We arrived on a day when visibility was about 20 metres, and we managed to navigate our way across Mürren to Chalet Böbs (peering closely at all signposts due to the low cloud). Our apartment on the first floor has 3 rooms and sleeps 5. The main bedroom has a double bed, a wardrobe, and views to die for (although we couldn’t see anything when we arrived!) The second bedroom has a single bed, a double bunk, two small wardrobes and two kiddie chairs. The bathroom is fairly small, with a shower and a toilet. The living/dining room has two 2-seater sofas, a coffee table, a bookshelf with a handful of books (some in English), a dining table with 6 chairs (a couple of which were in the bedrooms) and a chest-of-drawers which doubles as a bench. Windows look east over the valley and north towards the town. The kitchen contains a bar fridge, a 3-burner electric stove, oven, kettle, coffeemaker and plenty of crockery and cutlery. It’s fairly small but there was plenty of room for three adults. There is heating in every room, including the entry, which has coat hooks and shoe racks. There is also wi-fi. It would have been entertaining watching our faces that first evening as the cloud lifted in patches and bits of mountain and valley became visible – and then invisible!

There is a terrace outside with some plastic chairs and the best view in the world! Our hosts Kitty and Albert were fabulous. We raced down to their terrace as soon as Albert started playing his alphorn, which was amazing. I just sat and listened for about an hour each time. I even got to have a go myself! Mürren was a wonderful place to stay – and yes – we did get some good weather – and we really enjoyed Chalet Böbs – leaning on the window ledges watching the mountains and the valley and the people walking down to Gimmelwald, or just sitting on the terrace watching cablecars and paragliders.

And everything about the other four reviews still applies – except there is now internet in the apartment.

Room Tip: There is some noise from the room above, so perhaps the apartment on the second floor would be quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loki_crazycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Of the 3 weeks on this trip, Chalet Bobs was our favorite place we stayed. The views are mind-blowing. Look at the pics. Chalet Bobs is really economical too considering how expensive CH is. And you'll reduce your meal costs by dining in.

The apt is small but clean and comfortable has everything you need. The owners live in the building and very nice and friendly.

The hiking in the region is the best. I love Switzerland - how everything is clean and tidy everywhere, people are well-mannered, the public transit runs like clockwork.

It's about a 5-10 min hilly walk to the place from either the main train station or from the cable car station.

Note that the grocery store in town closes in the middle of the day for about an hour.

We're planning on going back next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms will be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bettyx1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

If you are considering Murren and Chalet Boebs, to borrow a saying--Just do it! Murren has a spectacular position, much closer to the Eiger, Monch, and Jungfrau than Grindelwald, and Chalet Boebs offers an excellent locale for viewing them. As other reviews have pointed out, the chalet is the last house in Murren on the way down to Gimmelwald. Rick Steves loves Gimmelwald, but we were very happy with Chalet Boebs'location, as Murren offers a range of stores and conveniences, while Gimmelwald offers a rural farm village atmosphere...and Chalet Boebs gets the best of both worlds. More importantly, while the chlaet offers no deck, its windows open on to a spectacular vista. Walks in the area are amazing as well.

Kitty and Albert are welcoming and helpful while respectful of guests' privacy. The chalet is well-furnished and comfortable. Both my husband and I really enjoyed the comfy bed and duvets, and I loved saving money cooking some meals with vittles from the town market, Coop. (Prices there are similar to Coops in other places, so no need to schlep food up to Murren to save money.) As others have pointed out, the restaurant prices are very high given a weak dollar, so we took advantage of the well-stocked kitchen and the pleasures of the spaciousness of our upper floor chalet apartment for meals. There is also a table outside when the weather allows for an outdoor meal at that altitude.

The locked room other reviews mention is indeed another bedroom (with bunkbeds--see the website photos) when more than a couple stay. I did a lot of research and comparison before choosing Chalet Boebs. While it is out of town and a bit of a hike, we could not have been happier with our choice of accommodation in Murren.

Room Tip: All three apartments are about the same. The top flat is the quietest, lowest has a little
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank GlobePedaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Chalet Bob’s, oh how I miss you! This is a long, wordy review so I’ll get to the point—yes, I would recommend this place for your stay in Murren. We stayed in this quaint little chalet for three days in late June 2011. Located at the far end of town, under the Schilthorn cable car and on the road to Gimmelwald, we arrived toting our backpacks and in awe of our surroundings. On the door was a note from Kitty and Albert (the owners) welcoming us and letting us know which apartment was ours. We were given the middle floor that is entered at ground level. The door was unlocked and we found the apartment to be clean and well-equipped. Our apartment was a one bedroom with living room, kitchenette and bathroom. There was another door that may have gone to a second bedroom, but it was locked so we are not sure if this was part of the apartment or something else. Regardless, there was quite enough space for two people. The kitchen has everything you need to cook, even a few dry goods like sugar, coffee and spices. Speaking of which, if you’re coming from the U.S., take note that the oven is not in Fahrenheit in Europe. We actually forgot this for a few moments while attempting to cook a pizza (purchased from the Co-op).
A few hours after we arrived, we met Kitty who was ever so hospitable and spoke English. We learned as much German as we could, but we traveled for month in Europe and had to learn some French and Italian as well, so we appreciated that the communication barriers were lessened. Later, we heard Albert playing his alphorn from his patio. Having never heard the alphorn played, I was struck by the beauty of its melancholy melody. As Albert practiced his instrument, paragliders sailed down from a highpoint above. Coupled with a view so breathtaking that words cannot do justice (I mean, the Alps are right there out the window), I felt so overwhelmed by the beauty of it all, that I actually got a little weepy (shhh…don’t tell anyone).
There is no internet access but there is cable television with three channels in English (CNN, BBC and something else). As previously mentioned, the apartments have kitchenettes which are a blessing considering the STEEP prices in the restaurants. The average prices are about 30 francs for dinners like schnitzel or steak and fries or 10 francs for a dish of ice cream. We ate out the first night at Edelweiss but picked up groceries for the remainder of our meals at the CO-OP grocery store. This is a Swiss chain and you can find everything you need for meals there, just make sure you check the hours-- closed on Sunday and they close for a few hours in the afternoon before opening back up and operating until 18:30 on other days.
As I write this review, it is the eve before our departure. We hiked down to the valley floor twice and back up and once down from the Schilthorn (if your knees can take it, do it; it’s about a three hour hike, though, so take water) and it was so nice to have a quiet place to end the day. With that said the upstairs apartment has been vacant until about 2 hours ago and let me tell you, they are LOUD. This could be their two kids running around or it could be a symptom of thin walls and floors. Just something to keep in mind, if you’re the persnickety type. Regardless, Murren now holds a special place in our hearts and Chalet Bobs was an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anneelovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We booked our room thru the website www.boebs.ch . After checking the availability I requested to stay, the online calendar was a little off of what was available but there was an opening when I needed it. Emailing was mostly good with some delay in response. A deposit check was requested and mailed to Switzerland to secure the room. The check took less than a week from California USA to arrive.

The Apartment was located at the very edge of town on the road to Gimmelwald. It is the last house on the right on the road down, right under the Gondola lift lines (just look for the sign). There is a climb every morning up into Murren for food and other things. It's not far but is a little steep. This may not be the most convenient location but let me just say the view makes up for this in a big way. Go to the website and see the pan view. This is the actual view and let me say it is much better in person, absolutely incredible! There are cows grazing field right under the window as well as a flowing river which adds peaceful sounds of bells and water while you gaze at the incredible mountain scenery. This has to be the most scenic place I have ever been.

The apartment was nice. It had more room than the other rooms we rented for our trip. It is not large by US standards but for Euro standards it is roomy. The kitchen was nice and a real money saver since most things in Switzerland are very expensive including restaurants. We purchased food at the CO OP (town market) next to the ATM and it saved us a ton on food. The bed was comfortable and good size. The shower was the typical euro shower enclosure the water was regulated but was nice and hot. There were only 2 of us but there is a whole extra room available if you have a family. Things would get tight but manageable. Overall this was one of our best accommodations in Europe on this trip.

If you need WIFI, since it is not available in room, the Post Office has free WIFI off the front of the building. Eiger Guesthouse also has WIFI available just ask. This was critical for our Skype calls every evening; this is also a money saver if you have a laptop.

Exploring the region can be expensive as some trains and Gondolas are MUCH more expensive than the standard destinations. I would say spend the money since this region is so incredible we had 3 days traveling here and it was not enough, I could have stayed much longer, it is so beautiful you will want more. For us Murren was perfect, Gimmelwald was too small and Wegen was too big so Murren was just right. I would consider Wegen next time the view was not as good but the shopping and services were in better supply.

If you have the opportunity to see this region go. It is breathtaking. It is similar to Yosemite but on an even grander scale if you can imagine that. If I were anywhere close to this area I would not miss it. We rode the train all over Northern Italy and the whole mid section of Switzerland and this was the most incredible place we saw. Bobs Chalet is a gem if you can handle the morning climb to town. For about the same price as the hotels you get an apartment with more room and way better scenery. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dgp41482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bb19532014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murren hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
662 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#3 of 11 in Murren
280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#5 of 11 in Murren
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
672 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
0.9 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Bobs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Bobs

Address: Ch-3825 | Unterdorf, Murren, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Murren
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing