We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Swiss Service”
Review of Hotel Eiger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Eiger
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2006

We were made to feel most welcome at this lovely hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, arranging ski pass, booking transfers etc etc. Service and food were both excellent and even though there was a mix of people, old and young in the hotel, the 5 children in the party were always made to feel at home. Rooms were traditional in style but had everything you wanted....wireless internet, Cable TV and were warm and welcoming. Not sure why this only has a 2 star rating, the hotel is without a doubt a four star. We will certainly return to the Hotel Eiger.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pablot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

541 - 547 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2006

A room with a view. Staff who are wonderfully helpful and a credit to their hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cityplayer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2005

We stayed in a family suite in July, 2005 with our two children. The staff at the Hotel are very professional. The view of Eiger, Munch and Jungfrau is spectacular. The food in the hotel was fine. We will stay at the Eiger again when we return to the Bernese Oberland!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank suburbantravelingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Germany
111
Reviewed 16 March 2005

We stay at the Hotel Eiger every time we go to the Jungfrau region of Switzerland. We do stay during off-peak periods because it's less crowded, less likely to feature children, and is much more affordable.

The staff never fails to make us feel welcome. The rooms are comfortable, and the superior rooms feature awesome views of the Eiger, Monch, and Jungfrau peaks. The air is always fresh, as this hotel is located in a car-free town. There is plenty of hiking in the summers and awesome skiing in the winters in this region. This is a very relaxing place to stay on vacation.

That said, I do wish they would renovate their lounge and convert it to a smoke-free zone. I have to hold my breath everytime I pass through because I am hyper-sensitive to cigarette smells.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2004

We stayed at the Hotel Eiger for eight nights at the beginning of July and received a warm welcome the minute we entered the building. The room was clean and tidy and the view across to the Eiger was breathtaking.
The 5 course dinner in the restaurant was good and the waitresses very friendly.
Murren is a beautiful village that hasn't been spoiled by becoming over commercialized like Grindelwald. The hotel swimming pool is rather small but there is an excellent pool at the sports centre just 5 minutes walk.
The mountain walks from the village are well marked and suitable for all abilities.
Overall, a great hotel, friendly staff and a stunning location.

7  Thank ......
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2004

Murren is awesome! The Eiger is a nice, very traditional older style hotel. Rooms were small, but very clean and updated. Direct Eiger mountain view from balcony has got to be unmatched! Bed was great. Bath was updated and nice. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Would stay there again, or try the Anfi which looked nice, but balconies there were not direct view of magestic mountains - their balconies were angled.

3  Thank BradandSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
338
Reviewed 26 July 2004

We stayed at the hotel Eiger in Summer 2004 for 7 nights. In our view an adequate hotel but old-fashioned and food not great. Highlights:
- Great views from South facing rooms. Good rooms
- Friendly staff
- Faded decor in lounge areas
- Very small pool (village pool is a more attractive alternative). Considerable late night noise from nearby bar (at nearb Eiger guest house) & drunks going home
- Food somewhat patchy in quality & serving style old fashioned (brought on platters then placed on plates). Poor choice in salad bar
- Lots of British package tourists
- If you like large organized tour parties in your hotel you'll love the Eiger (we didn't).

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murren
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#5 of 11 in Murren
256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
671 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#3 of 11 in Murren
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
644 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
778 reviews
7.6 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eiger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eiger

Address: Aegerten 1079c, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Murren
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Murren
#1 Romantic Hotel in Murren
Price Range: £205 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eiger 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eiger in car free Murren - the perfect hideaway for some days in the mountains situated on a sunny plateau underneath the Schilthorn (James Bond location). Only 1 1/2 hours from Bern-Belp and 2 1/2 hours from Zuerich and in the middle of the Swiss Alps. We offer charming rooms, an indoor pool with sauna and massage, panoramic restaurant with tasty options, free WLAN and conference room for you next summit meeting. The Hotel Eiger is owned and personally managed by the young Staehli family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Eiger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eiger Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing