We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Brainer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalet Bobs

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murren
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Bobs
Windermere, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No Brainer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

if in the murren area of switzerland, do yourself a favor and just make reservations at chalet bobs-you will have a beautiful small apartment with the most incredible view and the most gracious hosts you could possibly ask for-all this for about half of what you would pay for any of the other comparable accommodations-it is a no brainer; you'll be glad you did

peter and sandy

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 994baron7171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed in Murren for 3 nights. Murren itself is awesome. It is so peaceful and scenic , you want to stay more no matter how long you have been there. Chalet Bob's is apartment kind of arrangement with a kitchen , bedroom and bathroom. We stayed on ground floor and the view from our windows were awesome. You will feel heavenly in this place. The owners are great people and it was nice to be able to meet them. Only problem with us was that we traveled with lot of luggage and Chalet Bob's being a walk of 15-20 minutes from BLM stop, it was little troublesome to walk all the way with that much of luggage to and fro. But otherwise if you are travelling light , i think you cannot find a better place to stay than this one .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priyanshika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed on the top level for our honeymoon and couldn't of asked for anything better. The room was spacious and comfortable. The kitchen was nice to be able to save money on food and store in the refrigerator. Kitty and Albert was so sweet and accommodating. A couple of times we went to concerts in town and the surrounding towns to see Albert play the Alphorn. He is pretty much a local celebrity! It is obvious the views are outstanding from Murren but Chalet Bobs has the best in town in my opinion. We met a couple that was staying right on the main street and said it gets very loud especially at night. Even though we were a little bit farther down the hill, it was worth it to open our windows at night and listen to the waterfall right outside our window as we slept. Pure peace and quietness. Definitely would recommend Chalet Bobs and look forward to going back in the future!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
184 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Mürren is about as perfect as a place on earth can get, and Böbs is the best place to stay. I could simply leave my review at that. How about this: people return here, year after year, some come to stay for three weeks at a time. You simply do not develop a clientele like that for no reason. We had the bottom apartment for three nights. It had a kitchen-dining area with all the cooking stuff you need, good sized clean bathroom, and a living-bedroom with a fantastic view. We had two chairs and a table out front of our place, unlike the upper units which have no deck, but have more space. We arrived in pouring rain, we literally had to empty our packs and spread it all out to dry. Not a problem as we had lots of room. We used the kitchen for pne big meal a day, eating outside to enjoy the view. There is WiFi, a TV with good radio stations, and the owners are really great people. Don't be concerned that the apartment is "waaay out on the edge of town," everything is like a five minute walk, and again, the view is unsurpassed. They asked me to send a bank check for $150 to hold the room, and sure enough they returned it to me on arrival. Don't be put off by this, they are a family business and work on a cash basis, so this is efficient and helps keep costs down. So, I am saying, this is such a great place, I am already trying to scheme how to get back here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaVidaBuono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We arrived on a day when visibility was about 20 metres, and we managed to navigate our way across Mürren to Chalet Böbs (peering closely at all signposts due to the low cloud). Our apartment on the first floor has 3 rooms and sleeps 5. The main bedroom has a double bed, a wardrobe, and views to die for (although we couldn’t see anything when we arrived!) The second bedroom has a single bed, a double bunk, two small wardrobes and two kiddie chairs. The bathroom is fairly small, with a shower and a toilet. The living/dining room has two 2-seater sofas, a coffee table, a bookshelf with a handful of books (some in English), a dining table with 6 chairs (a couple of which were in the bedrooms) and a chest-of-drawers which doubles as a bench. Windows look east over the valley and north towards the town. The kitchen contains a bar fridge, a 3-burner electric stove, oven, kettle, coffeemaker and plenty of crockery and cutlery. It’s fairly small but there was plenty of room for three adults. There is heating in every room, including the entry, which has coat hooks and shoe racks. There is also wi-fi. It would have been entertaining watching our faces that first evening as the cloud lifted in patches and bits of mountain and valley became visible – and then invisible!

There is a terrace outside with some plastic chairs and the best view in the world! Our hosts Kitty and Albert were fabulous. We raced down to their terrace as soon as Albert started playing his alphorn, which was amazing. I just sat and listened for about an hour each time. I even got to have a go myself! Mürren was a wonderful place to stay – and yes – we did get some good weather – and we really enjoyed Chalet Böbs – leaning on the window ledges watching the mountains and the valley and the people walking down to Gimmelwald, or just sitting on the terrace watching cablecars and paragliders.

And everything about the other four reviews still applies – except there is now internet in the apartment.

Room Tip: There is some noise from the room above, so perhaps the apartment on the second floor would be quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loki_crazycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Of the 3 weeks on this trip, Chalet Bobs was our favorite place we stayed. The views are mind-blowing. Look at the pics. Chalet Bobs is really economical too considering how expensive CH is. And you'll reduce your meal costs by dining in.

The apt is small but clean and comfortable has everything you need. The owners live in the building and very nice and friendly.

The hiking in the region is the best. I love Switzerland - how everything is clean and tidy everywhere, people are well-mannered, the public transit runs like clockwork.

It's about a 5-10 min hilly walk to the place from either the main train station or from the cable car station.

Note that the grocery store in town closes in the middle of the day for about an hour.

We're planning on going back next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms will be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettyx1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

If you are considering Murren and Chalet Boebs, to borrow a saying--Just do it! Murren has a spectacular position, much closer to the Eiger, Monch, and Jungfrau than Grindelwald, and Chalet Boebs offers an excellent locale for viewing them. As other reviews have pointed out, the chalet is the last house in Murren on the way down to Gimmelwald. Rick Steves loves Gimmelwald, but we were very happy with Chalet Boebs'location, as Murren offers a range of stores and conveniences, while Gimmelwald offers a rural farm village atmosphere...and Chalet Boebs gets the best of both worlds. More importantly, while the chlaet offers no deck, its windows open on to a spectacular vista. Walks in the area are amazing as well.

Kitty and Albert are welcoming and helpful while respectful of guests' privacy. The chalet is well-furnished and comfortable. Both my husband and I really enjoyed the comfy bed and duvets, and I loved saving money cooking some meals with vittles from the town market, Coop. (Prices there are similar to Coops in other places, so no need to schlep food up to Murren to save money.) As others have pointed out, the restaurant prices are very high given a weak dollar, so we took advantage of the well-stocked kitchen and the pleasures of the spaciousness of our upper floor chalet apartment for meals. There is also a table outside when the weather allows for an outdoor meal at that altitude.

The locked room other reviews mention is indeed another bedroom (with bunkbeds--see the website photos) when more than a couple stay. I did a lot of research and comparison before choosing Chalet Boebs. While it is out of town and a bit of a hike, we could not have been happier with our choice of accommodation in Murren.

Room Tip: All three apartments are about the same. The top flat is the quietest, lowest has a little
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobePedaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murren hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
#6 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#5 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#4 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Bobs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Bobs

Property: Chalet Bobs
Address: CH-3825 | Unterdorf, Murren, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Murren
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing