We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 2012 August Mussen Switzerland vacation”
Review of Hotel Eiger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Eiger
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our 2012 August Mussen Switzerland vacation”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This has to be one of the most beautiful places in the world. This beautiful hotel sits in a beautiful little village nestled on the side of a cliff overlooking the Jungfrau Mountain, the tallest in Europe. WOW! We had mountain views of more than 180 degrees. So beautiful! We took the train on the Jungfrau Mountain tour which is a must do! We took a beautiful two hour train ride up the mountain through meadows and caves up to the top. We could see the whole mountain range and glaciers from several look out points, restaurants and shops. The other great mountain adventure was the Schilthorn Mountain where the James Bond movie, His Majesties Secret Service, was filmed. Again, amazing views. We always came back to our beautiful hotel. The hotel has three hotels in it, one with smaller rooms and a condo setup. The little village has a little bit of everything in it plus amazing views all around.

Room Tip: Get a room in the front of the hotel facing the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magoo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    69
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
181
301
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
providence,ri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend, and it was a wonderful time. The service is excellent-our luggage was brought to the hotel from the train station, thankfully as we were exhusted from lugging it from train to train. We were warmly greeted, and given a few ideas to start our stay in Murren, so off we went. After a few hours of poking around and having a beer, we came back to our lovely room, freshened up and went down to dinner. The food was fantastic, service was friendly, and helpful and the wine we had at our servers suggestion was perfect. An indoor pool and sauna helped work out the kinks of travel, and the super breakfast in the morning got us going. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curransarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2012

What a wonderful hotel in a charming little Swiss village. The rooms with mountain views were wonderful, the food was delicious, and all of the staff was were very engaging and extremely friendly and helpful. The pool also was fantastic. Can't say enough good things about this establishment.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wbh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schipluiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

When staying at this hotel you become part of the family. Very attentive and forthcoming staff, from chambermaids upto owners/director. Standard reply for any request is that it is their pleasure to help you. For our 15 year old daughter the swimmingpool was a great attraction. The whirls and jets made it into a wonderful play area. The food and service in the restaurants at the hotel were top! Also the owner will stop by to inquire if every thing is in order and has a friendly chat. Murren is very peaceful, especially because there are hardly any cars in the streets. Great place for relaxing with the most astonishing views and enjoy the wild flowers during one of your hikes.

Room Tip: We stayed at the suite with the large balcony with view on Eiger/Jungfrau. Absolutely wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familie_Schoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We paid extra for a mountain view room. It was spectacular when the fog cleared the first day. Murren is a cute little town. There are several hikes of various lengths and difficulties. The staff is very eager to show you a map. We ate dinner in the restaurant one night. It was expensive but very good and the service was also. But the swimming pool was amazing!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djjjs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The rooms are very nice and renovated. Ask for renovated rooms when making a reservation as they have both. The ones on the first floor are renovated. The top ones are not. They are in the process of renovating those.

The breakfast was excellent. The service was excellent.

Overall excellent. It won't be a mistake to stay here. Only thing is that up in the hill here at Murren, it gets very cloudy. So staying in the valley of Lauterbrunnen is not a bad idea. The only problem in Lauterbrunnen is that none of the hotels are good. They are not even half-decent. We physically went to the top hotels in Lauterbrunnen including the ones that are recommended in Rick Steve's book. But rooms in those hotels are just too small. So there is no real choice of even half-decent hotels in Lauterbrunnen. So either stay in Hotel Eiger in Murren or in Interlaken. Not sure if there are any good hotels in Interlaken as we didn't look for one.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hema K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This hotel was perfect in every way. The food was fantastic, the staff very helpful welcoming and warm, the room was spotless with everything we needed and an amazing view of the mountains. The location was also wonderful, opposite the train station and close to lots of beautiful walks and pastures as well as shops, funicular stations, places to eat etc. The village is quite quiet but there is a great atmosphere and all the locals are very friendly and always happy to help. We could not fault this hotel (and village) and would love to return, it made a perfect destination for very memorable and happy holiday... keep up the excellent work to the owners and all the lovely staff.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Jungfrau... its a perfet way to start the day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahelizabeth81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murren
0.0 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 11 in Murren
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#4 of 11 in Murren
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#6 of 11 in Murren
343 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eiger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eiger

Property: Hotel Eiger
Address: Aegerten 1079c, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Murren
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Murren
#1 Romantic Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eiger 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eiger in car free Murren - the perfect hideaway for some days in the mountains situated on a sunny plateau underneath the Schilthorn (James Bond location). Only 1 1/2 hours from Bern-Belp and 2 1/2 hours from Zuerich and in the middle of the Swiss Alps. We offer charming rooms, an indoor pool with sauna and massage, panoramic restaurant with tasty options, free WLAN and conference room for you next summit meeting. The Hotel Eiger is owned and personally managed by the young Staehli family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Eiger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eiger Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing