We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best part of trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bellevue

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Murren
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Bellevue
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best part of trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We traveled to Munich, Salzburg, Baden Baden and Muerren with a stop-over in Dublin on the way home. We stayed at the Bellevue in Muerren for 4 nights and those were the highlight of our trip. The area itself is just gorgeous and you can't beat the weather at that time of year (mid-September) for hiking. The hotel just topped off a perfect time. It was cozy and homey, but the room was big enough for the 2 of us to be quite comfortable, as was the bathroom. We had a shared balcony (with one other room), however we were by ourselves each time we went out there. We took another traveler's advice and requested a mountain view - highly recommend!
We ate in the dining room each morning for breakfast; basic Swiss fare (variety of cold meats, fresh bread, alpine butter, cheese, hard boiled eggs), but oh so good, excellent quality and it was included in our rate. Simple and filling with a different selection each day. Ruth, the innkeeper was there each morning. We also dined twice at the property for dinner. I had the chamois one night and it was probably the best meal of our trip.
The terrace was lovely for an afternoon beer and to enjoy the peace and beauty of the alps - you could not ask for a better view.
Muerren is quite small, so everything is in walking distance (good, since it is a car free village!). We visited Lauterbrunnen Valley, the Schilthorn and Jungfrau from here; it was a great "home base".
Hotel Bellevue has a coin operated laundry in the basement which we found quite handy; everything was supplied for your convenience.
We hope to make it back again and highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning a trip to the Swiss Alps.

Room Tip: When you get off the cog and head towards the hotel, take the Y to the left for a much easier slope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1whowanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    38
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
51
120
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Ruth & Othmar were excellent hosts , making our stay as comfortable as possible in this very scenic village in Switzerland Alps region. Our room balcony, bathroom, Hotel Terrace, Breakfast room and the restaurant all had that remarkable views of the snow clad mountains that will take your breath away.
Our room was small but comfortable, the large bath room was very well fitted with two scenic windows and warm. Extensive breakfast with everything from varieties of breads, fresh fruits, cold meats, cheese, four different marmalades and shiny hard boiled eggs. Jugs of fresh coffee was delivered by ever smiling Ruth as you arrive for the breakfast everyday. We were also surprised to taste excellent spicy vegetarian stew in Bellevue. Super market is behind the hotel. Coin operated Laundromat is at the basement of this hotel was very handy. Othmar was kind enough to drop our bags on the last day to the Murren station as this is car free mountain village.

Room Tip: Call the hotel before if you want your luggage to be picked up from the Murren station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Our 4 days at the Hotel Bellevue in Murren were undoubtedly the best time of our vacation in Switzerland. The view is spectacular, the rooms are cozy and nicely furnished, the restaurant is quite good, and Ruth and Othmar are friendly and attentive hosts. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay to explore Murren, the Lauterbrunnen valley, and the Schilthorn. We hiked in the area, swam and hot tubbed at the Sports Center up the street, and my partner did an unforgettable tandem paragliding (160 francs) from Murren down to Stechelberg. If we go back to Murren someday, we'll definitely choose the Bellevue again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DouglasL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matcham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Murren has to be the quaintest mountain village in all of Switzerland, not only spectacular views, but has a wonderful country feel is because there are no cars (or tourist buses). The Hotel Bellevue was excellent value for money for our family of 2 adults and 3 young children. The owners were amazing, so patient and kind to our children, remembering special things like straws with their breakfast hot chocolates (a crazy little request I know). And then, when we lost our memory card from our camera and thought that it was impossible to ever track it down, they even found that and it is currently on its way in the post to Australia. We are very thankful !

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claudetteandmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Well-maintained and clean hotel, more spacious and luxurious-feeling than other hotels we stayed in while in this area. Restaurant was the same....a step above the others. The price of both the meal and the room was steeper, too, though, so if you are budget-conscious, you might want to choose another hotel and restaurant. However, if you have the means to splurge a little bit, this is definitely a good place to do it. The food was excellent; I think it might have had Michelin 4-stars.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingcaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

August stay, top floor with front and side balcony

This family run hotel feels has a B&B feel with lovely décor (the only charming décor found on our Swiss trip) and really good food. If you want the “Heidi of the Mountains” experience stay in the wood panelled room with “hayloft” and bed facing out the window.

PROS – good location, great views, large rooms with sitting area, cozy dining room and patio with views, nice library area, hospitable staff, charming décor, great bathroom, spotlessly clean, good fondu, best breakfast (multiple breads, lots of fresh local cheeses and butter, cured meats, boiled eggs, juices, marmalades, whole fruits, granola, including a chocolate granola, and cereals), the rooms on the side with balconies have good view too. Provided access to up the road sports complex with pool and whirlpool (we did not use). The photos on their site and this one are good representations.

CONS – some noise from the stairwell and above, so we moved to an upper room. Personally, some rooms are decorated cuter than others, the front balconies are not partitioned and don’t feel private.

Surprises in General – no lifts at hotels, soap provided (no lotion/conditioners), some hotels (not this one) didn’t provide wash-cloths, no air-conditioning was fine for us, no bugs, all beds were twins pushed together with no efforts to “seam” them, feather duvet covers were too hot for my husband, the feather pillows were too flat for me, clothes dried fast with no humidity or drying racks.

If you’re using RICK STEVES or have seen his video 1) He looooves Gimmelwald, but it was too small and rural for us. Murren and Wengen were just right fr us. 2) The path up to Murren from Gimmelwald is steep 3) There is no such thing as leisurely biking (the trail up from Lauterbrunnen to Murren is quite steep & the trail from Gimmelwald to the valley is treacherous even for experienced mountain bikers) 4) The 2hr hike down from Shilthorn to Bern (and beyond) is straight down and a knee buster. 5) We agreed with him that Interlaken and Grindelwald were too touristy, and would not even recommend a friends go there. 6) Luaterburnnen and the Valley were less so, but still busier and louder.

Room Tip: See room first and check alternate rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ATL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

The owners of the charming hotel were very gracious and accommodating. The rooms are clean and very comfortable especially after a day long hike. Breakfast was a huge spread of meats, jams, yoghurt, fruits, juices. Great views from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iwannabewhereyouare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#4 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
#6 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#5 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Blumental Murren
Hotel Blumental Murren
#8 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue

Property: Hotel Bellevue
Address: Lus 1050A, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and personaly run Hotel, central located direct at hiking trails and ski slopesRenovated and comfortable rooms with great viewsCozy Restaurant with swiss and venison specialities ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing