We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our favourite hotel”
Review of Hotel Eiger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Eiger
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“our favourite hotel”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at Hotel Eiger for the fifth time and will do our best to return again next year, as we can never get enough of this place. We enjoy everything, from the snowy train ride to the hotel, the warm greeting by the owners, warm and comfortable rooms (we almost always end up taking a family suite), stunning views of the three mountain tops, an excellent breakfast buffet, a large swimming pool with sauna (again with the mountain view) to a delicious dinner in the Stubli downstairs. Susanna and Adrian do a fantastic job of making you feel at home, are always ready to help with whatever we happen to need and seem to know each of their guests personally. Of course many, like us, have been coming here for several years. The staff is very friendly and helpful. By now we have come to know many by name and this adds to the family atmosphere that we feel here. Eiger also has Muerren’s only night bar and nothing fixes you better for the night than one or two (or more) of Michael’s outstanding cocktails.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    69
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
181
300
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We are comming there every year and its always great pleasure for us to stay in Hotel Eiger. Me and my wife we simply love this hotel. Location is just perfect. Family atmosphere, owners and all employees are so kind and nice, rooms are very nice, spa is simply excellent and dining there is celebration every single day (twice in our case).

Room Tip: My reco is to choose room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanMachacek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We have just returned from our second stay at the wonderful Hotel Eiger and I hope that we return. The Stähli-von Allmen family run the hotel in an extremely guest-centred way, and all staff who we saw have the same excellent customer service orientation. There is a strong sense of all staff knowing their guests as families or individuals. The service is very friendly and with a sense of humour, not at all stuffy.

The rooms are warm and comfortable, the food is very good, and the location is great, with fabulous views across the valley to the three mountains opposite.

No help is too much trouble for the team.

Recommended without hesitation.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wht1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Had a wonderful Christmas at this lovely family run hotel. The management and staff are so friendly and couldn't do enough to please you. The rooms are very comfortable and the food is absolutely delicious. The hotel is in a great location with stunning views of the mountains and the facilities first rate. We will be returning - soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013

What a trip! We LOVED the Eiger Hotel! The staff was fabulous! Communicated via email multiple times to help ensure our trip was perfect. From providing a baby bed, gowns for the pool, turning down our covers with chocolate on our pillow, to setting up our daycare... HIGHLY recommend!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seliena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

The Eiger in Murren is a family run hotel that has been run by the same family for over 100 years. The facilities are of course new and commodious.The heated indoor pool and jacuzzi with it's spectacular view of the Eiger adds a finishing touch to being able to truly relax in the tranquility of this lovely place.. The staff were delightful and communicated the family atmosphere and welcome to all of us. Our check out time was unusual and everything was done to accommodate our mountain of ski gear and made allowances for us right up to departure time. We would not hesitate to stay at The Eiger a hotel again anytime!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ergodanse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We first stayed at the Eiger thirty years ago and since then my wife and I have spent sixteen wonderful holidays at this remarkable Hotel - indeed, we have already booked for next July.
Over the years we have known three generations of the family who own and run the Eiger and many of the staff have become old friends.
At the Eiger you will find that Susanna and Adrian, together with the Eiger Team, make you welcome as soon as you step into Reception. Nothing is too much trouble for them and it will not take you long before you consider yourself part of the family.
I could carry on about the Eiger for hours, but I will rest my case by saying if you do not stay here you will never know what you have missed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spotless but try and have a room looking south and to the mountains.The first time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christoper C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murren
0.0 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 11 in Murren
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#5 of 11 in Murren
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#6 of 11 in Murren
342 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eiger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eiger

Property: Hotel Eiger
Address: Aegerten 1079c, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Murren
#1 Romantic Hotel in Murren
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eiger 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eiger in car free Murren - the perfect hideaway for some days in the mountains situated on a sunny plateau underneath the Schilthorn (James Bond location). Only 1 1/2 hours from Bern-Belp and 2 1/2 hours from Zuerich and in the middle of the Swiss Alps. We offer charming rooms, an indoor pool with sauna and massage, panoramic restaurant with tasty options, free WLAN and conference room for you next summit meeting. The Hotel Eiger is owned and personally managed by the young Staehli family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Eiger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eiger Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing