We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at the Eiger”
Review of Hotel Eiger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Eiger
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Our family have been staying at The Eiger on and off for over 20 years. The greatest part of the visit is the welcoming and personal attention for the owners (as well as all the staff). Nothing is too much trouble.

We don't actually look anywhere esle for a dkiing holiday and the next genration ( 5 - 10 year olds) asre now enjoying the Eiger hospitality.

Room Tip: For a spectacular view get a room on the front but there are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don1Walton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Murren is a spectacular place with amazing nature, but this hotel is equally spectacular when it comes to service. This hotel is a role model for how service should be.

The staff here really goes the extra mile. I walked into the hotel's reception and they already knew my name and had everything ready. They are super-friendly and genuinely happy that you are staying at the hotel and really want to make your stay awesome, compared to the fake smiles you often get at chain hotels. The receptionist then personally escorted me to show where my room was. My room was spacious, in top condition and had a large terrace facing the beautiful mountains. The food is also excellent and as I walked into the restaurant the waitress already knew that I was tired because I had a long journey. What other hotels do this? WiFi connection was super-fast, even though the hotel was fairly full. Breakfast had a great selection.

Checkout took 45 seconds (including the credit card payment for the food). However, I had forgotten some clothes in my room. What is surprising is that during the (short) check-out process, the hotel staff had already checked my room and brought down my clothes. I have no idea how they did this as quickly as they did.

If you ever go to Murren for its spectacular nature or skiing, do yourself a favor and stay here. This is likely as good as it gets when it comes to hotel service experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was our 3rd time at the Hotel Eiger in Murren. There's not really much to say other than everything was amazing! The rooms were extremely clean, very warm and comfortable. The restaurant and other public areas are well maintained and staffed to give all the comforts of a great holiday break. The meals from breakfast to evening dinner were top class and very filling.
It's also a very well placed hotel for skiing with the train station right outside or a short (uphill) walk with skis before. Ski down to the Almendhubel.
All hotel owners should have a week here to see how Adrain, Suzanna and the rest of the staff maintain such high standards. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzysue222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights in Hotel Eiger Mürren, from 13-16th of February 2014. We arrived from Lauterbrunnen BLM, after taking telecabine and train to Mürren BLM. Once the train arrives in Mürren BLM, Hotel Eiger is located just opposite the railway station ! We booked and asked for a new renovated Superior Double room on last floor and we got the room number 449. Room was ok, but quite small to our experience. The large balcony (it is an open balcony, meaning no privacy between neighbours and you !), gives a very good view on the mountains (Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau).
We used once the swimming pool and sauna, actually, the water of the pool was a little bit fresh, it could be warmer...
We ate every evening in Tächi Bar, which is part of the Hotel Eiger. We had really excellent food, great service from Bernadette and could enjoy quiet and nice music during our dinner, including our St-Valentine evening which was just perfect. Tächi Bar is a quite famous location in Mürren as during the shooting of the movie James Bond 007 "On Her Majesty's Secret Service", the place was known to be used by actress Diana RIGG and by the stunt men, for example. So, do not hesitate to book a table to eat there on every evening, you will for sure enjoy.
What makes also this Hotel incredible, is the way the owning family is welcoming you, helping you, smiling, assisting, well they really care about their clients and you will definitively feel it. It's not a resort chain Hotel, but a privat family owners who have a very good reputation of quality and excellence, many details showed it to us like for example : great Samsung TV quality, night service in the room, expensive bathroom products, fresh flowers on tables, portier services for your luggages fast and efficient, food quantity and quality, great food at breakfast also, well a lot of positive points.

So, to resume our stay, I will say that :

Positive points :
--------------------
1) Very close to railway station.
2) Music at breakfast and in Tächi Bar during evening.
3) Large flat TV screen Samsung with many channels available.
4) Food quantity and quality.
5) Friendliness and assistance of the staff.
6) Night bed service in the room.
7) Cup of champain offered in Tächi Bar upon arrival (or any other drink).

Points to be improved :
-----------------------------
1) Our room (number 449) was quite small, maybe we will take a bigger Suite next time.
2) Swimming pool temperature was pretty fresh, it could be warmed up...
3) On 4th floor balcony, there is no privacy, your neighbours can walk in front of your room window as they want and watch inside if you did not close curtains...
4) Water of our shower could turn to be from very hot to very cold suddely, while taking our shower...
5) Beds were somehow not very large and pillow too soft for me.

Well that's it. I will soon add some photos of our stay, so that you can see what I'm talking about. Do not hesitate to stay in this Hotel, you will not regret it ;-).

We will come back in summer time !

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor (4th floor) and book Suite Eiger in the corner, if you can afford it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank otterboris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Another wonderful stay at The Eiger. Shouldn't really be advertising it !! Great hosts,great staff. Amazing views. Charming village.
Hotel handily located across from BLM station. The hotel convey your luggage for you

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheJsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

A friend had been recommending the Eiger Hotel for some time and had described the hotel in such glowing terms that I thought I must visit. He had described the unusual final part of the journey ie via cablecar and funicular railway, the hotel being immediately beside the station, the electric car collecting your luggage, all of which did indeed make our arrival both interesting and enjoyable.At reception we were met by Adrian, the owner (I believe fourth generation) who could not have been more friendly, relaxed and efficient.Our room had apparently been recently refurbished, and was immaculate.There was always a plentiful supply of expensive toiletries, which greatly impressed my partner, and which were replenished as required by the cleaner, who tidied and cleaned the room twice daily.The breakfast buffet had an extensive choice of both hot and cold food, the five course evening meal was varied and of a very high standard and of course both meals were taken in the restaurant with the most magnificent views of the Eiger, Monsch and Jungfrau.The swimming pool was large, beautifully designed and also had those beautiful views of the mountains.All staff, from the porters, bar staff, receptionists, waiters and waitresses managers and owners were outstanding, at all times being friendly, helpful --and happy. The village of Murren is itself picturesque and almost traffic free, and during our weeks skiing had three powder days. You could not ask for more.We very much look forward to returning to the village and the hotel, both of which are very special places.

Room Tip: Although 'superior' rooms are apparently larger than the standard rooms and have balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IMCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Another great long weekend stay in winter at this hotel ...

Staff seem to be working harder every time we visit and always there is something that has been refurbished, improved or adjusted to keep things of the same high standard.

The owners and their team always try to everyone feel very much at home ... and the standards in general are very high indeed.

Add to this the location (even after 10 years it still inspire awe and wonder) and you can't really beat the experience.

Looking forward already to our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have the best views over the valley and across to the mountains beyo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murren
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#5 of 11 in Murren
256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
671 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#3 of 11 in Murren
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
644 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
780 reviews
7.6 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eiger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eiger

Address: Aegerten 1079c, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Murren
#1 Family Hotel in Murren
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Murren
Price Range: £207 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eiger 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eiger in car free Murren - the perfect hideaway for some days in the mountains situated on a sunny plateau underneath the Schilthorn (James Bond location). Only 1 1/2 hours from Bern-Belp and 2 1/2 hours from Zuerich and in the middle of the Swiss Alps. We offer charming rooms, an indoor pool with sauna and massage, panoramic restaurant with tasty options, free WLAN and conference room for you next summit meeting. The Hotel Eiger is owned and personally managed by the young Staehli family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Eiger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eiger Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing