We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great swiss tradition lives on!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Eiger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Eiger
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great swiss tradition lives on!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Absolutely faultless friendly service, great food and unique view! The sunset turns the white summits into an explosion of pinks and there is no better view than the hotel deck.
Murren is without a doubt the best place to experience all that the Bernese Oberland has to offer.
Totally car free village so a fab place to let the kids roam free!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    67
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
177
287
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We spent three nights at the Hotel Eiger and felt very well taken care of. We booked a mountain view room and were very happy with it but when a junior suite became available we decided to upgrade for the newly renovated room and extra space, well worth it. The breakfast covered the essentials. The dinner was great! Don't waste your time trying to find a better meal in town, this is it.
My 5 star rating comes from the amazing views, the attentive staff and the overall feeling we got while staying at Hotel Eiger. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathryn e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed with my friends from Switzerland and it was awesome!
I can walk to the main street on the alps mountain in Murren.
A great room with one big bed and a bunk bed on the right for kids.
We would love to eat The Hotel Eiger pizza It was fabulous.
They also had a YMCA, mini slope, a market, train station and restaurants.
This is a wonderful and fabulous and amazing and awesome memorable stay.
I highly recommend this area and hotel.
I hope you will come to a couple or family stay at Hotel Eiger located in Murren Eiger.
This may be a little expensive but that is what to expect in Switzerland

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taf f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Good location, clean room, fabulous mountain view, helpful & kind staffs, great restaurant & breakfast. No doubt it was the best hotel among ones that I stayed during my 10-day Switzerland trip in July 2014.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bK212121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Hotel Eiger is amazing in every way. The rooms, with Alpine decor, are modern and spotless, with extremely comfortable bedding. Balconies face the mountains -- spectacular views! The staff is friendly and extremely helpful. Even though the weather was cold and rainy, we loved Murren and The Eiger!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaTraveler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Gardner, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our stay at the Eiger was fantastic! Right from the moment we stepped off the train and were met by the steward from the hotel, who took care of our bags while we walked across the road to the hotel, where we were met warmly by Suzanna. Our room had a great view of the mountains, the food was great, and all the staff were so friendly and helpful. The hotel is family owned and run and has the personal feel of a small hotel but all the amenities and conveniences of a larger one. We particularly enjoyed the cocktail party out on the terrace where the owners plied us with free glasses of champagne and we got to meet many of the other guests. The staff were all extremely friendly and answered warmly all our requests and gave infinite help in directions, suggestions, hikes, etc. We have vowed to return and stay longer next time! We will be back soon!

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the hotel look down at the train station which can be busy, but the proxim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was our second stay at Hotel Eiger in Murren. We were just as happy the 2nd time around with the accommodations, dining and service.We opted for a Junior Suite this time as we stayed for 8 nights. The room offered the most excellent view with much more space and comfort than the standard rooms. We never grew tired of the breakfast as everything was so fresh and delicious. We visited many restaurants for dinner, but Hotel Eiger was our favorite. While the food was excellent, the service is what wins you over. (A special thanks to Hans who took care of us at dinner and most of our breakfasts.) Congrats to the whole Eiger family on making our visit comfortable, memorable and overall fantastic! We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sldriscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murren
0.0 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#3 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
#6 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#4 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#5 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eiger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eiger

Property: Hotel Eiger
Address: Aegerten 1079c, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Murren
#1 Romantic Hotel in Murren
#1 Family Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eiger 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eiger in car free Murren - the perfect hideaway for some days in the mountains situated on a sunny plateau underneath the Schilthorn (James Bond location). Only 1 1/2 hours from Bern-Belp and 2 1/2 hours from Zuerich and in the middle of the Swiss Alps. We offer charming rooms, an indoor pool with sauna and massage, panoramic restaurant with tasty options, free WLAN and conference room for you next summit meeting. The Hotel Eiger is owned and personally managed by the young Staehli family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Eiger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eiger Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing